We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views and pleasant atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant

Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 185 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice views and pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Lovely terrace overlooking a bay. Food was good and service friendly. The shrimp were particularly savory and perfectly prepared.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank livnddream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    373
    96
    50
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LNZ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Consistenlty Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

A nice little restaurant with a decent sized terrace. The views at the inside of the restaurant, overlooking part of Balluta Bay, and also the views from the terrace are magnificent. The service is laid back and friendly. The team is, at any given time very helpful and attentive.
The food is a true delight whether it’s the Maltese goat cheese on a salad, the grilled chicken with quinoa salad or the mussels in white wine sauce, it’s all good and delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LNZ0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, great views, great price, overall... Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

The food was lovely we went back nearly every night of the holiday as it was one of the only places to serve you properly and didn't leave you waiting which lots of the places in malta seemed to do. One of the waiters called Steve was especially great at service go Steve.
Mussels were divine, burgers were amazing but the best thing was the steak! Truly irresistible! Quite cheap too!
The views out over the ocean were unbeatable. All in all go to this restaraunts you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flodud27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“All over the place service BUT excellent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Fresco's really does do delcious, quality local food. We started our meal with the Fresco's focassia which was so huge, we couldn't eat it all (great). For mains we had the Maltease Rabbit and Pork Fillet wrapped in bacon (once again another two beautiful meals cooked perfectly).
However, although the food was fantastic, I could not say the same about the service. We were seated by a female who barely spoke a word of English, we then browsed the menu until she approached us for our drink order. She could not understand that we were ready to order and we also wanted two Mojitos. She then had to get another waitress ( who spoke English) to come and take our order. No.problems there. Then we were sent out two horrible, disgusting, watered down Mojitos that only had lemon in them, oh and some old bruised mint. I once again had to call over another waiteress (another female who could not understand what I was saying) to send me over my original waiter to complain.
After this incident, we were not shown any attention for the rest of our meal. We waited 10 minutes to receive our change and were not farewelled by anyone when we walked back onto the main street.
This restaurant has so much potential but when their staff are running around like headless chickens and not delivering quality service, it makes you feel disheartened and that your overall experience wasn't worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Blair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
292 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great welcome to Malta!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

It had been a long day, just dumped our bags in the apt & headed out for a walk. Enjoyed a stroll then dropped into Fresco's. Ordered drinks, though couldn't get a Maltese wine by the glass, but an Italian was available. Here is my tip, order a glass of ice to put in said wine, & you will be refreshed. Beers weren't that cold. Food, enjoyed grilled Calamari & Smoked Duck salad. Service was attentive, prices reasonable all with a view.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foreverdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing