We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Galeone

Il Galeone
Ranked #19 of 186 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

It was so nice there.We were sitting inside and it was kind of family atomosphere.The price is absolutly ok.We tasted the fish which was delicious. Recommendation!

Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    100
    20
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Now I like Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Went to this restaurant was warmly welcomed food is great service quick I do not usually like pizza after being here I now have changed my mind. The service manager was lovely highly recommend this place

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gogetter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

What a wonderful little restaurant. I can't recommend it highly enough. I may even go back to Malta just to eat here again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still good after twenty six years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This morning my wife and I were in Sliema doing some shopping, and passing by the Galeone, we decided to have lunch. The last time that we ate at the Galeone must have been about twenty six years ago. It has basically remained the same except that now you can eat outside, basically on the pavement, which we do not like, but inside it's the same with real cloth napkins and table cloths, not cheap paper stuff. As for the food, it is still very good based on Italian cuisine. As for prices, I think that these are very reasonable for the good food that one can have. We both had the beef stroganoff with rice, roasted potatoes and greens which were all very good. We were even served with complimentary bruschetta before the meal. Would highly recommend this place to anyone. Maybe not the ideal place where to go and eat with small children.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lahamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good quality at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This restaurant is situated in an area of Sliema well-known to tourists and yet not known for good value establishments. Il Galeone is worth finding. The service was superb and the Mediterranean food is freshly prepared and the ingredients are good quality. My only issue was with the side vegetables, which were rather uninspiring (although complimentary, so best not to complain too vociferously).
Overall, Il Galeone is good value for money and I will certainly return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathandeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Galeone also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Il Galeone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing