We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for 12 days just after Easter. Although a bit early in the summer season the weather was warm and sunny so the hotel opened the rooftop pool. The water was a bit chilly at first but refreshing and swimming in an infinity pool on the rooftop was an experience not to be missed! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, food good and plentiful, room comfortable and we were well looked after. The tea making facilities were very much appreciated. The hotel will be even better when they have completed modernising the lifts. We noticed that this is a hotel that Maltese people use, so that is always a good sign...

Although being on the top of the hill might be a drawback from some less mobile, the location is very good for the bus network and the ferry to Valetta (and boat trips).

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor have a rooftop view of the sea or Sliema harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibble143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Mr Ibble 143,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.


Regards

James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    734
    210
    74
    16
See reviews for
256
1,165
128
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It is a it of a tiered 4 star hotel. Some of the amenities you would expect are not there but overall this is very good value for money. You are sharing a roof terrace with swimming pool with a 5 star hotel and this gives it the competitive edge. The rooms are big but a bit old, the aircon is loud so we got it switched off, the breakfast is ok. Location is vey good and parking is only 2 Euro.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Klaus 99

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service and the facilities we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely

James Galea
Operations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days at this hotel in 2012 and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and we really liked everything about it. The only thing against it was the fact that it was situated at the top of a hill and it made walking up and down to the hotel a little bit harder for us being in our seventies, otherwise top marks!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs WendyMario,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff have been of good service and you enjoyed our food. The Victoria Hotel is situated in the centre of Sliema minutes awy from the front. There are several roads that lead you to the front. Yes a couple of them are a bit steep but the others are a bit longer with an enjoyable downhill walk.

I am also taking the opportunity to thank you for your custome and i hope that we will have the opportunityto welcome you back at The Victoria very soon,

Kind regards

James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 week stay at The Victoria Hotel. It was our second visit. All the staff are so very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The front of house manager, Charles and his colleagues and also Kurt and all the restaurant staff and the kitchen staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were always very willing to help with my dietary requirement. . The hotel is very conveniently situated being only a short walk from the water front and by walking down different streets one can arrive at a different part of the waterfront, also it is only a short walk from the ferry to Valetta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion123416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Marion 123416,

On behalf of all the staff and management of The Victoria Hotel i would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor and am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks also for recommending Charles and Kurt for the fantastic job they do.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Victoria.

Kind Regards
James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

we stayed here for a week and loved every minute. The staff were not only friendly and extremely helpful but behaved as though they really cared that we enjoyed our stay.Their courtesy and good humour was a pleasant change from some London hotels we've stayed in recently. I would say it probably wouldn't appeal to party animals but for quiet comfort it gets 10 out of 10 every time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Mr William S

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your recommendations and for sharing your positive experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am particularly gratefull for your comments regarding our staff.

In the meantime, thank you for your time and do hope to welcome you back with us at The Victoria,

Best Regards
James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good points:
- Good location in sliema, short walk to the sea front, where there are ferries and many restaurants. Fairly quiet location. There is a good supermarket around the corner.
- Small indoor pool and slightly larger pool on roof. In April it was very cold in the outdoor pool and windy on the roof, but would be great in warmer weather.
- Spectacular views from the roof area.
- There is a good selection at breakfast. Minor complaint was the coffee is from a machine and some days it wasn't good.
- In general the staff are cheerful and do a good job, especially at the reception desk.
- There is free wifi in the lobby.
- Firm beds, good shower, comfortable room. I think all rooms have a balcony but there was not much of a view even from a 5th floor room.

Bad points:
- the air con was not working in April and I found it too hot to sleep. I assume it comes on later in the season.
- there was only 1 working lift - the other was being fixed.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dominicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Dominic P,

Thank you for sharing your positve experience with us following your recent stay at our hotel. We are really glad you enjoyed our facilities, services and food.

On the other hand, I do understand that it could have been a bit warm in the room. As you rightly said, the temperatures outside in April was still chilly and windy so the AC was still operating in the heating mode and wasnt yet switched to the chill mode. With regards to the lifts as you rightly said, we were operating on one lift only which was installed 8 months ago and we are currently working on the second lift. I can now say that the new second lift will be operational as of next week.

While i would like to once again thank you for your contribution, we do hope to have the possibility of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards

James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for a month, on business and will probably return due to its fantastic corporate rates. Part of the AX Group, the 4 star Victoria Hotel is back to back with the 5 star Palace, allowing shared use of both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, Marion Mizzi spa and the excellent Temptasian restaurant. Access the Palace via the walkway on the first floor.
Having stayed in both hotels, I am able to make a direct comparison between the two.
The Palace has the brand new rooms, the swanky restaurant and wifi everywhere, but something is missing. It's the effort, the commitment, the comedy and the will to go that extra mile on customer service, that its more modestly priced cousin has in abundance. At the front desk is Charles, always welcoming and friendly, going out of his way to solve a range of environmental issues and to enrich every travelers experience of Malta. In the Penny Black Bar, is the ever thoughtful, entertaining and cheeky Martin together with Albert who sings, often hilariously in the evenings to a CD of Queen.
The rooms are of the older style and a bit dark, but I especially like the Luzzu boat picture on my wall and the fact that my bathroom is always gleaming. No it's not marble and brass, with 5 star products like the Palace, but its always spotless. The Laundry service is excellent and Housekeeping friendly and proactive, asking if I prefer more tea to coffee, always replacing my bottled water and writing notes to let me know the best time to drop my laundry. Offers of interesting trips at reasonable price and welcome drinks are popped under your door in the evenings.
Breakfast is always hot and plentiful and as someone who's often fallen foul of bad fried or scrambled eggs abroad, I can testify to their quality.
Location is good for the Sliema shops and sea front. but the return walk is up hill and will give you a good work out.
Visit the SPCA shop half way down the road, if you are an avid reader, they have an excellent selection of cheap secondhand books, which you can recycle when you go home.
Some tips :-
If you are exceptionally susceptible to road noise, ask for an high floor and a room on the side.
If you are carrying an ultrabook with no ethernet port, make sure you bring a USB to ethernet adaptor with you, otherwise you will be working in the lobby or the first floor. April to October is the mosquito season, so don't leave your balcony doors wide open and bring bracelet or spray repellent.
In summary, see you all at the Victoria next month, to experience the best of Maltese hospitality at excellent rates.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are side rooms. Corner rooms are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hotelaholic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Opearations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Hotelaholic,

On behalf of all the management and the staff of The Victoria Hotel I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am really glad that we made your one month stay with us while on business much enjoyable. Thank you also for recommending Charles, Alfred and Martin who do a fantastic job in their respective positions.

Whilst thanking you once again for your time, we do look forward to have you back with us. Please do not hesitate to contact myself or Charles Portelli prior to placing your next reservation.

Best regards
James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,893 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing