We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great staff”
Review of Penny Black Bar

Penny Black Bar
Ranked #36 of 194 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Penny Black Bar with its baby grand piano, open fireplace and leather seating is more than just a standard hotel lounge bar. Guests can sit, relax and watch live sports whilst sipping their favorite cocktails or wine, accompanied by delicious snacks, tempting platters and freshly made desserts. The Penny Black Bar has a vast bar selection, friendly service and terrific food at value prices; it is the perfect retreat to meet friends and colleagues.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I came on Wednesday's pasta buffet. It was only 10 Euro for soup, 3 different pasta dishes plus dessert.

I didn't make a reservation but should have as it's a small but popular venue. It didn't matter as the very friendly (and slightly crazy) staff were able to accommodate me.

Food was really good, especially for a buffet and the value was excellent despite the fact that it was a hotel bar. Even the drinks were very reasonable.

The only negative was that the dessert wasn't great but at this price it hardly mattered.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank panucciz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear panucciz,

On behalf of the Penny Black team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad you enjoyed our themed Pasta Night and can't but agree more with you that we really have a great team.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 243 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Made time to pop into this bar at the Victoria Hotel and it was a delight. A lot was made of the service at this bar and Alfred didn't fail to deliver. Very funny chap who cracked quite a few jokes so you'll need a sense of humour.. Didn't have food but on the back of the drink we had in there would consider it.. Especially if all the staff are as friendly as Alfred..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank KeithN1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear KeithN1350,

On behalf of the Penny Black team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad you had a delightful time and can't but agree that Alfred is a fantastic man.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The bar in the Victoria is probably the reason we come back. The barren, Alf, Joseph and Martin are all friendly and take the time to get to know you. Nice comfortable surroundings and great food make this a must if you fancy a comfy night in with a bit of fun

Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Barry O,

On behalf of the Penny Black team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad you enjoyed our food and drinks and can't but agree more with you that we really have a great team.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Been to Malta many times and stayed at the Victoria hotel the last 3. It was a little bit disappointed to find the Penny Black bar closed but Charles Portelli from the front desk tell us that we can have the usual meals and drinks al fresco on the 8th floor Terrace bar,Me and my wife enjoyed every minute as the views are fantastic.On our last day we decided to try out the BBQ night for only 14euro it was excellent dining outside and watching the fireworks display.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marudani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Mr Marudani G,

On behalf of the Penny Black team, i would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us on Tripadvisor.

As you have seen the Penny Black is a very wintery bar and due to the high demand for al fresco dining we serve our full Penny Black menu by the pool on level 8 whilst also enjoying great views. I am also glad that you enjoyed the al freso buffet BBQ.

Looking forward to serve you again,

Best regards
James Galea
Operations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We walked through from the palace hotel and had dinner here in November 2011 and in May 2012, the bar man (older chap) is so funny and so nice. Great for food and a bit of drinking. Football on the telly too.

Thank BBB2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear BBB 2108,

On behalf of the Penny Black team i would like to thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are really glad you enjoyed our food and drinks and cant but agree more with you that Alfred is a fantastic man.

Looking forward to serve you again,

Best regards
James Galea
Operations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Black Bar also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Penny Black Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing