We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malta in May 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had a week in the Preluna Hotel Sliema and enjoyed it a lot. The Hotel is beginning to show its age a little but that would not stop me going back again. The Hotel itself is located just off the main road in Sliema but within easy walking distance to all the facilities all along the main drag tickets to all the boat trips the hop on hop off busses and all the local bus services are all available.
The Hotel room was very comfortable with a good balcony that had a small table and 2 comfortable chairs with a good view out over the bay the bathroom was a good size and the room was kept clean and tidy by a daily visit of the Hotel staff -- any request for extra towels was delivered almost immediately.
The Preluna is also well placed if you enjoy walking once outside the hotel turn left and there is a great footpath with lovely views the whole way in the next resort area St. Julian's a few good restaurants along that way also but the landscaped waterfront almost the entire way from Sliema into St. Julian's is really enjoyable and can be walked in about 30 to 40 minutes
The Hotel provided an excellent breakfast every day with a large selection of food well prepared and delivered -- my ONLY complaint is I prefer tea out of a tea pot than a machine but I still got enough decent hot tea to do me.
The Hotel also provides Dinner every night at a reasonable rate Euro16 for a 3 course meal where you can eat all you want
I would have no hesitation recommending Preluna as a place to stay if in Malta I intend to go back again

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views the a/c is a bit noisy but not loud enough to disturb sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wingnut08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 2,184 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Sorry to hear this poor review but for those interested in a balanced opinion can I say that we were getting married at the Preluna and had invited a couple of friends to be witnesses. As the time grew near one of the friends had to pull out due to family commitments and her place was offered free to the brother of the other who wrote this poor review. This gentleman never made the slightest effort to enjoy either the holiday or our wedding. Most days were spent in his bedroom watching ‘Family Guy’ repeats on his tablet missing numerous meals and snacking on junk food. He never spent any time at the outdoor pool, only went on one trip out to visit friends from home who were staying in another resort, and went to his room nightly at around 9pm back to his tablet again. He made it abundantly clear throughout the holiday that he did not want to be there, even though it had cost him nothing. The comment ‘all inclusive that includes very little’ is childish as there is nothing that wasn’t inclusive if only he had bothered to make the effort and find out. It is true that some of the staff were miserable, as they are everywhere but the variety and quality of the food was far better than most other places and more than made up for that. I would hate anyone to be put off an excellent hotel because of the childish attitude of someone who would have spoilt our wedding if we had let it. The phrase ‘you only get out of life what you put into it’ is obviously wasted on him and we will never again be going on holiday with him.

Room Tip: Worth an upgrade to a sea view room, the morning view is unbeatable as the sun comes shining in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank george k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Me and my son had a very good time at the hotel Preluna. I am very glad
that we have past our holidays there.
Thank you.
The room service was friendly, The service very kind, the meals delightful, so we
always looked forward to.
The Spa as well a good addition.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the breathless view to the sea and all kind of charming boats and ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for ten days in mid-May and we were very impressed and believe that it more than lives up to its 4 star rating. From the moment we arrived we were well looked after by the attentive and courteous staff. We had booked a sea view room which exceeded our expectations in that it had ample space with all the expected amenities and a balcony overlooking the lovely Mediterranean and with a great view of the entrance to the seaports of Valleta & Sliema. A security safe is available in the room which costs 1 Euro per day.
The room was always cleaned thoroughly ( although they did forget to attend to it once during our stay). There are four lifts in the hotel and during our stay the hotel had problems with two of them breaking down which could lead to long waits during busy periods (i.e. mealtimes). The bar service in the hotel was excellent and the prices were very reasonable and there is also a happy hour between 6 & 7 pm when all drinks are half price. The gym is well equipped and clean and is free to all inclusive customers and costs 5 euros per visit to all other guests. The indoor pool and jacuzzi and sun terrace are all free to hotel guests as is the outdoor pool and bar area which is situated a short stroll across the road from the hotel (towels provided).Breakfast at the hotel was more than adequate with everything from a full English to continental available (buffet style). Overall, we came away with an excellent opinion of the hotel in general and the staff in particular and we look forward to staying at the Preluna again soon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth the little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RightsaidMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have recently returned from an enjoyable 2 week stay in the Preluna. Arriving at 1.00 am my mother and I experienced a welcoming and speedy check-in, which set the tone for the holiday. Our sea view room gave a wonderful outlook over the med.The room was spacious and comfortable and while there was a charge for the safe this was only 1 Euro a day, much lower that other hotels in the area.The buffet style breakfast was excellent and the range of food on offer for dinner was of a high standard. In particular the restaurant staff were friendly, efficient and courteous. The amenities in the hotel were of high standard particularly the recently refurbished roof top sun terrace.We will be returning again in October.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have just returned home two days ago from a weeks stay on Malta at the Preluna,
We found the hotel t to be one of the best equipped on the island, rooms were clean and spacious, beds were clean and comfortable. restaurant had a good variety of food on offer, and never needed to queue. All the staff were most helpful and cheery. The Preluna excellent value for money within easy walking distance to the shops and ferry to Valleta, also there are bus stops in both directions outside the hotel, and transfer time from the airport us only 25 - 30 mins. We will certainly stay at the Preluna again, ;maybe even this autumn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Best situation where every thing you wish for whether on vacation or business within reach. friendly staff and personal attention makes up for minor adjustments, Very comfortable and easy access to recreation facilities and excellent internet access.

Room Tip: ask for the refurbished rooms wit sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awni2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,554 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#12 of 28 in Sliema
1,425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $62 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing