We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Astra Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Park Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Hotel Roma(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Europa Hotel(Sliema)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
The Palace(Sliema)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,291)
Filter reviews
2,291 results
Traveler rating
504
897
545
228
117
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
897
545
228
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstriton restaurantsky roomsea viewbeach clubsun terraceoutdoor pooltower blockjapanese restaurantsea frontevening entertainmentst julianshalf boardbed and breakfast basisbuffet stylerooftop barsteam roombus stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,100 - 1,105 of 2,291 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just booked a last minute week in malta and regretted not reading reviews
I was all inclusive but had to sign for every drink ,the older staff in the dining hall are miserable and the food is the worst i have come across on my travels
the air con was not on leaving the room very warm at night
the reception staff are nice but have a job keeping visitors happy as the hotel is dated
I travel 2/3 times a year and have done for the last 15 years and have never fealt i would review a hotel but this i must
I will now review the hotels i visit frequently as they are paradise compared with this one
weather was lovely but did not make up for feeling so intimidated at meals and in the bar
We ate across the road most nights preferring to pay for a nice service rather than staying in the hotel

Room Tip: get a sea view and check construction works ,a couple we spoke to paid for the view only to see a crane in the daytime 5 of the7 days
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The previous couple of reviews are spot on. We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Preluna. We did have a good time in Malta despite the fact that my husband had his wallet stolen on the crowded bus. There is a spate of pickpocketing going on that seemed to be getting worse and the police and the Arriva buses know about it. Quite a few people at the Preluna had money/cameras/mobiles stolen on the crowded buses too.
As regards the hotel - our room was very basic. Someone previously compared it to a Travelodge room and I would agree with that. It was on the 7th floor seaview but facing a building that was being built, so therefore work was going on at times with a crane etc. It was quiet at night. The balcony seemed very unsafe to us as there is a gap around the edge that things could fall down. Also because of the building work it got very dirty and the cleaners didn't clean/sweep it. We thought our room could do with a good clean too. Every day there were the same bits of dust on the laminate wood floor. The beds looked like they hadn't been made. The bathroom was good and seemed to be cleaned better. However, the fan only worked when the hotel had it switched on. Evenings were ok, but if you wanted a shower in the morning the fan was not on so the bathroom got steamed up.
My worst gripe is that there was no air-con despite the fact that the Mercury Direct brochure said we had air-con. We tried speaking to the reception staff on 4 occasions and got told the same thing. That it was centrally controlled, and it was the hotel's policy not to put it on until the outside temperature reached a certain level. Consequently the room was very hot at night, especially so, since there is a plastic sheet on the mattress. We had to keep the ceiling fan on constantly, but this didn't really do the trick. On one occasion the reception staff told us that he had told the manager and the manager would contact us, but we were never contacted. It seemed as though the managers were off limits. Very unprofessional.
The restaurant was as the previous reports. A rugby scrum comes pretty close. Can't imagine what it's like in the summer months! The restaurant isn't big enough to cope with the number of people staying there and it is very cramped with tables right next to one another. People can't get through the tables and then can't get round the food station as it is just too narrow. It is very frustrating holding a very hot plate of food (plates were heated so that you needed gloves on to pick them up!) and then trying to get through the scrum back to your table. Food was ok for us - we always managed to find a choice that we liked. The young waiters and waitresses are all foreign students - very friendly, helpful, courteous. The older men in the restaurant, head waiters and chefs are miserable, grumpy and never greeted us. One of the chefs would push people out of the way to replenish food. I can't understand why the hotel can't see this and address it. On one occasion the restaurant had no air-con and was like an oven. Even the waitress said she was very hot. We asked the older men/head waiters about it and they said they had asked for it to be put on, but it took one hour before it came on! Not good.
The entertainment in the skyroom and the bar areas would be ok if you can get a seat. We never managed to get a seat and therefore couldn't go and view the entertainment.
The gym costs money to go each day - never seen this before in any hotel we've been to.
The pool area over the road was not in full swing yet.
Some of the reception staff were very helpful, others were a bit brusque or sharp.
On the plus side when we had a problem in our room with the flush on the toilet leaking water and the light bulb going, they were fixed very quickly and efficiently.
My husband spoke to the Customer Relations girl who stands in the lobby each day and told her about our problem with the air-con. She said she'd pass on the message but we couldn't understand what she was there for really as she did nothing.
And as regards the time-share touts, yes I agree, what a nuisance. They talk old people into going to a talk on the 4th floor to view a new apartment within the hotel so that they can come back to stay in one on their next visit. In return they offer you a free trip on the hop-on/off bus. When you get up there you have to agree to give up one hour of your time. Some people told us it took two hours. We got up there and I immediately questioned it because they said it wasn't time-share. They then told us that it was a Holiday Club and they are trying to sell you holidays all over the world. I explained to them that I didn't want to join a club and then walked out. Someone else who went to it, told us it costs £5000 that covers you for 10 years to stay in their apartments. It's time-share with another name and it preys on old people, who may/may not have 10 years left to use it. I think the Preluna has a lot to answer for allowing this to go on within their hotel.
All in all, we had a lovely holiday, because we went to lots of historical places and used the weekly bus pass to get about. But beware if you use the buses, to be very wary of pickpockets. Do I think this holiday was good value for money? Straight answer no, because the hotel is not 4 star and isn't up to par (no air-con, cramped uncomfortable restaurant, not enough seating in the bar areas).
And if Daniel Diosi is reading this, I had already emailed him before going about my request for a room. When we got there I asked to speak to Daniel and could they get him down so that we could meet him, and the reception staff didn't know who he was!! When I said his email address was marketing, they said he had gone for the day, and wouldn't be there until tomorrow. Sorry that I missed you Daniel, I would have loved to tell you all this when I was there to your face.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air-con especially in May!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Really recommend this hotel. Stayed for 5 nights and found it great. Really friendly staff from the moment I walked in. Room very nice and clean. Really recommend the sushi bar next door to it. Not really cheap but great food in it. Will stay again definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnO33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that your experience with us was a great one and that you were satisfied with our staff and also with the Japanese food in our Sakura cafe and restaurant.

Whilst looking forward to welcoming you back again we would like to extend our best wishes.

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

recently returned from our second all inclusive stay at the Preluna hotel Malta.The food was very good at breakfast didn,t bother with lunch as we expected to eat at the pool area bar , but discovered it was being refurbished so no food and limited supply of drinks.The dinner was acceptable but bland although the choices were ok.,The rooms were clean and tidy but a little dated and the lifts seem to have a mind of their own,new ones were being installed during our stay but needed programming correctly as they didn,t seem to stop on the second floor.
The bar at the Skyroom and the lobby were the same as last year queueing for drinks each time you wanted one.This was a big let down as I reported this fact last year but it seems to have fallen on deaf ears.
We tried to get the A/C on in our room but was told not until the !st of June or until enough people asked for it.Eventually after numerous complaints we received a free standing A/C unit.
In conclusion I would recommend not to go all inclusive as it is a waste of money,the drinks accross the road are cheaper and quicker to get served.This hotel seems to cater for the over 70,s as we were nearly the youngest there at 65.I would say the average age was around 75.
Would revisit but later in year when all the amenities are in use and only on bed and breakfast basis.

Room Tip: choose a second floor as the lifts take an eternity to arrive and you can use the stairs.All inclusive poor value for money.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel has good location, there are few restaurants with good local food nearby, great kebab place:).
In front of hotel's main door are bus stop and Hop-on bus stop.
Few steps from marina.
Staff is very friendly, room clean, tv is useless, problem is the noise from the street if you stay on lower floor.
Very good breakfast, nice bar on 13th floor.

Room Tip: book room on upper floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest review here on the Tripadvisor.
We are glad you found the location, staff and your room good.

As the Hotel is located on the seafront, indeed it is busy in the peak hours but the rooms are equipped with double glazed fenestration to prevent the noise.

We are happy about you have enjoyed your stay in the Preluna Hotel & Spa.

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews