We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October in Malta”
Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fortina
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“October in Malta”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Ups and downs with this hotel. Spacious superior room with lots of storage, air con and fridge. Miniscule balcony (some are bigger). 2 chairs and small table but if you unstacked them you couldn't open the door. The room was quite gloomy as the single glazed door to the balcony didn't let in much light. Some rooms had double doors but unless you know which room to request it's bit of a lottery. The bathroom was tiny and claustrophobic although water was hot and good shower pressure. There were tea/coffee making facilities but supplies were not always replenished. The room was clean and towels were replaced each day even though we did put them on the rails. My biggest complaint was the disgusting state of the toilet brush which obviously wasn't checked.
We were on a half board basis and you could have lunch or dinner. The main restaurant was pleasant and you could choose from other restaurants on site but had to book 48 hours in advance. As we were in the 4 star hotel, the other restaurants were on a table d'hote basis but you could have a la carte at a supplement. We stuck to the buffet restaurant as we were very happy with the food on offer. For dinner there were several meat choices, fish and 2 vegetarian options. As a vegetarian, I was extremely pleased with the options. Starters were fairly limited and a reasonable choice of desserts. Wine was reasonably priced There could be a wait to order wine when the restaurant was busy. Breakfast was very good,
The pools were lovely although we were there for sightseeing and didn't use the pool areas. There were also lovely gardens overlooked by rooms at the rear of the hotel.
You will be offered a free harbour cruise to listen to a sales pitch for the Spa Resort which is part of a holiday club. But if you take a Malta Sightseeing open top bus tour you will get a free harbour cruise anyway. The bus tours are very good as long as the commentary is working on your bus. These are hop on/hop off so a good way to see the island. Local buses are a short walk away but can be very busy to Valletta. We preferred the ferry which is much quicker. If the walk up the hill on the other side is too steep, there are mini buses for 1 euro.
This was our first visit to Malta and it is a fascinating island. We would definitely go again. On touring the island, we visited the various bays with lots of tourist hotels and typical tourist shops. However, we preferred Sliema as a base. You could not beat the views, good transport and plenty of shops, restaurants and bars. There is also a smart new shopping mall at Tigne Point.
I don't think I would return to the Fortina 4* but would perhaps try the Fortina Spa Hotel. We found all the staff helpful and pleasant as were all the people we met in Malta. I'm sure we will return.

Room Tip: A sea view room with a view across to Valletta. Higher floors have less traffic noise. Some rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevejdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Stevejdp,

Thank you for your review. Please be assured that your comments have been passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

We hope to welcome you to our sister hotel the Fortina Spa Resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    621
    454
    167
    106
See reviews for
289
927
84
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A good hotel that just needs a bit more upgrading in some areas, public areas very good, but bedrooms very mixed, first room we were given was on first floor to the front needed upgrading and far too near the main road and traffic so moved to 3rd floor on second night, small room, small shower room and small balcony but all adequate and it wasn't a problem for us, other family members moved to 6th floor and although no balcony their room was huge and newly upgraded, with both bath and shower. We found the staff all friendly and helpful and the food in the dining room was a good varied selection and on the whole good quality. Hotel in good location with wonderful views, entertainment leaves a lot to be desired but bar wasn't generally busy anyway, although one real gripe we had was several large T.V. screens with football on or music that left a lot to be desired especially taking into account the age group in the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on first floor, everyone seems to be put into one of these rooms on their firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annnie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Annnie04,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Fortina on this website. Your comments have been noted and passed onto all those concerned.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Fortina in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and that was what made it a good choice, but it did have it's problems,mainly the bathroom.There's small and small but this was not fit for purpose, as previously said if you are on the large size you stand no chance.Our room was small but nice enough with plenty of wardroom space a free safe and fridge which is a plus,air condition worked fine,so apart from that bathroom we could live with the small bedroom.the balcony was of a fair size and looked out over the bay to that wonderful view of valletta,sun from 10am to 7pm we really did enjoy that balcony just watching the boats coming in and out, it is overlooking the road but even that with open top buses and the taxi rank outside people coming and going with the sun on you and a gin & tonic in you hand I can live with that.
It appears in general if you want piece and quite and larger rooms go for the back of the hotel with a garden view.The main restaurant on H/B was fine did have some minor issues nothing major and the food was up to an acceptable standard plus you did have the choice of other restaurants outside around the garden area which was a very pleasant alternative .
The location is spot on taxi rank outside,bus stop 3min and boat ferry across to valletta 5min walk away,to the left of the hotel is the new shopping center with a large supermarket again 3min,and if you like walking you've got great flat promenade's either side of the hotel with plenty of seat's.
So if you can live with that small bathroom I would say it's a good choice of hotel because of the location, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want to be on the quieter side ask for the garden view,the front will give you a sea view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear cooky56,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the lovely views of Valletta too!

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Fortina in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Malta and we knew beforehand that the garden view rooms were larger than the sea-view ones. Luckily we opted for the garden view which over-looked the island bar (room 419). This room is enormous with 2 double beds with a chest of drawers between, a large wardrobe, writing desk and small table and 2 chairs and a unit with a very modern television (see photo attached) In addition, the balcony had a plastic table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was very spacious with a shower over the bath. In all, the room was extremely well appointed with modern furniture and laminated flooring. During our stay, we were able to view rooms on the other side of the corridor (sea-view) and were appalled at how small they were. In fact I would not have been surprised if our bathroom had a larger floor area than the bedroom in the sea-view room. Also, these rooms over-look a very busy road and Maltese drivers are very fond of using their car horn! There have been comments previously regarding the surly reception staff which I can agree with but when I checked out I was dealt with by Edwin (night porter?) who was a delight. There are 7 restaurants in the whole complex and the CanThai and Table 1 were the only ones we used, but beware La Valette. The waitresses can be very surly, but the waiters are generally courteous and sometimes even humorous. However, whilst the self-service breakfast is good, the evening meals in there are poor. Avoid it like the plague! As my title suggest, It's a curate's egg hotel and it does depend on ones priorities. If you must have a sea view at all costs, the price you will pay, not only with the supplement but also all the other negative aspects associated with sea-view rooms is, in my opinion not worth it. Go for the garden view rooms and apart from a small amount of noise occasionally later in the evening from guests dining al fresco , the rooms are quiet. Without being able to see all the rooms in the hotel, I can only report our experiences and that of other guests on our tour (Saga)

Room Tip: Room 419 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nothard2please46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We've been to Malta 6 or 7 times previously, and have stayed in some good and some, lets just say less than good accommodation.
Our last stay in the Fortina was in the 5* end 5 or 6 years ago, but as we weren't there for relaxation (we were just there for scuba diving) we thought we would try the 4* end.
Contacted the hotel prior to arrival to check whether the bar would be open at our late arrival time and whether an airport transfer was available. A curt response just said if the bar wasn't open we could use and pay for mini bar and the airport transfer question was not mentioned. Oh well - we had a contact for an efficient taxi service so not too concerned.. Not encouraging on the drinks front - but we knew that there would be a bar open somewhere near the hotel.
Check in was efficient, and the room (we booked a Superior Sea View Room) was a reasonable size with a small balcony overlooking the harbour. The bathroom was small and badly designed. Anyone of larger than average size would not have been able to even sit on the toilet - it was squeezed in between the bath and door.
There were 2 double beds - both with hard lumpy mattresses and both made a horrendous squeaking noise with any movement.
Hotel facilities were good. Access to the spa and gym, WiFi in the lobby (really really slow), a pool overlooking the harbour with sufficient sunbeds, and a reasonable breakfast spread.
The pool area is good, but suffered from the usual problem of people booking beds with towels really early - before 7:00 - and then not using them until much later. The bar was good with reasonable snacks/sandwiches and good service. EXCEPT on our last visit to the pool the weather had turned a bit cooler with wind expected. We went to the pool and were surprised to find the bar closed. On enquiring it turned out that the indoor bar was being used instead, but when we asked about food all we got was a shrug and were told food was only available from the outside bar. No information on where else we could go.
Overall, the hotel is a mixed bad of good and bad. Good facilities, good location, reasonable food, rooms that could definitely do with updating and a re-design, but overall let down by customer service and indifferent staff.
Don't think we'll go back to the 4* Fortina as we never really felt welcome - there are better, friendlier hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My first time in Malta, and won't be my last. This Hotel is in the middle of everything. Close enough to the Bar's and Cafes but far enough away to not hear them. Everything is close by including the bus service to Valletta. Service in the Hotel was good, as was the price of drinks, . but we never had dinner as it's too good outside. A great base for exploring and shopping..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A really good hotel with value for money dine around choice of restaurants. The food we had in all of them was outstanding and we could choose where we wished to eat each day and even whether we had lunch or dinner for our halfboard status. We were upgraded to a harbour view room with balcony which faced south and so had sun most of the day. Even when quite cold outside it was great on the balcony (in Feb). The hotel is well placed for access to Valletta and to take the bus around the island.

Room Tip: Probably the higher you are the quieter it will be from the road if you are harbour side, with exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#8 of 28 in Sliema
1,375 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,938 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Property: Hotel Fortina
Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing