We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Maltese home with a Swedish heart”
Review of Bla Dorren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sliema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bla Dorren
Ranked #9 of 14 Sliema B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you're looking for a quiet hideaway, a good base for exploring the island or want to stay somewhere with a real Maltese flavour, then Bla Dorren is ideal. It might not have all the glitz of a five-star hotel, there aren't bars, pools, a spa or room service, but for me this guesthouse outclasses many expensive hotels that could be anywhere in the world. Bla Dorren is run by Swedish couple Margaretha and Stefan, who rent out three guestrooms in their spacious Maltese townhouse. They are friendly but unobtrusive, offering help and information if it is needed, and pretty much let guests have the run of the house. The guest house itself is located in a residential street just off the Sliema Promenade, a stone's throw from buses to Valletta and locations across the island, and walking distance from many decent restaurants and bars.
The white-washed high-ceiling rooms are styled with a combination of Swedish furniture, antique lamps modern wall hangings. Our room had a small balcony and contemporary en suite bathroom with a great power shower. We usually had breakfast in the airy dining room but could also sit outside on the pretty terrace. There was also a sitting room and a roof terrace with sun loungers and a seating area.
I loved the way Margaretha and Stefan had thought about what guests might want during their holiday, from the box of bats, balls, beach mats and even umbrellas in the hallway, along with info on boat trips, city sightseeing and maps, to the fridge of beer on soft drinks by the terrace. You just put the small charge for the drinks in the tin and could enjoy a drink and a chat as the sun went down.
I would definitely recommend Bla Dorren and would think about it again for a short break or a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loopy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

A perfect guesthouse for us that want to be close to resturants and beaches, but off from traffic and noice from the city. A tasteful breakfast as a start of the day after a good night sleep. We are already looking forward to going back and meetIng our caring hosts.
Catharina & Hans

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Blå Dörren has an excellent location on the right side of the bay, so you can sit on the beach or on the sun terrace and enjoy the sunset. A marvelous staircase takes you up to your fine bright room on first floor. The rooms have old original tiling and a modern bathroom. On the second floor you have the sun terrace. We ended many evenings there enjoying the black night, a drink or a good book. If you have to dry something, there is a sheltered area up there - super. And the beds - yes no blankets but light Scandinavian duvets - we love it. At the ground floor you have a small patio in connection with the kitchen, dining room and the living room. We enjoyed the well-equipped breakfast in the patio, often with good interesting smalltalk together with the helpful hosts. They made us feel like In the living room you can play your own music from your smart phone over a high-tech system or loan access to the internet if you don’t have your own equipment. You feel good in the house - almost like home. You have both more exclusive restaurants and more simple ones nearby. A pizza restaurant with wooden fires pizza own with the best pizzas on the island and don’t forget The Exiles - we call it the Divers bar and their homemade burgers. We stayed there 11 nights and are looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mogens-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The only inconvenience with Bla Dorren was the difficulty in parking close to the B & B. Everything else was really outstanding. The welcome from Margaretha and her husband was of the warmest. We were even invited to share an evening meal with them in their gorgeous courtyard on our arrival. Much appreciated. The traditional Sliema house has been beautifully renovated with many original features preserved but complemented with a touch of Swedish sophistication. An excellent base when visiting Malta and a pleasure to spend time in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

A familliar place to spend your vacation. Near busstop, beach, grocery store, diving centre and restaurants. Big bedrooms and bathrooms. Charming house, roof terrace and back yard to relax.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeloisLomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This little gem of Malta has everything you want!

The location is perfect; near to the beach, near to many, many restaurants, near to a lot of shops and the surroundings are in general lovely.

In the guest house you have a nice, comfortable and warm atmosphere, you get a good breakfast incl. freshly baked bread, coffee in the courtyard, a glass of wine in the nice evening breeze at the roof terrace, good sized and recently renovated rooms and on top of all this you have a wonderful Swedish couple who gives excellent service and will help you with whatever you want to do!

We were actually there two times last year and will certainly come back again! We just love the place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrUppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa Ł
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,009 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#12 of 28 in Sliema
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bla Dorren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bla Dorren

Address: Karm Psaila, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1952, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sliema
Price Range: $59 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse 50 m from the promenade and the beach. Large rooms with double beds and en-suites, 50 sqm roof terrace, breakfast and WiFi included. Within walking distance to Valletta. Plenty of restaurants, shops, and close to bus stops. Quiet side street. Charming house! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bla Dorren Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing