We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!”
Review of Corner Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Corner Hostel
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hostel!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hostel is so clean and has great privacy. The free Internet is amazing and the kitchen is perfect. The location is ideal. We walked everywhere from this hostel even to St. Julian's and St George's Road late at night (like 20 mins on foot) I would definitely stay here again, the people are so friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PalermoStreetFoodMGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    100
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
51
153
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had many questions while I was looking for lodging in Malta, and James of the Corner Hostel answered all of my many queries with such patience and professionalism. It is obvious that the Corner Hostel is a place that is eager to please its guests and ensure a comfortable stay. Thank you for your kindness and professionalism, James!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incalculable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Employees were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area, the Hostel quite close to many restaurants, pubs, and clubs. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms and bathroom were quite clean. Only negative was the water pressure in the shower seemed to decrease a little each time we used it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My colleague and I stayed at Corner Hostel for one night at the tail end of a work trip in November. It is excellent value for money and in a great location - a quiet area but easy walking distance away from Sliema waterfront with its bars, restaurants and the ferries across to Valletta. We had a private room and didn't realise the beds would be bunks but we had one each as in November the hostel was relatively empty. I've stayed in similarly good value hostels where the furnishings have been newer, and the wifi connection only worked in the communal areas downstairs, but all in all this is a great little hostel run by a really friendly group of young staff who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had great stay at this place. Awesome, friendly staff, clean and big rooms (we were in a 4 bed dorm), lovely common areas. The building is beautiful and in a great spot. We really highly recommend this Place!! If it had more double rooms it would be perfect!!! Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhja84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here for five nights. The place is new, very well maintained, and incredibly clean (compared to many other hostels). The staff is friendly and helpful, speaking multiple languages. It's a good choice for both backpackers, English students, and "standard" tourists. There's a grocery in front of the hostel and a supermarket within a walking distance. The next bus stop is some 200 meters away, with direct connections to both Valetta and the ferry to Gozo (and the airport, of course). If you prefer more privacy, choose one of the double rooms.
I'm usually very sensitive as to the cleanness of the kitchen and the dishes, but my worries were pointless here - if only my own kitchen was also so clean and tidy as the kitchen in the hostel :-) Simply, the best hostel I've ever been to! I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PraguePavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Really loves this hostel, Thanks James and Katharina for everything... this place is great (has everything in a great price... not only for backpackers....!!!! very clean and friendly place ... 100% recommended) :)

Regards, Cristina & Juank

Room Tip: every rooms is great!!! i have stayed in shared and private rooms and both are exc!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Jones
Hostel Jones
#2 of 20 in Sliema
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corner Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner Hostel

Property: Corner Hostel
Address: 6, St. Margaret Street,, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1979, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corner Hostel offers private and shared rooms in a tranquil environment with true Maltese character. Corner Hostel is a completely refurbished and renovated original townhouse with modern and practical facilities to make your stay as easy as can be! For us at Corner Hostel, it is of utmost importance that you feel welcome, at home and relaxed to make the best of your stay in Malta. And what’s more? – all the necessities; all the facilities under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Corner Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hostel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing