We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location for a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Of course. You can discuss if this is 4 stars. Because it's not. Would rate it a good 3 star hotel. Rooms very simple decorated, but big enough. Breakfast is what you might expect. Pool bar has good food and is cheap. Nice pool on top floor with great view overlooking the bay. Would recommend this to any budget traveller.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BertS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was initially aprehensive having read previous reviews. Okay - firstly be clear what your expectations concerning a 4 star hotel are. The Diplomat is locally rated as 4 star - not the same as UK rating - if you expect that then you need to stay in a 5 star locally rated hotel. Obviously you will pay much more. .
We stayed for 10 days in a seaview room on B& B, so I cannot comment on other rooms. Ours was clean and the view good - noise level on the 4th floor ok. Maid service excellent and the Hotel staff, particularly reception and pool area were polite and always friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was very good with multiple choices - nice dining room, helpful staff. Dinner in the evening can be purchased as required. I think B& B was a good choice giving us the option to eat in or out as we chose.
Swimming pool on the roof - not massive but ok. Nice area to sit and have lunch, was always peaceful and plenty of sunbeds. The Bar on the roof and the service for lunch excellent.

The location is perfect for getting to Valetta or Sliema. Regular Bus service outside hotel. For us this Hotel satisfied our needs in terms of service and price. Would I stay there again ? Yes.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DavidH616264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I wasn't sure whether to go for the Diplomat or not as the reviews on here and fairly split - As is this one. I was on the 7th Floor with a partial sea view (I wasn't bothered with a sea view) I had a double room (which was huge) with an ensuite which had 2 sinks and a bath which does look like it needs to be replaced as a bit grotty. The A/C was fine but quite loud. The shower was okay, took a while to rinse my thick hair properly and the hot water went every time after a few mins which was really annoying as it was at all different times of the day/night. The bathroom light was on its way out so it was like a disco, I reported this and nothing was done but it was late 2 days before I left. The roof top pool was a lovely treat and the bar is cheap. Everyone was polite and helpful, wifi didn't work for me in my room but there are computers to use to check emails etc, bus stops are really close so easy to get into Valletta and you can walk to St Julians. I thought 9 Euros for breakfast was a bit much BUT I only had it once and it was just water and toast but there was lots to choose from, I just didn't eat 9 euros worth. I was woken up every morning by the housekeeping, right outside my door was a cupboard that had their cleaning supplies and towels and toilet roll and they would be in and out all the time, this was really annoying, not because it was early (I was up and out anyway) just because it was every morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ACouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of May 2013 before going up to Golden Bay. We had a very clean room, the whole hotel was clean and in good condition. It is in a great location for an evening stroll for a drink or meal.
The hotel food we found to be very nice and reasonably priced. The entertainment was really good. The first night we had Marisa D'mato, Malta's Queen of Country Music, singing fabulous songs over dinner.
We hadnt paid a fortune to stay here, and were pleasantly surprised to say the least. If you were on B&B, you could upgrade to Evening meal for just 12 euros a person, which was about 5 course!
Our room was partial sea view but mainly into a side street. The main hotel fronts the sea front/Tower road.
Definately worth staying at this hotel, and I am quite sure we will return.

Room Tip: If you are just a couple, get a full sea view. If you are needing more beds it has to be a side/part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

During my last stay in Malta, I stayed at the Diplomat Hotel, Sliema. I prefer staying at Sliema due to its prime location. The Diplomat is by the sea, centrally located, but the area is not too noisy or busy.I found the hotel clean, the service reliable. The best word to describe it: convenient. I am fully satisfied with the service, reception people are great, the food is good and the chef Ian is quick to serve you, friendly, and approachable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank astrid w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked a room for three at the 7th floor towards the sea. Wonderful sea view and all the buses stopped just outside the Hotel. The hotel service was good and gentle. A tasty breakfast was served and was included in the price for the hotel. The hotel is situated in the centre of both Sliema and St Julians and a few minutes trip with bus from the bus station of Valetta.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liselotte00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I really liked this hotel, except that it is not a good place to stay during a heat wave. The airconditioning is so weak that you'll need to leave the window open. The only problem with this is that if you want a lovely sea view, you'll also be facing a busy road which runs between the sea and the hotel. Bring your ear plugs. Another problem is with the roof deck lounge where there is often simply not enough beds for all the sunbathers. Unfortunately, the hotel allows guests to leave their belongings on beds even when they are not there, thus further restricting the number of beds available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,554 reviews
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $46 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing