We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blondino

Blondino
Ranked #103 of 185 Restaurants in Sliema
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: I use Mediterranean as cuisine because you do not have maltese as a chice - this is maltese - excellent maltese antipasto with maltese sausage and cheese (almost a meal in its own right) and excellent rabbit at one £ price - great establishment.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were flying home yesterday evening after a lovely week in Malta, and we chanced upon this Maltese Restaurant at lunchtime for our final meal there. It was quiet, but a friendly Maltese couple on an adjacent table recommended that we try the Beef Olive (Bragioli). We did, and it was not only delicious, it was also great value. This was a lovely way to end our visit to this charming country, especially because the owner was so friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
“Definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We visited Malta in November 2013 for our honeymoon. We found Blondino's while walking around our hotel and decided to give it a try. At first we weren't sure because the place was so small. But the waiter was extremely nice and very efficient bringing us our food, etc. (we did not see this much at other places we went to). The food was delicious!! My husband wanted to try a dish his grandmother use to make and thought it was very good. The prices were also reasonable. We stayed there for awhile talking to the waiter. While we were there it got fairly busy and he kept calm and was very much on top of things and very polite to everyone. We enjoyed it there so much that we ate at Blondino's a total of 3 times during our trip. And there Vegetable soup is to die for! I wish I was able to get the recipe to make at home. :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraM0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Sometimes, you want to follow your gut and go for something less tourist-orientated, and for something more local, as it seems. And sometimes that works out, this time it didn't - the burgers were sad and a bit of odd and old-fashion-tasting. The service was super-nice, but it didn't compensate for the poor food quality, sadly.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
Thank PiotrKowalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Quite surprised to read some of the other comments concerning this restaurant. I decided to organise a party there for family and friends - some 30 odd people. All I can say is that the food was superb and well above expectations. The service was also excellent, friendly and at just the right pace. The dishes served to us were delicious and clearly put together using the freshest ingredients. The only negative (which for me isn't really an issue) is the decor which is on the old fashioned side, but as long as the food is amazing, who cares? There are enough modern, sterile restaurants if that is your thing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We recently visited Malta and on our last night we decided to dine at Blondino's. We dined there some five years ago and we were not impressed by the quality of the food. However we thought we'd give Blondino's another chance to prove us wrong and they didn't. The food was awful, I ordered Salmon penne and my wife ordered beef olives. When the meal was delivered I had a quick taste of the salmon and was taken aback by the awful taste of the fish, it seemed like the chef used dry salted Salmon. I asked the waiter, who seemed to be Arabic, why the Salmon tasted so salty to which he replied that the chef used a little too much salt. I know the taste of salted fish and fresh Salmon was definitely not used. I should have refused to pay for the meal because I hardly ate any of it.
My wife was not impressed with her meal either. The supposedly "Rump" steak was tough and did not melt in the mouth as it should if cooked properly and if the ingredients were of good quality.
We will never visit this awful restaurant ever again. Some people like the restaurant but be careful what you order.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laserman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blondino also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blondino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing