We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œTired Room”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Chester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tired Room”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

To be honest the actual hotel wasn't bad overall, plenty of amenities, nice pool area and close to the town centre. Didn't eat there as we were self catering. My problem was with the room and looking at the photos above I really think we were in the wrong hotel...The room was dark,dingy,tired and grubby in places! We overlooked another apartment block which meant we had very little natural daylight. We were with RCI which is timeshare and considering the maintenance fees we pay this was very much a let down especially as we own an apartment on a gold crown resort. Very Very disappointing. We spent 2 nights in St Julians and that really was 4 Stars!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    269
    333
    192
    193
See reviews for
169
482
95
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have just returned from one week's holiday at The Park and most of it was very enjoyable apart from on a couple of occasions when the "dress code" for the evening meal was not adhered to by mid to elderly men who decided they could wear shorts. It made matters worse because they had to pass a sign at the entrance to the dining room which stated "long trousers" to be worn at evening meal and whilst nearly everyone made the effort to dress for dinner, it was a shame the offenders were English given that the sign was written in English!! Varicose veins yuk!!!

We booked through "Malta Direct.com" and were given a card called a "Dine Around Card" which meant you could eat in other establishments as well as your own Hotel which gave you the opportunity to see other places you might not have had the chance to otherwise.

I would say all of the staff at The Park are very good and the Manager and his assistant Annabelle are really great however on our last day, the young lady on Reception, we found to be unnecessarily rude and abrupt which was totally unacceptable. She should adopt Joseph's attitude and nature which would thus improve her "people skills" ten-fold.

Would recommend Malta Direct.com for anyone booking a holiday in Malta.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is good and Grace who works on that floor is a "treasure".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Park Hotel is well located and offer great quality and service in the Valetta area of the island (Sliema). I would recommend half board. The pools and spa are brilliant and free of charge. Top range independent hotel in Malta.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Booked holiday with Chevron holidays for week in Malta. The Park Hotel was only 2 minutes from Sliema esplanade (linking Sliema with adjoining coastal towns). The rooms were clean, staff were helpful and pleasant, and meals were good. Can get drink/snacks from 24 hr bar. Had no complaints at all. Sliema is a good base with easy access to Valletta on local buses (2.60 E for a day ticket). Easy to book tours locally and Captain Morgans Cruises go from Sliema waterfront. Do visit Gozo as well.

Room Tip: Rooms at front face a quiet one-way street. Had a room at back facing a wall, but didn't mind as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corkheadIsleOfWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

After reading the reviews on trip advisor I thought we would be safe in booking this '4 star' hotel. As soon as we arrived at the hotel I was disappointed with the outside appearance. It looked run down with broken signage and the main entrance on a side street.
The reception area was ok and the staff were friendly. Our room was ready as soon as we arrived which was before midday.
On arrival in to the room the smell of stale cigarette smoke hit me immediately and being a non smoker, I found this unacceptable. Thankfully after advising the reception of this, they gave us another room which was fine.

The rooms themselves are actually not bad (still not 4 star but more 3 star) with a kitchenette and very spacious. The balcony was disappointing as the view was overlooking the street and into other people's apartments. The chairs on the balcony were full of white dust so we didn't bother even getting them out. We just used it to hang our washing out as it had a line attached.

The breakfast was poor; very basic and definitely not 3 or 4 star as the coffee was from a push button machine and was very weak along with the juice. The cooked breakfast was basic with runny scrambled eggs one morning and alternated with greasy fried eggs the next. Bacon was barely cooked. We were staying there for 14 nights and after the 3rd or 4th breakfast decided to eat out every day. So glad we were not on half board.

The towels for the pool/beach required a 10 euro deposit which again I think is not 4 star standard requirements. The towels had seen better days too. Small and thread bare.

Location was excellent as we could walk in to St Julian's easily and also to Sliema Ferries. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

For the money it was ok, but really should not be classed as a 4 star particularly by tour operators who usually give their own ratings over official ones. So I found it very misleading. The Fortina which we stayed in last year, is a 4 star and even that is a low 4 star but so much higher quality than the Park Hotel.

We used the hotel as a base only so it served its purpose.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you're looking for an inexpensive, centrally located, clean and tidy hotel to use as a base then the Park Hotel is an ideal candidate. The staff are friendly and the buffet breakfast good. Our room was at the rear of the hotel, so no view to write home about, but it was cleaned daily and any room issues were dealt with promptly. Generally the decor is a little tired, but reception, the bar and restaurant areas are well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 79Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We love staying at the Park, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The meals are Buffet Style so there is always an enjoyable meal to be had.
There is always decorating and repairs to be done which is acceptable ina very busy Hotel and any concerns are always addressed.
The Hotel is small, it is intimate and in October we shall be back for the 8th year.
It is like going to visit family and we are welcomed as such.
L and P (Cornwall, UK)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizbeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#13 of 28 in Sliema
967 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#12 of 28 in Sliema
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Graham Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1712, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Tour-oriented Hotel located in town center, just off main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing