We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to sort out air conditioning”
Review of Basilico Restaurant - CLOSED

Basilico Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Need to sort out air conditioning”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Food and service fab but the air conditioning was non existent and it was very hot. The wine selection was excellent and the decor of the restaurant was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    56
    26
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“First taste of Malta”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our first taste of Maltese hospitality was at Basilico and it set the bar for everywhere else. We had a leisurely lunch here whilst waiting to check in and it was lovely. Friends had savoury crepes, I had a hummus and feta salad which was delicious. Would definitely pay another visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaisyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muir of Ord, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good selection of meals”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Basilico restaurant is located on the first floor of the Waterfront Hotel on Sliema sea front. It is open at lunch time and in the evenings. There is a good selection of meals at good prices. Pizzas, burgers, steaks and much much more. However, I would recommend that you book a table as it is very popular with the Maltese, particularly at weekends. The staff are always very friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel restaurant - good views”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited this hotel restaurant on two occasions during our visit to Sliema. Staff really polite but on one occasion were so over-worked that we had to wait for a very long time between each of the courses of the set menu that we had on that occasion (set menu was very good value for money and of quite a good quality). Restaurant has great views across to Valletta and, although above a sometimes very noisy road, was pleasantly quiet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken481
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Overall”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Went to eat for easter lunch. Very good food, nice atmosphere yet some plates were served late. Yet obviously being easter they were very busy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilico Restaurant also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Il Gzira, Island of Malta
 
Il Gzira, Island of Malta
Il Gzira, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing