We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay. Great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay. Great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was my first visit to Malta and the Diplomat Hotel was a perfect base for exploring, situated just by the sea front and with good access to local public transport to other parts of the island.

I did not use the restaurant for evening meals. However, the breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful especially when I had a minor medical emergency directing me to the nearest medical services and ensuring that I was comfortable upon my return.

My room was of a good size and always kept clean and tidy. Great value for money. I would definitely return when I next go back to Malta.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    321
    265
    110
    54
See reviews for
108
442
106
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed April 2013,staff all,are very pleasant,cheerful friendly and helpful.Bedrooms are clean with comfortable beds but rather small,rooms with sea view look out to sea over Tower Road the main street and the wide walkway.Shops and restaurants short walk away.Shame that there is no "lounge"area in the hotel just a small bar sitting area.The rooftop pool is clean with free loungers.Food was good,plentiful with extensive breakfast buffet to suit all tastes.Dinner menu is limited but quite good. Do not hire a car as the wardens are ruthless and appear to target hire cars,distinctive number plates with unpaid fines collected on departure at the airport or you can't leave! Overall good hotel would return>

Room Tip: Upper floor, full sea view,non smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbour63643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is my 1st visit to Malta, lovely Island to visit and it was 29 degrees in October, just great for me & my mum.
The hotel was nice and had lots of great friendly staff, lovely food (Ian the chef - the food was sssssoooo lovely),room was really clean & cleaned everyday. I loved the café/bar where you could sit inside with air con or on the outside terrace watching the world go by with a coffee or two. All in all a great holiday & would visit the Diplomat again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollydolly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just went back from a vacation at this hotel. If there are stars rating front of the hotel so he deserves maximum 2 stars.
I do not know where to begin, so says the only thing he explained the breakfast.
I was amazed towels given to guests. Severe towels from use and cleaning visitor can not dry off them and even the hotel's swimming pool not suitable.
rusty.
Small balcony and strongly noisy air conditioner.
Shampoo distributed only on the first day of the four days we spent in the hotel. Around the hotel has only one restaurant. The nearest beach is a rocky beach that you can not lie about it. In order to use folding travel for tourists as HOP ON HOP OFF twenty minutes to go to the origin of the bus. Safe room which can be used daily cost of a key and a lock. Internet network is in all rooms. Small swimming pool on the roof with a little tan beds.
Absolutely would not recommend this hotel both for its location and because of the services it provides. We were very happy to return to our home and use normal towels and shampoo hair without skimping.
I would not recommend anyone to authors and readers forums Pro published my country to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 99LEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hampshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not sure what is going on at this hotel, we arrived about midday to be told due to maintenance work they did not have a room for us for our first night, they wanted to taxi us to one of the more holiday areas. We had a harbour cruise arranged from Sliema that afternoon and plans to go to Valletta the next morning. We made it clear we were not happy with this, we had picked a hotel in Sliema to fit in with our plans. Some minutes later they came back and said they could transfer us to a hotel just around the corner for one night, and would upgrade us for the week from b&b to half board. Later on in the week speaking to other guests, we came accross another 3 couples who had experienced just the same problem! The Hotel they moved us to, The Windsor was not great. Although the room was clean, it was very small at the back of the hotel and the main problem was the air conditioning did not work!. The staff were actually very friendly and did bring a fan to our room. Once we got to the Diplomat the next day, everything was much better. We had a side sea view room on floor 5 (512). It was spacious and the air conditioning although a little loud, did work very well. The breakfasts were ok, plenty of yogurt and fruit, both fresh and tinned. The cooked breakfasts although very good, eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, they never were hot enough. Which is strange as the dinners we tried there were always piping hot and the plates at night were heated. As at breakfast the plates were cold and they did not keep the hot food covered, by the time you had taken your food and got back to your seat, if you were lucky it was still luke warm. I was surprized how good the food was for dinner, lovely fish options every night. This hotel was great for what we wanted, being able to get to Valletta with ease, it did seem to be more suited to older guests, there was a separate Saga lounge. All the staff we came accross were very friendly and helpfull. The pool on the roof was ok, it could do with a good scrubb around the sides, internet connection was poor on floor 5, but good in reception, overall we were happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: We found the side sea view room on a high floor very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We checked in but were told that there was no room for us (despite having been booked and confirmed by travel agent). We, and other couples, were sent around to the Windsor Hotel, which was dirty and far below the 4 star we had been expecting. The shower door was broken and our light failed on the first night. A room was found for us at the Diplomat on the third day and we had no complaints about the service there. However, we were annoyed that the hotel did not honour our booking and would have no confidence booking there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have been visiting Malta for 13 years and this is one of the best stays I have had. From start to finish the staff were polite, helpful and generally interested in you as a guest. Although the hotel is rated as a four star, like all hotels in Malta, this equates to a British three star. I would say that this hotel was three star plus. The rooms were very spacious and spotlessly clean. They were kept to a high standard of cleanliness throughout my 2 week stay. The breakfast was vast and varied and although the cooked breakfast could have been a little hotter, there was something for everyone. The room was fully air conditioned and remained on all day. The wifi worked perfectly. I will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Property: Diplomat Hotel Malta
Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing