We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, affordable, friendly”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, affordable, friendly”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed for 1 night in March on a business trip. The booking was made through Egencia and when we arrived at the hotel the desk manager advised breakfast was not included on the booking. Our booking confirmation stated it was so rather than keep us waiting in reception while it was looked into, he told us to go to our rooms and he would look into it for us. 10 minutes later we went back to reception and he confirmed that everything was sorted and breakfast would be arranged. He also booked us into the TemptAsian restaurant which was faultless. Everything about this hotel was high class from the service to the facilities including a gym and swimming pools. I would definitely consider staying again for a leisure holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Adam G,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta and for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

We look forward to welcome and host you back with us.

Regards
James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    715
    206
    73
    16
See reviews for
238
1,133
126
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Victoria Hotel in Sliema certainly deserves its 4 stars. It is a lovely hotel with great facilities, the staff are most helpful and pleasant and the food is excellent. We dined in the restaurant 3 times, the buffet offered a great choice and the desserts are especially good, excellent value at 42 Euros for 3 meals. The location is okay, but is a fairly steep climb at the end of a busy day, when you've already walked miles - something to bear in mind if you're as old as us!!! Our room was large and we slept really well - not a sound to be heard at night! Disappointingly, Wi-fi is only available in the lobby, bar and dining room. Otherwise 10/10!

Room Tip: Sea views from the seventh floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Mr PLJDerbyshire_Uk,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and for your lovely words and praise for our staff and the hotel.

Just a note with regards to the Wi Fi issue, kindly note, that this matter is being taken care of and in the near future we will be able to provide WiFi throughout all the hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Regards

James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a good, comfortable hotel. The rooms are a decent size and the beds comfy. Great to have tea/coffee making in the room.
The staff couldn't be more helpful, always smiling and chatty.
We took the 2 night buffet option. The first night was very good, the second less so though we were later in that evening. As it was my birthday soon we then decided on the 3 night meal opton-another buffet in the Victoria, one i the sister Palace hotel and one at the Tempasian in the Palace (accesible through the 1st floor.)
Again the Maltese buffet at the Victoria was just ok-food overcooked and bland. The buffet at the Palace was excellent-lots of choice and good shellfish. Our hopes were high for the Tempasian but so disappointing-overfried starters and uninspired set dishes, the rice and noodles an overcooked glutinous stodge. Our local take away does better. We did express our disappointment and the manager removed the wine from the bill but that wasn't the point-it was a special occasion spoilt. We wre told by staff at the Victoria that there is a section to the side where the locals get seated with spectacular views. I felt that as we had said it was my birthday they could have sat us there.
vey pleased we were at the Victoria and not the Palace as public areas at the former have nuch better architecture and atmosphere and staff we met more friendly.

Room Tip: rooms at the back get quite a bit of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear PSB Kent

We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.


It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments on TemptAsian have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

Whilst we are looking forward to host you back again please do not hesitate to contact me before placing your next reservation.

Regards

James Galea
Operations executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyldesley MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just had another wonderful week at The Victoria Hotel in Sliema Malta. The weather could have been better but nothing the hotel could do about this but they would if it was possible.
On our last visit in November 2012 work on upgrading the second lift was due to start. This work was still in progress but is due to be completed in April. Not a big problem anyway as the already upgraded lift was enough. Delays waiting for a lift were minimal.
Due to several unfortunate events the restaurant staff were severely stretched. So what did The Victoria do? Easy brought in staff from its sister hotel The Palace. As regular visitors to this hotel we noticed this but first time guests would have been unaware that there was a problem due to the excellent way management covered this situation.
We noticed that the bar in the evening was busier than we had seen before which may have been due to the hotel having introduced All Inclusive for winter months.
Food at breakfast and dinner excellent, varied and plentiful.
Thank you Kevin, Charles P, Charles A, James and all staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Maltafanatics,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for sharing you experience at Victoria with us on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely glad that once again you have enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Regards


James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just spent 4 days in the hotel Victoria, the staff were very helpful and the location was ok, if you don't mind a rather steep side street to climb up for 10 minutes...fine for the younger folk but quite an ask for older people. The room was clean but in need of an update. No wi-fi was available except in the lobby, the room was chilly at night with no heaters available in the unseasonably cool march evenings and our shower leaked so badly we had to soak up the water on the bathroom floor after each one with 2 towels. The food in the bar was awful. Nothing was fresh. I had chicken goujons and they were not what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. They were processed and frozen and clearly not chicken fillet. On the plus side the wine was reasonable and the staff, although slow and under-staffed, were very courteous. Forget the breakfast, it was poor, and I couldn't believe there was actually blue-moulded bread on offer. Having said all this, the beds were very comfortable, the room was quiet at night and I would recommend it for a good-value break in Malta.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatfacefreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Fatfacefrackles,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Further to you constructive comments I can confirm that these have been raised and discussed during our Operations Meeting. With regards to the wi-fi I confirm that we do offer ADSL in all rooms and as you remarked complimentary wi-fi in the lobby. I can also add that the management is in discussion to upgrade to wi-fi within the premises.

Whilst we understand that there might be some uphill to reach the hotel from the promenade we also confirm that is easy and accessable roads to and from the promenade towards either St.Julians or Sliema front.

Once again I would like to thank you on behalf of the management and staff. Please do not hesitate to contact me for future reservations.

Regards

James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Situated down a side street (so no sea view but also no traffic noise) in the centre of Sliema about 10 minutes walk to the seafront. Reception staff very helpful,efficient and courteous. Our 'Superior' room was a good size with a balcony, tea/coffee and a small fridge - always welcome. Good hairdrier on the bathroom wall. Large beds, a little on the hard side. Extra blankets (needed them in March!) and pillows provided. Fixed head showerbath worked OK.Some signs of wear and tear - holes in the wall - one had a screw sticking out - above our bed a little off-putting. No reading light (rare in any hotel).
Food was mixed. Buffet breakfast dull and predictable - poor fruit juices and coffee from a machine but good back bacon every day. Evening buffet dinner OK with discount price if you ordered 3 nights meals. Overall an excellent value-for-money hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicarius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sicarius1,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Further to you constructive comments I would like to inform you that we have addressed them during our operations meeting and necessary actions were taken to ensure that such inconveniences are not repeated.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Regards,


James Galea
Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel is a 3 or 4 minute walk away from the seafront in a quiet area. Excellent facilities and very good value for money, informal and comfortable. Very friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Good bar. Choice of buffet style restaurant or bar food in the evening was ideal.
Would not want to stay anywhere else in Malta.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gb-warwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Graham B,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at Victoria, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.


James Galea,



Operations Executive
james.galea@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,039 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,842 reviews
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing