We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Stay Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed as part of a 'Long Stay Holiday' for most of March, and both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, and we would recommend the Preluna especially for British Pensioners at that time of year, its central for buses either going into Valletta or futher up the coast, All the staff were very helpful and I am still trying to lose weight from the quality/amount of food (we were on half board)
The only 'complaints' are my personnel views and actually NOT against the Preluna
1) the Gym, its not run by the Hotel, however: I was hopeful that as a Guest in the hotel I could make use of it at a discount maybe 'off peak'. Yes, I could use it at a 'Day Rate' I tried to explain that I don't want to use it ALL day, just maybe an Hour, two at the Very most, - nothing doing
2) Time Share Touts, (Who use the Preluna as a base) we were approached 4 times, we got to recognise them by sight in the end, it was like observing leaches - they brought SHAME on the Preluna

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanetP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your long stay with us.

Thank you especially for mentioning the great meals. Our chefs are certainly a great asset of the Hotel. The gym is run by the hotel and our guests are offered discount rates. We do offer indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzis at no charge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Preluna in the near future.

Thank you and best wishes,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from an excellent stay at The Preluna Hotel & Spa 1st- 15th May 2013.We would thoroughly recommend this Hotel the food is a lot better than most four star Hotels in Malta especially the sumptious breakfasts which were five star quality. Certainly worth paying for a seaview room they are large with beautiful views didnt want to come home! Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful also the Hotel guests relations staff were very nice. Evening entertainment in The Skyroom was good and it is bright and welcoming. We will be staying in this hotel again, it is very handy for the buses which are frequent and are well run at the Valetta bus terminus. Please try this Hotel highly recommended. V. Blye and P. Gray

Room Tip: Seaview room High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsy39_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your great stay in the Preluna.

Thank you especially for mentioning the great meals, the great value of Sea View rooms and the professional work of the Front Office staff, they do their best on a daily basis.

The chefs will be pleased to hear your wonderful opinion about their work as well.

Looking forward to welcome you again in The Preluna!

Thank you and best wishes,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

On a weeks holiday and not intending to spend a great deal of time in the hotel we booked the sweet little Astra Hotel on Sliema front. Been there before and perfectly adequate for our needs but when we arrived we were told that they had over booked and that we had been upgraded to the Preluna. Concerned that our upgrade would not include the sea view we had booked at the Astra we walked next door to the Preluna and were given a room with the most fabulous sea view room on the 12th floor. The room was comfortable, clean, good shower - but if you prefer a bath then ours was a tad small so we only tried it once. Wifi was available but we could only get it if we sat by the door to the room. Staff were superb and the dining room staff could not do enough to help - so much so they were happy to cater for the gluten free diet that we needed. All in all - we liked the Astra, we loved the Preluna

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Booked a superior room with seaview and was placed in a small and very outdated room in the towerbuilding. Absolutely notning superior. Next day I asked for a better room and right away they chanced it to a nice one right on the waterfront. Wonder why they didn't give me that right away.
Staff was very friendly but overall I was disappointed. Poolarea is very worn and need a refurbish.
I would describe it as an average tourist hotel. Not good, not bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for placing your review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that the first room did not meet your expectations but we are glad that the second one met your expectations. Your remarks regarding the pool area have been passed on to management.

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in a room with a city view and no balcony. It was a newly refurbished room which was great. All the usual in the room including Kettle etc, fridge, hair-dryer and also free Wifi in the room and in public areas. We could go and sit up in the roof terrace or roof bar areas, so we didn't feel the need to have a balcony or sea view. It was also lovely sitting out the front or going across the road to the outside pool area right next to the sea.

Our room was cleaned every day. Air con, room fan and heating. Beds were really comfy and it was a lovely quiet room. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, welcoming and polite. We had breakfast included which was lovely. Great choice of food, lovely views - couldn't fault it. The public areas were great, comfortable and clean. The bar was good and although we didn't use them, the indoor swimming pool, spa and gym looked great.

The bar/lounge and entertainment did attract an older crowd but at breakfast and in the roof terrace and pool areas we could see that there were all ages staying there and all nationalities. The entertainment is aimed to an older market which was fine for us as we wanted to be out in the evenings anyway.

We would definitely choose this hotel again, not only a great hotel but in a perfect location!

Room Tip: We emailed in advance to ask if we could have one of their newly refurbished rooms. We don't kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience, we were very happy to read your review!

We are especially happy that you have tried and enjoyed all our facilities as our goal is to provide a wide range of leisure and entertainment included in the room rates.

Also thank you for mentioning the breakfast, our chefs are doing their best every morning to provide our guests an excellent start of the day!

Looking forward to see you again!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Preluna. The hotel was very nice and clean and the staff couldn't have been any more helpful. They were also very friendly.

We were on an AI basis and the drinks, although fairly limited, were enough. The food, although not a lot of choice, was good. The hot meals were always hot and there was also a carvery joint most nights. Also there was the usual salad bar with a good choice and also the desserts were lovely.

There was not a lot of entertainment. What there was it was very average. Most of the entertainment was in The Sky Bar on the 13th floor. This is a lovely bar with views over Sliema.

There was another small bar in the open area near reception, so when you were having a drink before dinner (or at any other time) people were passing coming in from their days out. It would have been nice to have a separate bar area to relax away from this passing "traffic". Also there was only one person serving at the bar and he was run off his feet as he was serving all types and drinks, collecting glasses and getting rid of empties and also re-stocking the bar. I hope they have more staff in the high season.

There was no pool as such. The lido was disappointing and not at all like it looked in the brochure. It also didn't have a bar to get either drinks, coffees or snacks. There was a sun terrace on the 8th floor, but again there was not a bar and it meant either going downstairs 8 floors or in the afternoon a waiter came up and you ordered drinks from him. There was a coffee machine on the sun terrace floor but machine coffee is not like the proper thing.

Although we don't have children, there was nothing much for children to do. No activities for either children or adults.

Last but not least, we paid extra for a sea view (which I agree is a must), but please choose a high floor as we were on the third floor and the noise from the road outside was awful. It was quite noisy, especially on a morning when lorries and the buses started. The room was a good size and was very clean.

It was a real shame about the road noise as, even with all the things I have mentioned above, we did have a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must, but choose a higher floor as there is noise from the road in front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review on Trip advisor. I am glad you had a lovely holiday overall. As you might have noticed the Hotel was very busy during the time of your stay, please forgive us for the inconvenience.

As our aim is to improve our quality in every aspect, I would truly appreciate your remarks in more detail as I see you have some things to say. Feel free to email your comments to marketing@preluna.com

I hope we see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very average unfortunately and definitely not four star. Stayed all inclusive and very poor value. Bars offered limited range of drinks, manned by one staff member who had to serve drinks, make coffees and clear tables so regularly had to wait for service. The public rooms are very weary and although there is apparently a refurbishment programme in place this is very overdue. The bedroom was very basic - an earlier reviewer likened them to Travelodge rooms but I think that could be an insult to Travelodge. A leaking washbasin and flickering bathroom light didn't help our opinion of the room although the light was repaired quickly once we contacted reception. We were disturbed early most mornings as our room was across from the cleaners room so no lie ins for us. The food was quite good and Sunday lunch was the best of the week due to locals dining in the hotel. Even had a chocolate fountain that day! The roof top sun terrace offered great views but chairs and flooring were disappointing. Jacuzzis too cold to use. No drinks service there either. The hotel is definitely attracting an elderly clientele who seemed happy enough but if you are used to genuine four star hotels abroad, you will be disappointed. The location is excellent across from a bus stop. Staff generally were helpful and pleasant though we didn't appreciate the manner in which we were summoned to tables at mealtimes. We would go back to Malta, but unfortunately not to the Preluna.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank seasider2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Preluna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,575 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,282 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preluna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preluna Hotel & Spa

Address: 124, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $63 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preluna Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Sliema’s seafront, Malta’s Preluna Hotel & Spa features 3 restaurants, a spa, and a private beach. The spectacular Penthouse Lounge on the rooftop is open all day. The spacious rooms have views of the city or the Mediterranean Sea.All rooms at the Preluna are air-conditioned and feature a tea/coffee maker, a satellite TV, and a private bathroom with bath and shower. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The well-equipped private beach features a large swimming pool, a kid’s pool, and a bar and grill. A diving school is available and a huge variety of water sports can be practised.The spa includes an indoor swimming pool with 2 large hot tubs, and a wide range of fitness and relaxation facilities. Hot tubs are also available on Preluna’s stunning roof terrace, which also features a mini-golf course.The restaurants are open for lunch and dinner. One offers a varied buffet, and the other 2 specialise in Italian and Japanese cuisine. A free Flavours of Malta dancing evening is arranged weekly, ideal to sample Maltese foods, wines and liqueurs, and learn about the local heritage and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Preluna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preluna Hotel And Spa
Preluna Hotel Malta
Preluna Malta
Hotel Malta Preluna
Preluna Hotel Sliema
Preluna Hotel & Spa Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing