We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“astra hotel”
Review of Astra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astra Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel room was clean with ensuite shower room, wifi and the hotel has asun terrace, we were also allowed to use the facilities next door in preluna. The loction was very good easy to get to from the airport and verr close to beach, bars , restauranats etcI would have no problems recommeneded the hotel except that when I asked to booke another night they put the price up it had been 12euros online and they charged 17 euros per person for another night. They have a per person per night charge
When I came back and wanted to stay by myself for 1 night in a twin room they also tried to charge me for two people until I asked to speak to manager. They did apaologies after and were otherwise friendly and helpful but I would double check prices!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jude_trips_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Astra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please take our apologies for the inconvenience about the prices; our rooms are available for single use.

We are glad you were satisfied with the great location of the Astra Hotel.

We hope you have enjoyed your time in Malta.
Looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 233 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my time in Malta and will go back again definitely. Astra hotel is not so bad! It's ok.! location is great and the front desk were nice to me specially CLAUDIA such a sweet girl and pretty too. Daniel was also very nice to me. I had no problem with him. Just remember, English is not their first language! Like I said location wise the hotel is great, big space, not the cleanest but it's ok. For what you get the price should be lower. The only things I really did not like : First, they don't provide you any amenities like soap, shampoo and conditioner luckily I brought a soap with me, but I had to wait for the next day to buy a shampoo and conditioner in a supermarket. THEY SHOULD SAY THAT IN THE ADVERTISEMENT: BRING YOUR OWN SOAP, SHAMPOO AND CONDITIONER. Then, the breakfast is so blaaah! I don't eat carbs if I can help it and they have a lot of bread. I wish they have scrambled eggs. Overall the hotel is OK.
NOTE: Malta's bus system is great but A LOT OF THE DRIVERS ARE JERKS!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taradelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preluna S, Guest Relations Manager at Astra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your remarks are truly appreciated. Both in regards of the room and location, also for highlighting those two great person who are a great asset for the Astra Hotel.

We hope you have enjoyed your time in Malta.
Looking forward to welcome you again!


Kind regards,
Daniel Diosi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really liked this place at the start. The location is excellent, its quiet, the price is very good and the rooms were clean.

However, we started to notice things as we stayed that rubbed us the wrong way. One staff member in particular, Daniel was his name, was very antagonistic. In the middle of our stay he stopped us and insisted we pay for the room. According to their own guest book, you are supposed to pay the night before you leave. But he insisted and basically told me "your mistaken". So we went ahead and paid.

Additionally, I asked for some laundry to be done. Unfortunately they don't do laundry over the weekend so I had to put in for an "express" laundry on Monday. The bill came back from the laundry as 50 euro. It was for about 12 items, mostly underwear, so that seemed high, but I just accepted it was part of travel inconvenience. However, when I went to pay, Daniel said, oh no, its actual 76 euro!! That was nearly half the cost of our entire stay. When I pressed him and complained, as I clearly had a bill for 50 euro in my hand - he took almost an hour to investigate the issue and finally came back and said that 50 euro was a "mistake" and the price was 76 euro.

Finally, when I asked to keep the original receipt of 50 euro, (I wanted to review the issue later, since this all seemed extremely shady) he would not give me the receipt!! He outright refused, because it was the "wrong receipt". It was kind of incredible. So needless to say, I can't endorse them. Such a shame.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ganeagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel was a little bit ascetic but not bad at all. All rooms were clean and the cleaning lady was really nice and quick in her job. The location of the hotel was so perfect. It was easy to go everywhere by bus. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't have sea view or balcony but we didn't have either noice comming to our room from downstairs pub. The breakfast was good too. We didn't have english breakfast but we didn't want it either. The english breakfast was served in downstairs pub in the mornings. The hotel transfer from Luqa airport to hotel cost 28€ by minivan/one direction. It was really good and easy way to travel with baggage. We enjoyed of our week in Astra hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our room would be best thought of as a private room in a hostal with a wonderful view. The pricing structure enables you to get a cheap room. We had a balcony with an awesome view of the ocean. We booked for no breakfast nor dinner. You can decide on any morning whether or not you want to pay 5 euros per person for breakfast. The breakfast is of low quality especially the machine coffee, but since you can look at it before paying... no complaints. This is an advantage if you have to check out early or are leaving early for a tour. They also have a dinner at the associated hotel next door which is also optional.

There is no refrigerator in the room. The restaurant (Trattoria Cardini) has excellent take-out pizza. There is a supermarket two blocks away.

The beds were not comfortable, like in some hostels. There was no air conditioning but because of the overhead fan, the floor fan and the balcony on the 4th floor, the air conditioning was not necessary. The shower stall is rather small. The TV has news channels in many different languages and the WiFi works well. The location in Sliema is excellent. The people working there were polite and helpful. They had no problem with taking a towel to the beach. Overall, for Malta this was a good value.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor with the seaview. Don't pay in advance for breakfast or dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhoeverYouAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It was our first visit to Malta. Our goal was to see more and more to travel Malta. So we are not chasing the best hotel service and «stars» but a base, inexpensive hotel with a good location. As a result, not a mistake. The hotel is located very conveniently on the Sliema waterfront from the open sea. Some rooms have sea views. Nearby is the bus stop, where you can go in different directions, including to Valletta. Two steps are supermarkets and shopping mall for those who like good shopping. 5 minutes on foot is Sliema Ferry, which offer a best view of Valletta and excellent transport service. It was a very polite and friendly staff. Our room was cleaned daily, they are equipped with two fans, so we were cool. For 2 weeks of our holidays we did not meet any foreign guests, such as insects. We are very enjoy our staying in this hotel so will advise it to all our friends in Russia. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rostislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

the only good bit were the staff,very polite and helpfull.
the hotel was very basic,although two fans were provided sleeping was a farce,the sliding door to the bathroom WILL wake you and your neighbours.the breakfast was very poor,if you ordered a evening meal you were req to go to nearby hotel a fact not disclosed before hand.arriving after midnight also a problem as you need to go to another hotel to get keys,now finding your hotel was difficult as hotel sighn was above the pub+access was around the corner.THE PUB below the hotel had a rock band playing untill 6.00am one night,two other nights kareokee was on that went on late as cheap beer was on offer the floor of the room looked as if it had not been mopped for agees

Room Tip: d'ont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiwds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#24 of 28 in Sliema
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 28 in Sliema
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#9 of 28 in Sliema
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel

Address: 127 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: $38 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing