We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed July 20, 2014

i stayed from 13th july until 20th july-I really enjoyed my stay, as soon as i arrived i got a welcome drink at the bar, very nice and friendly staff. my room was perfect very tidy and clean all week. i didnt have seaview but it dint really matter cause i was out all day anyways.
all the people who work at this hotel are very service minded and very friendly, they really go to their lenght to help you. as soon as you ask for something they just help you out. everything was nice and a/c worked perfectly as long as you have it on low, than you won´t even hear it. the internet cafe was free to use and it´s upstairs at the pub. they also have free wifi in the room.the breakfast was a variety of foods and it´s impossible to complain about it cause there´s lots of food to choose from and even fruits and cakes. really worth the price and i will book at this hotel again next time i go to malta.

Room Tip: i stayed on first floor on the side. heard no noise and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank iza201472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location nice & neat but oh the staff are the most unfriendly people & that is starting with the front desk down to the waiting staff & even the cleaning staff.They just don,t acknowledge people,even when asked a question their attitude is so abrupt They really need to be trained in customer service they have none at all .It is such a shame

Room Tip: Always ask for beach front with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 77Samuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The only a few small things I consider as a minus are:
- Wifi signal is a little bit low and you have to "search" for it in the room.
- A/C units are old and noisy, but they do their job quite well.
- There's no sad beach nearby (although I wouldn't complain about this because this is normal in Malta).

There's a nearby supermaker and Sliema is a very wonderful city full of life an tradition.
I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stoicavictormarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

While there the Hotel was having a complete upgrade, Our room and bathroom was very clean and bright, with balcony. We had a lovely stay, staff were friendly and helpful. pool was out of action when we stayed "Shame" but looked very welcoming. We had the chance to visit one of the front rooms It was lovely and had a wonderful view out to sea worth the upgrade on our next visit. The Owner and managment staff along with all the other staff went out of there way to make sure the upgrade did not interfear with our stay. The diplomat is situated in a perfect spot for travelling around malta. we met some lovely people and would recommend this hotel to every one

Room Tip: Try and get a front room with sea views. We had a side room with balcony which as I said above was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank civilprotection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Average experience. It does the job for the money. Breakfast is OK but not that rich. However the guys in the reception are helpful. You can request a late checkout for about 30 euro. The pool on the roof top is not great as you hear the noise from the elevators.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank deadmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The diplomat is in desperate need of an update. The decor the building is like walking into a hotel of the 70s/80s
Great view if you have a room at the front of the hotel. Bad bad breakfast- lack of flavour and some things like the juice just tasted totally wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

had a lovely stay, staff were friendly and helpful. pool was a welcome sight at the end of the day. our room was lovely and had a wonderful view out to sea. the lady in the restaurant with ponytail and glasses looked after us well. the diplomat is situated in a perfect spot for travelling around malta. we met some lovely people and would recommend this hotel to every one.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view. worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $46 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing