We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Food and Great Service”

Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 186 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Went to Fresco's based on TripAdvisor recommendations and enjoyed the experience. I ordered the beef 'tagliatelle' which was (as per the description in the menu) more of a beef salad. It was delicious but I was expecting a more generous portion of salad/vegetable (kind of the way the chicken Caesar salad came). Regardless, it was delicious with lots of fresh, spicy shaved Parmesan! The fish of the day was fantastic too! Service was prompt and attentive. Our waiter messed up a few things but he was sweet about it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    385
    97
    52
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gluten free paradise!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Lovely restaurant on Tower Road with helpful, friendly staff. I have been wheat intolerant since 1992 and got used to being thought of as the difficult/picky customer, in fact I am neither. Imagine my delight when handed the menu to see several gf options, gluten free options on a regular restaurant menu, choices!! And not the Gourmet Burger Restaurant version of gf which is to just remove the bun and charge more (have never understood why that is) but proper gluten free pasta, bread, flour, breadcrumbs, crackers. Oh the delight. I plumped for a Rabbit pasta dish, utterly utterly delicious, everyone else enjoyed their meals too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jillbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We visited Frescos twice on our visit to Sliema.The food and service was first class and we will certainly return on our next visit to Malta

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and splendid food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful waiter who led the five of us to a nice table on the terrace by the window. After that we got served by another even more fabulous waiter, who I believe was called Steven. During the evening he was there any time we needed.

The food was terrific and I definitely do recommend this by-the-strand restaurant. It really was good!

Helpful?
Thank Antti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Life Saver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were in Malta for a couple of weeks for a wedding. We were extremely active and had the days filled with all sorts.

Fresco's was our first place for lunch. I had the grilled calamari and I was in heaven (we've lived in the Caribbean for 10 years where the sea food is pretty rubbish so cold water sea food is a world apart). The calamari was warm....spot on.

We ate there on lazy days. We tried to eat in as many restaurants as possible but this was our "let's go back" place as it is good.

The staff were superb. Like any restaurant, some lags at busy times.

I'd put this at the high end of price for Malta. We ate at some wonderful hideaways for next to nothing, but as i said, this place was convenient, friendly and the food was good.

Our only moan is that this and that was not on the menu over and over again....so why have it on the menu..??

Good for people watching and listening in to conversations if you speak multiple languages. FUN.

Graham

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamCuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing