We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best risotto I have ever tasted!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuccagna

La Cuccagna
Ranked #30 of 174 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sheffield
Level Contributor
173 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Best risotto I have ever tasted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were delighted to find this restaurant just down the road from our hotel (The Victoria). After a lovely warm welcome and tasty starters, my husband worked his way through an enormous pizza whilst I mmmm'd my way through the most delicious dish of creamy chicken risotto, causing a near repeat of the Harry met Sally scene! Only down side - we had no room for desserts and drinks were a tad pricey. Otherwise, thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirecat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    161
    43
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fgura
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant last month. The food was excellent and my gluten free pizza was delicious. Will surely return soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMicallef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it so much I wrote a review.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have been here twice now - and both times (one in March and this time in November) it was a great evening choice for dinner. We ordered a sharing platter which wasn't on the menu, and when it came out we were all pleasantly surprised because of the amount of meats, cheeses, breads etc that were on it. We went to Florence recently and ordered the same starter platter and was always disappointed by how much we got! Mind you, we probably didn't need that much as the main course of medium rare steak was also a good size portion. In fact, the steak was amazing. Made me think of Hawksmoor in London, possibly the best place to get a steak in the UK. Came with little fried sliced potatoes and roasted veg. Didn't need to eat a pudding although they looked delicious. Depends on how much you like to eat I guess.

The La Cuccagna red wine is always a winner too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaGamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“One of the Best Restaurants in Sliema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our visit was last minute but we certainly made the right choice. Three of us had a lovely meat/cheese selection with lettuce and bread for a starter. Then a veal cutlet, venison and beef as a main for each of us. Nice Merlot house wine. Before we departed we were offered a limoncello on the house and this was unexpected but highly appreciated and enjoyed. Excellent service on the night and friendly staff. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Gluten free Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We tried this restaurant because of the good reviews about gluten free food
My husband has to follow a strict gluten free diet as he is coeliac and will be very ill if eating just a tiny grain of gluten. It is always a risk eating out so we took a chance and ate here. We really enjoyed the food both having pizzas they were both home made which is quite unusual for gluten free as they normally use prepacked bases. my husband wasnt ill which is even better. We didnt book a table just walked in,the service was very good helpful with gluten free choices and the atmosphere was great.We found the prices to be average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuccagna also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Cuccagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing