We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a small hotel”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice for a small hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Reasonably priced hotel friendly staff breakfast was fine and had the roof terrace to ourselves mostly - so far so good! Good bus service and two good bars/eateries directly opposite Frescos and Peppis and superb ice cream parlour just out of hotel turn left

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank no.1jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    230
    157
    53
    35
See reviews for
66
291
56
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

the location is good. there is a bus stop in front of the hotel so you can visit the whole island. the beach is just across the road. next to cafes and restaurants.

we asked for blankets but they dont have any so we got cold. the room door wasnt locked properly and when closing the door makes so much noise. the swimming pool is so so so small and dirty, only two person can fit in the pool. its better to say they dont have a pool.

Room Tip: its worth to pay more to a sea view room on the upper floors. but not fifth floor because on the six...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hande k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked this hotel mainly due to other reveiwers and it seemed to be the best in this price range. On arrival Carl was extremely helpful and we were checked in very quickly. The room had a wonderful view with a small balcony overlooking the sea and St Julians - perfect. It is so nice to wake up to a view like that on holiday!
The room had adequate storage with an extra bed which we found helpful for all our stuff. Sadly we didn't have any bath towels so had to go to reception to ask and they had none either so that is a small critisicm- we didn't actually get a full set until the 4th day. There was no hot water in the sink- the tap had been adjusted so that the water stopped when you tried to turn it for hot, like the shower. Not really a huge problem in summer but maybe in winter it would be.
The shower was a hand held one which we thought was a bit odd but we managed quite well and the pressure was good and we had hot water 95% of the time.
Wifi in the room was very good and the tv had a selection of programs to suit various languages. The beds were 2 singles pushed together and we slept well for the whole week. Air con was available too and we used it a few times as the road down below was quite noisy so you woudn't want to open the windows when you are trying to sleep.The noise wasn't a problem and it was worth the few blaring horns and sqeal of tyres for the view anyway.
There was a pool on the roof with sun beds but no towels so take your own. We didn't use it as we have one at home so this was a exploring type of holiday.
The situation of the hotel was its best feature. Well placed for buses into Sliema ferries and to St Julinas in the other direction. If you are fit you can walk to both but for me it was a bit hot to do that .
Breakfast was on the 6th floor directly above our room. At first we thought it was a pain to hear all the chairs scrapping but on reflection we felt it better to have the noise when we are getting up rather than have noisy people above us at any time of day. The rooms were very well soundproofed actually and we only heard noise from the passage outside the room. With only 8 rooms on each floor it was never overly noisy.
Back to the breakfast and it was very good. A large choice of items with a machine providing whatever drinks you wanted. Each day was the same products so by the end of the week you wanted something different but that would be the same in most hotels.
The lift was very small but worked every day. The hotel looked after our cases when we checked out of the room so we could stroll around the area before getting back to the airport.

Room Tip: We had room 55- some rooms face the back and are probably cheaper. If you can afford the extra book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummybearSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Really helpful staff, they swapped rooms for us straight away from one on the first floor to one on the third (read reviews saying a higher floor was better). Great location as the bus stop is just outside. Lovely airy and bright room for breakfast. Room cleaned everyday to a good standard. Nothing to complain about at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the fifth floor with room with sea view. Fantastic view although the balcony is very small. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money. The area is very nice with easy access to the buses and crowded with good resraurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrimmanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived late Friday evening , night reception fine, lift to room extreamly small. Room poor.
bathroom mouldy , balcony so small only one person would be able to fit on it if you were brave enought to go out on it. Bed quiet comfy although the sheet was blood stained! and the throw had seen better days. Who does their decorating? why just two lenghts of paper in the middle of a wall? strange! Extremly noise l woak thinking l was either in the coridor or on the pavement out side...this hotel needs sound proofing and re decorating.Breakfast was not very appetising, well not the cooked anyway! And we save the best till last THE POOL..best described as a large bath. WHAT A JOKE!

Room Tip: avoid this hotel if you are use to decent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We found the Carlton hotel to be one of the worst hotels we have stayed anywhere in the world. The image they portray on the website is very misleading. It is not in the heart of sliema. It is about a good 15 minute walk. It is in the middle of sliema and St juliens.When we arrived we had to pay a deposit to get remote for tv and safe key. In our room we were only supplied with two tiny bars of soap which were not even replaced during our stay of six nights. The shower pressure was so bad that it was even difficult to have a decent shower and it took about five minutes for it to get warm.
We enquired about an iron and ironing board but were told they only had an iron which when we got it , it was in a dangerous condition with visible wires. Also our sheets were only changed once in 6 days. Then regarding the breakfast included in our price it was really disappointing and boring. The same every day and some days even cold. Then to top it off we had a phone in our room but were not able to make calls on it. We had to go to reception and use their phone. We were on the 6th floor. Our room had a sea view which was the only positive thing about the Carlton even though it was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Book room if you have too below 6th floor so you have a balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,016 reviews
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 261 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel in Sliema Malta is a newly refurbished modern value boutique hotel, situated on the popular Tower Road seafront promenade of Sliema. The hotel houses 47 luxury modern, yet elegant, rooms with private bathroom or shower, each finished to high standard. All rooms are furnished in a stylish wenge wood finish, and features include either one double bed or two twin beds, 24" LED TV with satellite, individually controlled air-conditioning, supreme quality orthopaedic mattresses, black out curtains, free WIFI, and an in-room safe. The seafront balcony room have a balcony overlooking majestic open sea views. To compliment this hotel is a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing deck on the top level as well as breakfast room situated on the 7th floor both of which with beautiful sea view. Breakfast is of un upgraded continental buffet type and includes a selection of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, tea, coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing