We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying with Family”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Just back from our week in November at The Victoria Hotel and that is exactly how we feel about our stay.

What has changed since we stayed in July?

The restaurant, bar and reception area have all been redecorated and very nice they look as well. It is planned to start redecoration of some of the bedrooms this month also, this must be a nightmare to plan but goes to show that the management of this hotel are constantly aware of what needs to be done to maintain the standards of this wonderful 4 star hotel.

What is the same since our stay in July?

Still the same wonderful staff, with excellent food at both breakfast and dinner, it is still a wonderful hotel to stay at, with easy access to other parts of Malta especially Valletta by bus, ferry or walking, at a strolling pace it takes about an hour and a half. We would say however that our preference is to walk back to Sliema is as it is more downhill so to speak but have done the walk both ways numerous times.

The staff are always so friendly you are always greeted with a smile from Charles Portelli and the staff on reception, they cannot do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble. Charles Abella and his team in the Copperfield Restaurant meet all the guest needs whilst being both friendly and professional at all times.

Can we just add a message to the hotel manager Kevin Callus your staff are a credit to both you and The Victoria Hotel and we cannot wait for our next visit in February 2012.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaltaFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
There are newer reviews for The Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Victoria is a good hotel with excellent service. The roof top restaurant and pool are the best we've been to . It's location is ideal, walking to many restaurants and the boardwalk and of course the sea. We'd go back in a minute.

Room Tip: We had a small balcony overlooking the street, great
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zep51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Reservations Agent at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to place some comments on our services.

We are glad to read we have met all of your expectations and we will keep doing our best so that we can keep improving to please all expectations.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, we would like to thank you once again for your comments.



Looking forward to hosting you again.



Yours sincerely,

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations Agent



The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just returned from The Victoria Hotel. This hotel is a short walk from the promenade, with all its shops and restaurants. The staff are so friendly and go out of there way to make sure
you have everything you need. We had a balcony room which was large and was cleaned impeccably every day. The reception area has comfortable seating area to relax. Our stay was half board, both meals were excellent, presentation and quality were very good. We made use of the indoor pool, sauna and steam room, which again were immaculate. Malta is a fantastic island and we hired a car to make the most of it. The hotel has a free underground carpark which was good as parking is difficult in the area. Malta is a fantastic holiday destination it was our first visit and certainly we would love to return. I can highly recommend this hotel. Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farmertomless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Reservations at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

First and foremost thank you for posting your positive feedback about Victoria Hotel.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, you are encouraged to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. We will surely give our utmost to give you the best service.

Yours sincerely,

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The hotel is in a residential area of Sliema and a short walk to both the Mediterranean cost and the harbor with it many shops and restaurants. It is near a street pub, a church, a grocery store and several other shops. Amenities include a nice pub off of the lobby, several restaurants, several pools, a sauna, spas, etc. It was one of the best hotels in which I have ever stayed, not too expensive and with a very helpful staff. We were given a big room on the 8th floor with a private 25 ft balcony and a 'double' bed which was actually a queen by US standards. The room had a small fridge and separate shower and tub. The first night we slept well. The second night we realized that we were under a restaurant and until 1:00 am we heard hard shoes on the file floor and chairs being dragged back and forth. The noise resumed at 7:00 am. The same happened the next night but stopped the third night maybe because the restaurant was not open.

As a result of this experience, I will be careful to not get a room at the top or at the bottom of a hotel. (On the way back from Malta to the US, we stayed in a London hotel where they put us in a second floor room right on top of a restaurant - this time I requested a room change the first night.) Our 8th floor Victoria hotel room has several other irritating characteristics. The shower had no place on which to place soap or shampoo exept the bottom and the sink water pressure was very low. In addition the entrance hallway to the room had no light so it was hard to see in the closet or at the thermostat. (You need to close the balcony doors at night and put the air conditioning on if there is a noisy party in the adjacent building as there was one night.) In addition, the thermostat, despite having temperature adjustment, seemed to operate more like it was either on or off. By that I mean that above a certain temperature the A/C seemed to turn off and below it was freezing cold.

Room Tip: Avoid the top or bottom floors
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Reservations Agent at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at The Victoria. We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive comments on our services.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met.

We encourage you to contact us to see to your needs accordingly. We would be very happy to upgrade your accommodation and treat you especially, as a returned guest of ours.


On behalf of all the management and staff at The Victoria, we would like to thank you once again for helping us improve our product.

Yours sincerely,

Kenneth Fenech
Reservations agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife and I had the privilege of staying in The Victoria Hotel last summer and had a wonderful experience. The staff could not do enough for you and were always warm and friendly. The double room was spacious and comfortable, as well as being efficiently cleaned. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the use of swimming facilities in an adjacent hotel, where the infinity pool provided stunning views. I cannot praise the hotel highly enough. Would we go back? Yes! Yes! Yes! Looking forward to booking again next summer.

Ian( from Exeter )

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Reservations Agent at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

First and foremost thank you for posting your positive feedback about The Victoria.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, you are encouraged to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. We will surely give our utmost to give you the 4 star service which we constantly strive for.

Yours sincerely,

Kenneth Feench
Reservations agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Sliema is a wonderful place to be. The hotel has an attractive reception area with helpful staff. Our 7th floor room adjoins the Palace Hotel. The room was clean and comfortable; however, I've never stayed in a 4* hotel without a standup shower and no complimentary bathrobes or shampoo. The breakfast was plentiful, but the fruit juice was revolting unless you like sugary coloured 'flavoured' liquid. On a b&b basis, perfectly adequate, but certainly not a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizthewhizz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We organised a five day training course with accommodation and seminar room at the Victoria Hotel. The 42 course participants from 15 European countries were all very pleased and satsified with the stay in all respects. In particular we were delighted with the excellent service, the splended 'atmosphere' and the professional, high quality response to any wishes and needs. I can strongly recommend this hotel for business arrangements as well as for accommodation and meals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mspn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1807, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#2 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $81 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel revels in comfort and charm with the loyal staff’s help embracing a harmonious feeling of the homelike environment. Elegant Rooms, Luxury Spa Facilities and multi-purpose Conference Halls with free Wi-Fi and underground parking facilities for your ultimate convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sliema
Victoria Hotel Malta
The Victoria Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing