We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finest Dining in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Galeone

Il Galeone
Ranked #20 of 186 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southern England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Finest Dining in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Popped in for a snack whilst visiting Sleima. Reading the menu we were hooked. We ordered white wine and this came with a taster snack.I had the best calves liver ever and I'm an aficianado. My husband had stuffed chicken breast which was actually moist. Veges were excellent. We'r not pudding eaters, but had to try them. A small selection, all homemade and yummy. The venue is comfortable, quiet and friendly and the service good. Certainly the best meal we had during our week in Malta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanterntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    100
    20
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small but a cosy feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very good menu, could chose several things from it. Well cooked by chef and hands on proprietor. Staff very attentive but too free with the pepper!!! We highly recommend specially for customers wanting a intimate meal!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, nice relaxing atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I tried Il Galeone last week. A friend had recommended it to me, and he was right. The waiters were friendly and polite, the service was good: we didn't have to wait for long and the food was delicious. I had read some reviews about very tasty calamari, so we decided to go for them. And it was a very good idea indeed! There was no loud music - which was an extra bonus - and even coffee was good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANNA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“one of the best meals in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went by chance the first time and have returned time after time. The food is very good. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Very helpful if you ask about what is in a dish or advice on wine. Profiterolles delicious. Doesn't look like much of a place but try it and I guarantee you will go back again and again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not much atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant because of good reviews on TA.
The meal we had was fine and enjoyable- no complaints at all.
However it was a shame that there were very few customers especially for a Friday night. The restaurant next door was packed. Why?
Consequently it was very quiet and there was little atmosphere or ambiance.
There are many restaurants around, so will give this a miss the next time


Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bert88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Galeone also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Il Galeone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing