We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have had an enjoyable stay at the Victoria over Christmas and the New Year. Our double room was spacious and comfortable with a 6ft. wide bed. The buffet breakfast had a very good selection of food to cater for all tastes, ranging from full English/Irish to cold meats, fruit, cake etc. for Continental tastes. At the reception desk one is greeted with a smile and is made really welcome. There is a buffet dinner in the restaurant but we liked the ample range of food in the bar which we enjoyed. If you want to go to Valletta there is a bus stop near the hotel (near the tree and red telephone box) serving the No.21 and 23 buses with a 12 min.frequency. But don't get these buses coming back as they take a different route. Get the 12 or 13 etc. to Tower Rd. (Chalet stop).Looking forward to another stay in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carbery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    685
    201
    72
    16
See reviews for
231
1,079
124
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent a relaxing week over the 2011 Christmas break. Very welcoming (and informative) front office staff. Although the hotel seemed quite busy, all the staff were very friendly and available, including the staff running the bar/lounge. Smart hotel, with a lovely 'classic' style and ambience. Main (larger) pool is only open from April to October. Wi-Fi is available in the lobby/ lounge at EU5.00 per hour (voucher), although, after the first voucher, try and negotiate a free pass for the rest of your stay!
We will be back!

Room Tip: You can see the sea (albeit from afar) from the north facing rooms on the higher floors. Worth aski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crocky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

buon rapporto qualità/prezzo. Personale estremamente cortese. Camere ampie con qualche difetto. Cucina varia e ricca. Segnalo particolarmente la professionalità del personale della reception.

Room Tip: si consigliano le superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pierbertotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

With my family, we spent the last week of December 2011 at the Victoria Hotel. Overall it is a nice hotel with excellent location and good staff. It's also a quite old hotel, and the rooms seem to suffer from his age. The hotel should invest in repainting the rooms and get better furnitures and bathrooms equipement.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive review, we would like to inform you that we are currently painting rooms besides the upgrade of soft furnishings and replacing bathroom fixtures. We also plan to rejuvenate the furniture.This will take us a good year to complete but it would make the rooms look so much better. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Victoria Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

After reading the reviews of this hotel, which were all good, we decided to have a Winter week away. I guess it could do with a little tlc, but perfectly acceptable. A lovely welcome from the receptionist on the desk on arrival. We were upgraded which is always a nice surprise. Room fine, with a seaview from the balcony over rooftops. The staff were more than obliging. Breakfast was quite adequate with usual selection of hot buffet, also continental choices of cold meats etc. A small point, there were no toiletries in the bathroom. It was a short walk to the front esplanade. The bar area served good standard food, also snacks available. We didn't eat in the main restaurant for evening meal, but it was usually quite busy. No prices on the menu. We used the indoor pool, sauna (which was small) and the steam room. I thought we would have had robes in our room but we did not, so had to walk in my cozzie to the pool, no lockers, but not a problem. My husband used the gym facilities which had most items of equipment. All in all a lovely stay, would go again and recommend. One qualm,about 7.00am every morning a loud noise started, don't know what it was, it was a bit disconcerting to start with, but I think we just got used to it.

Room Tip: A high floor would afford a better view, north facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langen b. Bremerhaven, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Breakfast not good enough. Orange juce and many other juces are not good, as you could see the other side through the glass :-) . unfortunately juces are really not good .
The 12 Ltr. water coasts 2 Euro in Malta. But you will not get a bottle of water as a welcome gift. You have to pay up to 3,75 Euro for 1 ltr water in the hotel room.
The hotel tries to save in wrong places........... such as WATER, JUCE, FRUITS etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank satyadeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, we have taken note and have made changes thanks to your suggestions, both been replaced and we are now offering very good quality juice and coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Reasonable bedroom and fitments, though a little tired. Shower lacked water pressure. Some noise from functions nearby. Staff were very pleasant. Breakfast menu unappealing to us. Good location away from seafront for access to different parts of Sliema, St Julians and Valetta. Free undercover car parking a real benefit. Overall, it was good value for the (low) room rate we got.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deniseandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Gorg Borg Olivier St, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing