We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Lebanese Kebabs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kebabji grill

Kebabji grill
Ranked #16 of 185 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Lebanese Kebabs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

As a lover of all things Turkish and Lebanese, something that is important to me in a good kebab place is the quality of their yoghurt sauce and their meats. Here, all three were to my satisfaction. I usually order a great mixed shish kebab, with lamb, chicken and beef, with a mixture of their sweet and sour sauces and yoghurt, accompanied by some nice, cold Ayran, which I pleased to see, they sell by the carton, unlike many other kebab restaurants on the island. Everything was cooked as it should have been. The meat was slightly crispy on the outside and tender and juicy on the inside. Their potato salad was great. The place was a little bit of a squeeze perhaps, making the place better for a quick snack than for a meal, however, outdoor seating is available, making it more comfortable on those busy days. Very friendly service!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaMGrimaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    109
    23
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The kebabs were excellent. We had both as wrap. One with chicken and one with falafel.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rolbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Food here is really top notch. The chicken is spiced and cooked just right. The salads are fresh, interesting and authentic. The hot sauce is amazing.

The let down is the physical space-its very crowded even when there are just a few people. Because its so jammed you don't get to relax and you feel that you must be off soon. Not that the the staff encourage you to leave. On the contrary they are patient and good humoured. And they take time making sure the food is done as you want it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tas-Sliema, null, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent Price for Some Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Kebabji has some of the most flavorful kebab on the island. It's relatively easily to find, as you can take any of the Sliema buses to Tower Triq and get your kebab fix.

The interior itself is pretty crowded, and is even moreso when it's windy outside and people attempt to huddle inside to avoid the nasty weather. They recently upgraded their tables and chairs, and this was much needed. However, they cannot really accommodate a lunch or dinner rush. The plus side, however, are the hours that they keep. If you're hungry in Sliema late at night, they're open until about 1:30.

The chicken doner has left a couple of my friends sick and ruing their decision, but the falafel and chicken kebab have been pleasing. The sides are really an attraction, and the reduced cost of buying a "wrap" or "pita" is worthwhile. I would highly recommend getting their hot sauce, as it is the only kebab restaurant that actually has "hot" sauce.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classy Lebanese Kebabs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

If you like kebabs, I highly recommend this place located at 132 Tower Road. It is literally a hole in the wall with just three tables inside but they also do take away. There are probably tables outside in the warmer months but i'm not sure. The dishes come in 3 formats- in pita bread, in a wrap or on a plate- we tried the lamb kofta and it was excellent! We spiced it up with the home made harissa sauce. I've tried kebabs in many cities in Europe , Middle East and North Africa, and the quality at this owner managed grill is really a cut above the others

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrisMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kebabji grill also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Kebabji grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing