We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed May 14, 2010

The thing about Malta is - it's a small arid island far from mainland Europe and consequently Hotel fabric, equipment and furniture doesn't come cheap to them. So don't look for middle range Hotels that are shiny and newly appointed unless you spend a fair amount on your room. In my experience knock a star off the rating you are used to. Having said that I booked a bog standard room on B&B basis with Thomas Cook and was pleasantly surprised. Sure it was at the rear with views over rooftops but it was big, airy and fairly well appointed with a working fan and the rest. Furnishing style was dated but storage space massive.TV was a real museum piece and reluctant to work. Only needed cos the Ash Clouds news was of interest! Reception sent a guy a couple of times but it remained temperamental.

The Hotel is impersonal and the lifts a nightmare but staff were lovely and tried hard to keep the place running. The breakfast was ample and edible. Didn't try the bars or other facilities as we like to get out and about in the evening. The location facing the strand and sea is great ,with access to buses and Sliema's bars, shops and the Ferry to Valetta and boat trips. Touts were in evidence but not a pain. Building work is in progress everywhere including the Hotel but not intrusive

Providing you don't have aspirations for luxury you will get on fine and it's a great base for exploring Malta..

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,433 - 1,439 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

I echo the opinion of the previous reviewer, namely skoHerts. Our experience was virtually identical by the sound of things - side 'superior sea view' room overlooking a building site, use of balcony out of the question and work starting at 7am. The noise was absolutely atrocious and not at all conducive to a relaxing holiday. It was interesting that skoHerts got the same line as us, namely that there had been no previous complaints about the work. Hah! I heard one couple complain, only to be rebuffed with, 'Crane? What Crane? There is no crane'! We persisted for a bit longer and when the same staff member came to our room and was shown to the balcony, he slapped his forehead and remarked, 'ah yes, I forgot'. If it wasn't so appalling, it would be laughable. I'd have had far more patience if the problem had been addressed in a straightforward manner rather than denying the problem which has clearly existed for some time. The Preluna is a large hotel and some rooms are a fair way from the building work. My advice would be to ask for (or perhaps insist on) a room in the older part of the hotel. The Maltese people are lovely and we've enjoyed previous holidays in Malta but I'd never visit the Preluna again, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1st_impressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

booked a superior room with a sea view, what I actually got was a side room with a view of a building site and an extreemly large crane.. You could see the sea from the balcony but I was unable to use the balcony due to the building site. The ready mix lorries started at 7 am and the noise from this and the bus stop below was unacceptable. The staff on reception said they had not had any complaints about the building site, this I cannot believe. In the end I only stayed 4 days. The food was boring and in the end I transferred to the Hilton at only a little extra cost. What a difference one star makes!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

went for a month.food very good.hotel positon very good .staff vey pleasant and helpful.had a sea view.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank carrsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I stayed in the hotel the week during all the Ash Cloud descended on Europe Airways.
The staff at the hotel was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them.
this is my second visit to the hotel in a year and each time the staff have been helpful and very wellcoming.
The location of the hotel is perfect for getting around the island with a bus stop just on its door step with a taxi rank opposite the front door.
The view from the Sky Bar is to die for and getting a seaview room is great sitting there watching all the boats,ship enter and leave the grand harbour.
One disappointment through out our stay the entertainment was poor.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amr36uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Booked an All Inclusive package. We booked this hotel with a couple of friends and after reading other reviews were a bit worried. However, on arrival we were made to feel very welcome by the receptionist and offered an orange juice as a welcome drink. As it was 9 o'clock in the evening when we arrived we were advised to leave our luggage and go straight to the restaurant for our evening meal.

LOCATION: Excellent, on sea front, a few mintues from shops and about 10 to harbour. Bus stops right outside.
THE ROOM: We had booked Sea View rooms and asked for a high floor. Our rooms were on the 6th floor (6108/6109) and had connecting doors which we found useful. The rooms themselves were very spacious, carpeted, twin beds (mine creaked every time I turned), small table and two chairs. Flat screen TV on wall but only found News channel in English which was enough as we hadn't gone to watch TV. Tea/coffee, coffee creamer and kettle (no milk). Our fridges were stocked with wine, beer and soft drinks which weren't on a sensor. We were told that we could remove the drinks and leave them where the maid could see them so that we weren't charged and use the fridge for our own drinks. We overlooked the main road so you could hear traffic and the pelican crossing when beeping but didn't keep us awake. SAFE, 7 Euros a week, charged at the end of your stay.
THE BATHROOM: This looked as if it had been newly refurbished. Very clean and modern. Shower over bath good but water was running out of the tap at the same time which I think caused the pressure on the shower to drop slightly, however, did the job just the same. Soap dispenser beside wash basin and bath. Box of tissues supplied. My husband missed not having a shaving mirror.
THE BALCONY: Small, but big enough for two chairs and a small table. Overlooked the main road on the sea front, the sea and Valleta.
PUBLIC AREAS/BARS: All good and comfortable. The roof terrace was good, towels in the changing room for use at no extra charge. Didn't use the gym or indoor pool although they looked good. Apparently it cost something like 60 cents for a towel there and a couple of euros for the locker which I think was returned. The outdoor pool across the road wasn't open, it opens 1st May. Couldn't see it from our room only the local authority pool which could do with a lick of paint. We found the majority of staff to be very helpful and pleasant.
RESTAURANT: No complaints, food good, chefs on hand if you needed their help with something. Sunday lunch, they really seem to go to town on this, it was excellent, even had a chocolate fountain. We were usually lucky enough to be given a window seat overlooking the sea front.
TIME SHARE HOLIDAY CLUB: Two guys stand opposite hotel, one Scottish and the other wears an Easyjet orange T-shirt. If you've got an hour to spare and you don't mind sitting through the jargon, do it, you get free tickets (E13 each) for the City Tour and a bottle of cheap wine. The four of us together did it and had a good day out on the tour for nothing. If you say no to the lads they move off and don't bother you.
OVERALL: We would certainly stay there again, infact we were there during the Volcanic eruption and were moved to the Intercontinental in St Julians and to be honest we would have happily stayed at the Preluna. Drinks were double the price at Intercontinental and although staff there were always very courteous, had a huge gym, indoor pool, and massive sun terrace and gardens, lovely rooms (ours overlooked a building site, but it was interesting watching them work, like little ants). The location wasn't as good and it was just too big, but for nothing we're not complaining.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nifty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

stayed for the weekend during the 'volcano episode' - staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast very good, room (in new Tower block) spacious and comfortable, panoramic bar very relaxing, and location ideal for the restaurants in Sliema and the ferry to Valetta - would recommend highly both the hotel and Malta as a destination

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boruthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,080 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $64 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing