We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Christmas Lunch every year :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Christmas Lunch every year :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Every Christmas we go to the Victoria Hotel for their Christmas Lunch buffet. We just love their food, the organisation and service. The Head Chef is very nice and every year he prepares some additional amazing gluten free dishes such as gluten free pasta and dessert for my fiancee and her mother who are coeliacs. This year, again the buffet was great with so many choices, especially the amazing soups and the carvery, together with so many tempting desserts.....Thanks and see you next year :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMicallef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear ChrisMicallef,

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria Hotel's restaurant, Copperfield's was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    684
    201
    72
    16
See reviews for
230
1,078
124
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

A plaque in The Victoria Hotel's lobby vows to treat guests like royalty: a promise that we felt was met in full. Nothing was too much trouble for Front of House Manager Charles Portelli and his team who consistently went the extra mile to provide for our needs: booking taxis and restaurants; providing advice, maps and timetables for buses and ferries; booking transfers* to Mdina and the Sunday market at Marsaxlokk with Prestige cabs at very reasonable prices; booking the Malta Sightseeing Open Top Bus tours* and harbour cruises at discount prices and arranging for us to be collected from the hotel by the bus company. (* These costs can be charged to the room. However, the hotel requires charges to the room to be settled every time they exceed 250 euros)

Just off the lobby area is a newly opened shop full of tasteful souvenirs, glassware, filigree silver jewellery and maltese delicacies - all at very reasonable prices.

We stayed in a suite on the seventh floor with a separate living room area and large balcony with sea views, just down the corridor from the excellent, well-equipped and newly refurbished fitness suite and indoor pool area with its two small saunas, steam room and small sunbathing terrace. Our suite contained everything we needed, including fridge, reasonably powerful hair dryer, and good quality coconut shower gel, vegetable soap and shampoo in addition to the liquid soap available from the rather unattractive wall-mounted plastic dispensers.

There were a few negative points that did not detract from our enjoyment. Bath robes were available at a charge of 2.50 euros a day. The bed, comprising two singles pushed together, would have benefitted from a mattress topper to soften the hard edges of the mattresses. Although there was plenty of storage and hanging space, the plastic hangers were a little dilapidated with rough edges that could catch fine clothing; and the drawers in the chest were heavy, dropping down when opened making them slightly difficult to operate. We experienced a fairly loud humming noise in the room during the day which we believe came from the swimming pool pump but we declined the offer of a move to another room as this noise stopped at night time and we enjoyed peaceful nights of sleep hearing no noise from surrounding rooms and being high above street traffic.

Breakfast, taken in Copperfields restaurant, offered delicious Maltese Imqaret (pastries filled with spicy dates) and pastizzi (pasties filled with cheese or peas) alongside full English buffet, cold cuts, cereal and fresh fruit. It would have been helpful to have lactose free milk available, but I was able to buy my own supply from the nearby supermarket.

The hotel's Penny Black bar provided a pleasant environment for an evening drink with Alfred and the team providing a warm welcome. We enjoyed a 3 course meal for pasta night for 9.95 each, which was excellent value. However, in the evenings we mostly ate out at the excellent restaurants within relatively easy walking distance of the hotel (Il-Merril, La Caggugna, Ta Kris) or in the TemptAsian restaurant on the roof of The Palace Hotel which adjoins The Victoria. The huge advantage of eating at TemptAsian - apart from the delicious range of food, attentive service, and it being just two lift stops away from our suite - was being able to charge the meal to the room.

The location - the hotel is on a hilltop with roads leading down to the two sea fronts in Sliema: The Strand, where the Sliema/Valletta ferry; harbour cruises and Open Top Bus Tours are based and the promenade on the opposite side of Sliema, which faces the open sea and provides a good starting point for a walk or run into St Julian's. There are numerous shopping centres within walking distance, the largest being The Point Mall which includes a Debenhams and New Look. I spied a Next and an Oasis in nearby streets and there is a wonderfully stylish, sea front Marks and Spencers on The Strand.

We visited in December - it's worth noting that ferries and open top bus tours run to a separate winter timetable which is less frequent. Make sure you plan to the correct timetable. I had a long and chilly wait for the last ferry from Valletta having missed the 5.00 pm departure, the next one was not until 5.45. In summer they operate every 15 minutes.

Certainly a hotel that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher rooms (7th floor) have sea views; suites have larger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirecat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Yorkshirecat56,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. I will gladly extend your praise personally to Charles. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest’s full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had stayed this hotel this time last year and were happy enough not to hesitate to make a reservation once again. This very friendly and helpful hotel employs genuine personnel who love what they do, making your stay an enjoyable one. The location is quite central to the Sliema Ferries for transport and shopping, accessible to Tower Road and the lovely Mediterranean Sea front. The hotel has old world charm but with the modern bits chucked in. Since last year you can definitely see that investment is being made to keep the hotel competitive in this holiday area. The breakfast is atypical English fare, the servery needs updating as the morning cuppa definitely needs a much needed make over (decent morning coffee and tea). The Penny Black Bar - has some dedicated bar tenders who know their business behind a bar. The bar offers meals and a wide range of drinks, theme nights (pasta, fish and chips to name a few) are very popular and very good value. The atmosphere in this bar makes it hard to not stay and enjoy a drink and a natter. Front reception are very professional and caring about their business, I would be very surprised that any one could have anything negative to say about them. Technology - WiFi is available in room at no charge, but you need to constantly enter passwords to stay connected. TV sets are still CRT and the movie selection is dated. Summary: genuine personnel who love what they do. We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a sea view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Carbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Frank_Carbon,

I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just back from a great week in the Victoria. Hotel is very well run with friendly and helpful staff. Charles in reception is a most courteous and polite person. Rooms are clean and comfortable.. Bar is good with great offers on food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dgm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Dgm20,

First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. I will gladly extend your praise personally to Charles at front desk/reception. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest’s full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel about ten years previously and in view of the excellent service and ambience we had no hesitation in visiting again on our return trip to Malta. We were not disappointed as everything was still great. The staff are really pleasant and obliging. The food was very good and the facilities excellent. Being in a position just off the seafront it is also a quiet retreat. We would not hesitate to return and definitely recommend. Excellent value for money. The one tiny quibble and someone else made the same comment would be the rather dim lighting in the bedrooms if you are trying to read. Could maybe do with adjustable switches. Not really a big deal though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewislot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear lewislot,
First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence.
I would also like to express our sense of appreciation for sharing your experience with other viewers on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and important for us. Rest assured that as much as your praise, particularly towards the staff, has been extended to all concerned, your constructive comments will surely not be ignored. This has always been our objective, to listen, discuss and action because your opinion counts, and for this, we thank you.
Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria.
Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have recently returned from our stay at this hotel for a long weekend, this hotel is amazing the staff are wonderful, extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The bedroom was clean and had everything you could possibly need - hot water, TV, WIFI, warm heating and the bed was so huge but so comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful with so much choice. The hotel location was good within walking distance to Sliema seafront. This is a hotel we certainly will be rebooking next year,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frosty19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Frosty19,
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 4 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel on more than 50 occasions since it first opened, I am aware that as we're both aging, it may not be in the same direction! To my delight, still a home-from-home for me.

As ever, the staff were amazing - attentive to detail yet discrete - just as I like it when I'm trying to escape the hassles of a busy London teaching practice.

Food gets better; bar staff always good fun. Little touches are back again after a short absence - nice to have decent amenity packs back in the rooms. I always sleep well at The Victoria - decent beds and linen and lovely and quiet which is why I come back time after time.

New lifts are a huge improvement with no waiting at busy times and the pool area is excellent. Spa facilities are good value if you really want to indulge. The rooms are being refurbished in 2014 on a rolling basis and I look forward to seeing the end result.

I drive in Malta (not for the faint hearted!) and it's great to have a car-park directly below the hotel.

The dining room is wonderfully airy and Chef does a very good job with maintaining good menus. The desserts have improved dramatically over the last year or so and the idea of lighter quick dining in the bar is a brilliant one. Occasional queue for the dining room, but that was down to a new trainee on the door not quite understanding flow control and customer service - I'm sure it was a learning experience for him and he won't make the same mistakes twice! All part of the Maltese charm though

Superb flights (Club) as ever on Air Malta.

A very special "thank-you" to Charles Portelli, the front-of-house manager, for making our trip as successful as ever.

DocJW

Room Tip: Upper floors Superior rooms have a limited but pleasant sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DocJW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear DocJW_12,
First and foremost, on behalf of The Management and Staff, I would like to thank you for having honoured us with your presence and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at The Victoria was a pleasant and positive one and that the hotel managed to meet your expectations. I will gladly extend your praise personally to Charles Portelli - Front of House. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Victoria Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing