We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for a short stay in Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located between Sliema ferry port (for harbour and island tours) and St. Julian’s Bay (for a good selection of restaurants). It is an easy walk to both and the local buses run outside the hotel. It is on the promenade and has a view over the sea and the bay, but not Valletta. We paid slightly extra for a room at the front but the majority of the rooms are on the side with a more restricted view.

The staff were always helpful. Our bedroom had daily maid service and the room was clean and comfortable. There was a fridge and good free WiFi reception in the room.

The downside is that the hotel is in some need of refurbishment throughout and the public areas were certainly not 4 star. The roof terrace and pool were in a very poor state, but then there is sea bathing available across from the hotel. There is a “Diplomat Private Beach” with sun beds but this is next to a public beach bar area and, as there is no access control, the beds were regularly taken by young people (and why not, as I would have done the same at that age).

The restaurant is in the hotel basement which was OK for a quick buffet breakfast but not so good for dinner when there are other restaurants nearby offering fine views over the bay. We never ate dinner there so cannot comment on the food or service.

In summary, you always get what you pay for. We had an enjoyable week but my advice is not to trust the hotel star ratings in Malta.

Room Tip: A front sea view room also has some traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlanUK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

We booked this thro a travel agent, not directly like we usually do. I did explain what the occasion was & asked for her to inform the hotel prior to our arrival.
We arrived the day before our anniversary on the 26th February. It was pouring down with rain, we were booked into our sea facing room, 703, only to find as we opened the door, the whole floor area was flooded, the rain had come thru the patio sized door, why we were left to find this out on our own I don't know, as it can't have been the first time this had occurred! We were moved to a side facing room, 711, which I did think was the beginning of a disastrous stay.....but as promised, (after our holiday rep also mentioned our dilemma to the front desk) we were moved to another sea facing room, 302, complete with bottle of wine & basket of fruit. So all started to come together, we had a lovely time, 7 nights.
The staff were very helpful, the room was acceptable standard hotel room, a little in need of TLC, shower was very good (after the water ran thro clear) the restaurant was busy at all the times we were there, food choice was very good, from hot cooked foods to cold cuts, cheeses & breads, & once again staff were very helpful, one lady member in particular, who was seemingly sorting all problems out!
We had a very good stay & would definitely like to return at some time,

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maureenmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Best place and super nice personal/Crew!
The food was realy good.

The receptionist was always helpfull.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skorpan2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

More like a 2 star. The dining room was like a school canteen. Maybe O.K. for breakfast, but certainly not for evening meals. Bedrooms were too small and the bathroom was very shabby and needed a radical update I certainly would not recommend this hotel,or Malta itself.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank mickymouseUsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

A very, very tired looking hotel needing total refurbishment which I told the manager.
Leak from the ceiling which was sorted. The bath is yellow looking and the shower curtain useless so a lake on the floor.
Bed not comfortable, spare pillows smelt of sigarette. Everything was old and tired looking, would not recommend. Noisy on the seafront.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vikingo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This hotel has very nice name and 4 stars.But it is just joke .We lived on 7 floor and had problem with hot water.Cleaning is very poor and bath is yellow .Bed is not comfortable .Breakfast is very poor .Rooms need decorations.Dont recomend somebody.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank astral1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The room on the 7th floor was rather small, the decor tired and the bedding had a grubby feel to it. Although a couple we were given a twin room, apparently this is the default, you must specifically request a double bed if that's what you wish for. The fist night was very bad, my single bed was as unconfortable a bed as I can ever recall attempting to sleep on and it smelled of cigar smoke. A double bed replacement was requested and provided for the remainder of our stay.

On getting up on ther first morning after a terrible night we found there was NO hot water in either the basin or the shower. The cold water was a mere dribble. This was reported to the desk who promised to get the maintenance man who started work later on a Sunday.

I mentioned this to others in our party who reported a similar water problem in their rooms. The hot water shortage was repeated two days later, this time in the early evening after a full day of tourist activities, very very frustrating. My wife had just lathered up in the shower when the water failed, she was not pleased. I suspect this is a recurring problem as other TripAdvisor cooments have mentioned it. Why don't they fix it?

The TV looked so old we didn't attempt to bring it to life.

Breakfast was awful, the self service system in place was muddled and confusing and the food quality was poor, check the baked beans, were they cooked in water???

Sorry Diplomat Hotel, never again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmperorJustinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 28 in Sliema
2,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel Malta

Address: 173, Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta 1609, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $48 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Hotel Malta 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is situated on Tower Road prestigious seaside promenade in the heart of Sliema, well known for its extensive range of activities. The main bus route to Valletta, the capital city, Paceville/St.Julian's etc runs outside the hotel.In front of The Diplomat Hotel, just below the promenade, a pleasant rocky beach is ideal for sun bathing, swimming and practising water sports. A sandy beach is within walking distance.Theme bars and restaurants, shopping malls, designers boutiques and the Dragonara Casino are available nearby. The rooms have FREE Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and a tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms full or lateral sea views. Room Service is available from 0630 till 0130The Hotel has recently undertaken refurbishment of the majority of the hotel rooms and bathrooms, lifts and reception/lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Malta Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing