We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical British pub fare ”
Review of Penny Black Bar

Penny Black Bar
Ranked #36 of 194 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Penny Black Bar with its baby grand piano, open fireplace and leather seating is more than just a standard hotel lounge bar. Guests can sit, relax and watch live sports whilst sipping their favorite cocktails or wine, accompanied by delicious snacks, tempting platters and freshly made desserts. The Penny Black Bar has a vast bar selection, friendly service and terrific food at value prices; it is the perfect retreat to meet friends and colleagues.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a pub in the Victoria Hotel. We were staying at the neighbouring The Palace hotel, and enjoyed lunch at the Penny Black Bar on a couple of occasions.
It is decorated in the style of a "traditional" British pub, with leather seats and dark wooden panels.
The ambience is casual and relaxed. Service is friendly and efficient.
There are 2 large screens which (sometimes) show sporting events.
They serve typical pub grub, which is made and served well. There are several offers on different days and at different times of the day, which provide for added value to those delicious meals!

Thank SOLI1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear SOLI1977,

Penny Black Bar and Restaurant at The Victoria Hotel is in fact fashioned in an old style, British pub way and this adds to its charm.

Many, be they locals or foreign, have been through its doors and savoured a pleasant, comfortable meal or even drinks/beers all professionally served by welcoming staff.

You may rest assured that you are more than welcome to visit again.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 243 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Friendly staff serve a wide range of drinks and offer a reasonable menu. Some themed days are excellent value but normal prices are sensible.

1  Thank waffler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear waffler_2,

You are truly an ideal guest and it is with great pleasure that we read of your visit to Penny Black Bar and Restaurant within The Victoria Hotel and that it was a thoroughly enjoyable time for you.

May we have the pleasure to host you here yet again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

the drinks are very reasonable staff friendly and you can have a meal here if you want something different they have a pasta night on wednesdays in this bar .

Thank posts933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear posts933,

Penny Black Bar at The Victoria 4-Star Hotel is your typical old style pub, fashioned to look like a country club with old style decor and a homely, welcoming, relaxed atmosphere.

Drinks are definitely the order of the day and the Pasta Nights are frequented by hotel residents
and locals alike, such is their popularity.

Your comments are much appreciated by all here at Penny Black.

Whilst thanking you for writing in, I cannot express enough how your feedback motivates us to keep delivering and always improving on the service we offer.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were regulars at The Penny Black during our recent stay at The Victoria Hotel and enjoyed the friendliness of the bar staff, Alfred's somewhat wacky sense of humour, and the overall atmosphere with surprisingly unobtrusive large screen TVs: one playing sports programmes, the other a music station featuring the likes of Sting and Coldplay. We ate there several times in the evening: our favourite being pasta night with soup starter, a choice of 3 pasta dishes and some delicious gateaux for dessert - all as much as you can eat for an incredible 9.95 each. (I recommend booking a table - we tried to reserve on on the day and were unable to secure one until 9.00 pm.) We also enjoyed the nachos starters smothered in guacamole and tomato sauce and dotted with jalapeno peppers; and the half chicken with onion rings main course.

A couple of disappointing dishes prevent me awarding 5 stars. We were not very keen on the fish and chips - the deep fried fish being more like the type of battered fillet you might buy in a cardboard box from the supermarket freezer cabinet, and we did not enjoy the enormous combination platter starter which contained what tasted like reconstituted chicken in breadcrumbs and some mozzarella sticks which were completely hollow - the cheese having melted to adhere to the breaded coating. I also tried one of the salads but it came covered in too much mayonnaise and far too many croutons for my liking. Hearty filling food but it would be nice to see some more healthy options. Overall, a very pleasant place to unwind at the end of a busy day sight seeing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yorkshirecat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear yorkshirecat56,

On behalf of the Penny Black team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad you sampled our food and drinks. Looking forward to serve you again.
Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great atmosphere, good prices and fun little eating area of you don't want a big meal. Staff are very entertaining and service couldn't be better. Very surprised that the cocktails during happy hour weren't watered down - bit of a head the day after Halowe'en!

Thank DocJW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear DocJW_12,

On behalf of the Penny Black team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad you enjoyed our food and drinks and can't but agree more with you that we really have a great team.

Looking forward to serve you again.
Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Black Bar also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Penny Black Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing