We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have the octopus! ”

Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 186 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Have the octopus! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Great place took us in late in the evening and despite this served lovely food without being rushed by the service.

Would highly recommend this for a relaxed high quality informal dinner! Big thumbs up from us : )

Helpful?
2 Thank Lourda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    384
    97
    52
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Totton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Harbour view meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great food, superb service and friendless staff. Views over Sliema bay, very relaxing place to eat, and great food as well. The mussels were to die for, and the veal a delight. Definitely worth a visit, but make a reservation as it gets extremely busy in the evenings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had lunch here. The location is very nice, beside the sea, which makes for a lovely view. The staff are friendly and helpful and prices are reasonable. Tomato soup was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dubliner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor sign of excellence well deserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We didn't plan to go to that particular restaurant, but as we were walking by, we saw the Tripadvisor sign of excellence for 2013 and thought it was safe to try. It is an excellent restaurant at a very good location. We had the pork medallions and rib eye steak the first time and a vegetarian lasagna and rabbit stew, a local specialty, the second time, and all these meals were of very high quality. My husband says the pork fillet was the best meal he had in Malta. Desserts were very good but not spectacular. I liked that the portions were small so we could try several. The background music was very pleasant, and service was great. The prices were reasonable. You should probably book in advance in high season.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NevenaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We showed up at Fresco's without a reservation on a Friday evening, and despite being very busy, the staff were extremely accommodating and friendly and gave us a table overlooking the water.

The food was delicious and good value for money. Being on a gluten-free diet, it is difficult to find places which do good pastas and I was very pleasantly surprised at how well prepared the calamari pasta was. The head waiter Charles approached me at the end of the meal to make sure that the pasta was good and reassured me that they took the dietary requirements very seriously (rare in restaurants!) - will be back soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aveens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Fresco's Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing