We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Ravioli, Great service and no waiting time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Rive, Cafe and Wine Bar

La Rive, Cafe and Wine Bar
Ranked #73 of 185 Restaurants in Sliema
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Italian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Ravioli, Great service and no waiting time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I've spent most of my teens years drinking and eating at la rive. Haven't been to la rive over a year now due to being very busy. So we decided la rive for a quick lunch. Loved my ravioli, professionally greeted and served. Asked for the bill and in seconds we had it . Wow keep up the great food and service.

Helpful?
Thank Jus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    77
    34
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

not a large menu but enough to keep you interested, good maltese cooking and good staff. Drinks prices not o t t

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnbaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food. excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

the ambience especially outdoors is lovely. the food is good and value for money also good. not pricey.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GodwinCachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Incredibly Average, No WOW Factor in the food at all ( Avoid )”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

After walking 10 mins from our Hotel, we were expecting an Interesting meal, After reading "Misleading " reviews on TripAdvisor ! From Diners who do not know "Good Food"
The Menu reads really well and sounds promising,
It started to go wrong immediately, when my Wife ordered the Fresh orange Juice,,,, And only offered the Carton variety
The complimentary bread, was so so, Olives, tiny, and to be honest, would have been better not to have been offered them.
We ordered our starters, Both of which are normally good, to Great,,,,, Else where !
Duck in spring roll with salad, and Hoisin sauce.... Hmmmm. Greasy, Bland duck filling, So bland it was totally overpowered by the Hoisin dip, Plus the salad,,,, What a waste of Veg !
My "So Called" Calamari rings in batter, By far the Worst in Malta yet !!
Out of a packet, Bland batter, with a cheap and nasty, bland mayo dip,, Again worst so far in Malta, With the waste of veg salad.
Now as experience tells us, the starters are usually the best bit, so this did not bode well.
My wife "Loves" her Risotto, So ordered the Risotto, with prawns and porcine ,,,,, Looked like something the cat threw up, bland, and too salty,,,, The first Risotto i have seen her leave.
I ordered the Pulled Pork in a roll and Chips
This could have been an "OK" meal, IF it had a good Bun, instead of a 3 cent one,, Soggy, Plus better frozen chips, and not over cooked,, Oh,,, and a Proper salad,,, Again.
Whilst the total was 40 euros, o not expensive, The sad fact is that
THE ONLY WOW, WAS THE MOSAICS, HUNG ON THE WALL FOR SALE!! Very artistic

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank levace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Right in front of the sea with the view of Valletta from Sliema.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We had Cesar salad and fried calamari. Good values and amount of the food. Cesar salad is just perfect with chicken breast well cooked and delicious crispy bacon. Calamari were crispy and soft at the same time and i liked the dipping sauce made up with mayo and wasabi. Service was professional by the owner who followed up with us couple of time even thought we where spending just 20 €. During lunch time is sunny and plesant

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rive, Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Rive, Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing