We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay but few things could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay but few things could be better”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The room/suite/apartment (don't know what to call it!) for 4 was adequate and served the purpose. Facilities were good but the coffee and tea tasted very bad and the worse was powdered whitener. Strange to charge for using the Gym and the sauna/steam room in the pool was nauseating.BF buffet was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Added bonus was Hertz outlet and a holiday agent as part of the hotel building.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mvsiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    810
    497
    205
    112
See reviews for
370
953
180
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed our four night day. Friendly staff. Stayed in two rooms - one sea view which was nice but the pillows were too hard. Room 2 perfect. Coffee bad tea making facilities which was great as many 4 star hotels in Malta don't give you that option. Great buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chirpyandcheerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just back from the Preluna Hotel,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay,everything was fine with the hotel and everyone was hel[pfull and friendly. The food was excellent with a good choice. We arrived for our anniversary to a bottle of chilled wine in our room compliments of the Hotel,what a welcome.Bus stop just over the road but a short walk to Sliema town for the able. Nice holiday . Thanks to everyone involved. Hull England. B+B

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianandbabs750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I would like to forward my complaint regarding the way my family were treated on Christmas Day.

Early in November, I had booked lunch specifically at the Skyroom – as we had done the year before. But on the day, to their surprise, they were directed to another restaurant, which needless to say, cannot be compared to the Skyroom.

They were greatly frustrated and they complained immediately, however, the restaurant manager was rather arrogant with them and seemed only interested to go on with his duty. The same could not be said of Mr Guido, who tried to reach a compromise with them – but of course, nothing he offered could replace their booking at the Skyroom.

I am not a person who generally complains – but I was so disappointed that I promised myself to write this letter and express my disappointment with the service my family was given and warn everyone about their customer service which leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sinclars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malta, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

on Christmas Day.
Firstly, we were seated at a table that was situated in a way that obstructed other customers from going past our table and although we showed our disapproval, we had to actually move the table ourselves to the side. He took our order twice but once again we were left waiting for 40 min.
We asked for an Italian wine Frascati and were presented with a Mattheus.
Regretfully I must say that what should have been a memorable Christmas Day turned out to be a disappointment for me and my family

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank JJfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Truiden, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

exelent aides everywhere in or out the hotel. Poor lifts, very good swimmingpool inside good gym and foot is perfect . thanks for the birddaycake on 9 of may, very nice trip(s) theyre, boot is the max

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delange1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Why is it that whenever anything negative is said about Preluna the hotel responds with a reaction along the lines of It's your fault you should have said something'. I've always tried to be positive about my experiences there, but when I read the responses from the hotel I despair that it can ever improve when it is in denial.

My last review stated that the food is not as good as it could be. The response was that they cater for a wide range of nationalities and we should have asked for something different. The truth is the manager invited us back into the restaurant after we decided nothing was worth eating and got the chief to serve up some chicken, which also was not fit to eat. The manager returned the chicken and the chief apologised. The manager then had a bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine delivered to our room; just as well as we needed to eat something!

Next time we went we ate out, but the cooked breakfasts I decided to avoid as the sausages and bacon are just not up to standard. Eat a continental breakfast and you'll be ok.

I would say to Preluna, please listen to the reviews of those who like staying with you and address the issues if you can. Please don't deny there are problems. Saying that you did know about means that you are not asking. Almost all guests come into breakfast, why not ask them ALL then. Asking on some evenings, when the guests who are not full board have gone out will only tell you a little of what you need to know about your guests perception and experiences.

I hope that this proves to be constructive and that the massage gets through somehow.

Keith

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KeithD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#8 of 28 in Sliema
1,374 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Property: Preluna Hotel & Spa
Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing