We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got Taken with Take-Out” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Dragon

Red Dragon
Ranked #124 of 185 Restaurants in Sliema
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
waterville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Got Taken with Take-Out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was staying at a nearby hotel and went here for a take-out order. The restaurant has a lovely, upscale decor, so perhaps they feel small portions served with no rice (€3.50 for a side order of boiled rice) is trendy, but my appetizer-sized main dish made me want to eat the paper bag for which the restaurant charged me €.18.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaydog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    9
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More China, please!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Only in the last decade or so has Malta been blessed with the arrival of oriental, mostly Chinese restaurants, a welcome diversification of the local culinary scene. Having opened in the last two years or so does not exactly make it a trail blazer and therefore it has to be measured against existing establishments. There, I'm afraid it falls short. My wife had a chicken curry, I had pork. They were indistinguishable both in appearance and in taste. It seems to aim at a European taste, leaving out the flavours of the Orient and taking its clues from English cooking of the Fifties...
Wine was outrageous in price, even the cheapest local ones are priced as French châteaux :-(

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sliema36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
2 reviews
“Impressed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place is amazing!! i work management in catering for a long time and when i go to a restaurant i dont go and pick what mistakes they are doing because im proud of my job...I just try to enjoy myself as much as possible...service is very welcoming, very attentive, helpful and always with a smile!! Food was unbelievable!!! i ate Chinese a lot of places in malta and different countries but this was the best.The price is cheap for the quality of food...And yes will go again for sure!!! :))

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a Chinese restaurant, you get exactly what you expect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

It's pretty standard as far as the food and service goes. Nothing wrong with either.
We had a set menu and swapped one of the dishes without any problem.
The only criticism was a corked bottle of white wine (this is a first for us, sending a bottle back) was put into the fridge with the broken cork plugged back in the top. Maybe they intended using it for cooking, as it was like white wine vinegar but I doubt it.
I would go back if I fancied a Chinese meal again though.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ridgebackbanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deep fried central”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm guessing that as a take away, this place is OK, but as a restaurant it falls well short of the mark. I ordered sesame Prawn Toast , Steamed Dumplings and 1/2 Peking Duck.

I can only guess that the toast was pre cooked and then dropped into a deep fat frier. The result was an oily crispy dark brown bit of fried bread that was so over fried that you could not taste any of the topping. Dumplings were OK as they only have to take them out of the packet and steam them.

Peking duck, was (I think) 2 small breasts of Duck that again, had been pre cooked and then dropped in a deepfat frier to re heat. The result was bland dry duck.

I would never go back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dragon also viewed

 
Il Gzira, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Red Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing