We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very basic hotel but in a great location”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very dissappointed with this hotel but its saving grace was the great location and the fantastic room if you happened to be at the front of the builing. Our room was on the top floor so great view but no balcony and we had paid additional for the sea view. The room was very small and very basic. The bathroom was a decent size but the shower had no real water pressure. The lighting was poor in both rooms. The whole hotel is very dated and needs some refurbishment. Although not dirty it could not be described as clean! The breakfast room was on the floor below and was very noisy from first thing when they are setting up. The coffee machine beeps constently so no chance of a lie. The breakfast has very basic choices although there is plenty to eat although i would not choose to pay if it was an optional extra. The downside to the great location is the noise, it is very noisy and being higher up did alleviate this a little. There are lots of local amenities, an alladins cave of a mini market just up the side street next to the hotel. Fresco's directly across the road is a fantastic place to eat and go for a drink, the staff are very friendly and helpful and there is quite an extensive menu and everything we tried was excellent.
The roof terrace and pool we used but to be fair there isn't room for more than a dozen max but it was mainly quiet whilst we were there and it caught the sun most of the day. There are bus stops right outside so you can go explore and visit other areas and the fee is minimal for all day travel. Forgot to say there is a hairdryer in the room which mine worked perfecly well and a tv with remote, the only thing that would have been nice would have been a kettle to make a drink. The air conditioning unit worked ok althought did at times drip water everywhere but I couldn't have managed without it as you need the window shut on a night to try and keep the nsoie level down. All in all the holiday is what you make it but for what we paid I was very disappointed with the quality of establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizanne164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 616 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

The conditions are really bad for a 3 star hotel. The bathroom was mouldy and everything looks quite old and worn out. It can get very noisy from the street but the worst thing was the wireless Internet. It never worked right during our entire stay,although I requested every day for something to be done about it.They kept lying to me that it will be fixed that day or the next day and so on, for a week. The staff in general is horrible and they have no idea about proper customer service. We only got 2 towels in the room and on a few occasions they would clean the room,take the dirty towels and not give us clean ones until very late in the afternoon. Basically, it was always needed to go and complain to the manager to get something. If you wanna go to the beach from there, beware that the "sandy" beach they talk about in front of the hotel is extremely small and very crowded.Not to mention that the water in the area is very dirty and filled with algae.
Breakfast was very poor, the same thing every day and all the dishes were low quality( they even included salami made out of horse meat,probably to save on the price), so be careful what you eat,we got sick from the breakfast a couple of days in a row.

Room Tip: Having a room with a sea view means a lot of noise coming from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JohnHartson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited Malta for the first time with a party of 8 adults. We all booked the same hotel some of us in single rooms and some in couples. My partner and I stayed in room 38 on floor 3 with a seaside view (lift available). The room was clean and modern with a safe and a hair dryer and a phone and tv with a variety of channels. (NB- €10 deposit gives you a remote and safe key). There is wi-fi in the hotel. Best signal is in the lobby but you can get 1 bar if you position near the door in the bedroom.
We opted out of €6 breakfast in hotel because it finished too early BUT instead you can get a €5 full breakfast over the road at PEPPIs. Great for snacks, meals, cakes and drinks next to the beach all day long and of course free wi-fi!!!
There is a roof terrace with a small pool and sun loungers which is nice. Our room had a air conditioning until too.

The location is on the main road. The noise didn't bother me because I am an ear-plug user.
If you take the side road next to the hotel there is a mini-mart and it was great for room snacks, fruit and bottled water which is not a requirement here but the water can appear a bit yellow and unappealing but fine to brush your teeth with.

Opposite the hotel is a small beach and a jetty to sunbath on and the bay is surrounded in rocks. If you take a walk right from hotel along the coast there is a nice walk into Sliema town. Lots of restaurants on route and beach clubs to hang out out. The walk takes about 45mins and from here you can go on boat trips to islands and into Valletta. There is an option to get the bus outside hotel (12 and 13) to Valletta too for a small fee and takes about an hour.

Left from the hotel will take you to St.Julias bay. Plenty of bars and restaurants. If you continue through Paceville you will find St.Georges beach. Really nice with parasols and sunbeds to hire.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank zzztinazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

LOCATION

Firstly I would have to write about something that no one had mentioned before, which is location. Carlton is situated just at the main road that goes along the shore and connects each main town. That means its very convenient as a base for futher trips BUT it is also very, very loud. So if you count on a nice, quiet room to stay and sleep in - Carlton is definitely not the place. My room was on the 7 th floor, thanks to that I had a beautiful sea view and it was a liitle bit less noisy than obviously on every lower floor.
I found the traffic noise very exhausting even though I didn't spend that much time in the room. I strongly reccomend earplugs for light sleepers!

ROOM (number 76)

Reasonable size of the room and the bathroom as well. The wardrobe door jammed a bit. Bed was comfortable. The airconditioning working without problems.
There is a safe, available after 10 Eu deposit, tv (10 channels, some english,some italian) but not sure what about remote. Didn't use it really, hairdryer. No minibar, no kettle unfortunately. Free Wi-fi working, just ask the code at the reception.
If you have a terrace room don't daydream to much about it, it's literally 2 square meters ;-). I didn't have one but got the option to change the room so I could see it.

CLEANLINESS

Fresh towels everyday, sheets changed 2 a week. Floor...hmm...reasonably clean. Probably could be better.

WHY LESS THAN EXPECTED?

The first inspection at the bed sheets was a bit failed (few hairs found :/, never a pleasant view)
Lack of shampoo, and just a plain bar of soap (although supplied regulary).
And the breakfast.
Well... typical english and mediocre, low quality "ham", sausages, bacon, cheese, rarely fresh fruit, never any vegetable, some cake, milk, yoghurt, cereals. Horrid juices, even more horrid coffee. Had to buy coffee everyday outside hotel.

LAST THOUGHTS

The reception team helpful and polite.
Don't dare be late for the breakfast! (It finishes at 9:30 and I really mean it!)
You are situated not in the middle of Sliema but closer to very live and party places like St.Julien and Paceville (a lot of clubs and bars in the last one, about 20 mins walk).
Bus stops just a stone's throw. But then don't be surprised that a 14 km trip will take you 50 minutes and don't count that much on bus schedule.
Pool is tiny and I'm unsure about its cleanliness. Beach is rocky and not particulary clean neither.

Room Tip: 7th floor is a good one but has no "terrace". Well...unless the lift is broken which unfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Szmaragdowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel sits nicely on the beach walk (it is worth paying extra for a room with a sea view). There are plenty of restaurants around this area. The area is laid back, the real party people stay in Paceville.

The Wifi was giving us problem every single day. Was fixed by staff daily when we complained.

The hotel is an average three star hotel. The water was cold sometimes (seems to be a fault in the handle you set the temperature with, so it was possible to just turn the shower off and turn it on again and get warm water.)

The breakfast was good, but could have been a bit more varied.

The sound isolation to the corridor could be improved.

Would stay there again.

Taking bus X2 from the airport, get of at bus stop "Antik". The bus goes in a circle, so when you look at a printed list of stops it will not show "Antik" since it is on the other part of the line. the electronic sign in the bus itself will say "Antik" when you get there.

Room Tip: Sea side room is a must - extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank morrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good location. Friendly staff. Many thanks to manager Karl Zubi. He always is ready to help. A bus stop is near. Use the buses to visit all nice island! The price of week ticket is only 12 euro. Good restaurant on the other side. Beautiful view from the room. Small pool, but you can rest there. Not good wi-fi in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikheil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Reasonably priced hotel friendly staff breakfast was fine and had the roof terrace to ourselves mostly - so far so good! Good bus service and two good bars/eateries directly opposite Frescos and Peppis and superb ice cream parlour just out of hotel turn left

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank no.1jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sliema
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $40 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing