We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge portions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Malte

Le Malte
Ranked #56 of 185 Restaurants in Sliema
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant was recommended to us by a local resident. It was quiet that evening which was just as well as only one waiter working. We both had a mushroom starter which was delicious but enough food for a main dish! We followed this with rib eye steak and swordfish. We thought the food was excellent and we paid just under 50 euros including drinks. Would go back again if in Sliema. Friendly service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SparkyG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    141
    70
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Musical chairs restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked a table for five and a highchair and when we arrived we were given a table. We were already sipping our drinks when the waiter told us we were given the wrong table and were asked to change tables. After moving child who was already in the highchair, pushchair, drinks and coats and were once more seated, another waiter came and told us to move child in highchair because he was in the way!! When we thought the worst was over and we could finally enjoy our lunch, guess what?....starters arrived an hour and a half later when both children and adults were extremely hungry and cranky! Not a very enjoyable experience. A pity because food, when it finally arrived wasn't bad.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xerin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMalteRestaurant, Owner at Le Malte, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
i apologize for what happened but a mistake can be done, every one is a human being and you know you booked when we had a 50% off so we were very busy. so a small mistake it's easy to happen . and we told you to move the highchair from the middle for your child's safety. about your complain for waiting, as i mentioned before, it was the day with 50%off. the restaurant was packed, . also we cook everything fresh so it takes a bit longer than if we have everything prepared . thanks for your complain cos it make me realize that its not worth it to do this disc of 50% cos it cost me a lot of money and some people don't appreciate and make a big fuss for a small mistake .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
“impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's not the first traditional restaurant of the island that me and my girlfriend have been to. but it's the first one that really impressed us so much.when we arrived I could clearly see that the staff was busy and although they were only one chef and one waiter they really managed perfectly we didn't had to wait for a long time to be served the food and the service it was remarkable. next time we don't need to search for a good traditional because we already know were to dine.looking forward to try the traditional escargots.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor service & food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited Le Malte based on TripAdvisor reviews but were left very disappointed by our experience. There was only one waiter and one chef in the whole restaurant which meant very long wait times for our starters and main meals and when we were dealt with the waiter was not very friendly at all. When the food arrived the soup was good but no bread was offered to accompany it and the main meals were bland and greasy. Overall not an enjoyable meal and we would not recommend to anyone to go.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SC23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Europe
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Went for Sunday lunch to this restaurant with friends and we all enjoyed it. We stayed inside and the atmosphere is very cosy...maybe abit darkish though...would add a few more lights in the lower section. The service was abit slow but friendly. There is a good variety of food to choose from from pasta, Maltese food, pizza, meat etc. The food was delicious and the the portions very good. We had beef fillet, rib eye, mixed grill and pizza and all was perfectly cooked. I would recommend this restaurant and will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_C_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Malte also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Le Malte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing