We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Malta in July”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fortina
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Malta in July”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just returned from Malta, the journey from the airport was a bit hair-raising but we got there safely. On arrival at 8pm we were allocated our room as requested with a sea view, but it was on the second floor over looking the road with sea view, it seemed dark and very noisy, but there were no others available until the next day. The next morning shown a room on the 6th floor overlooking the garden, much better, lovely balcony on a corner so a little breeze at times and not in much direct sun which suited us well. The reception staff particularly Natalie were very good for us, the night reception staff not so co-operative. We used the buffet restuarant that night because we were short on time. I have to say I dislike buffet style dining room and the standard of food was not brilliant considering it was suppossed to be a 4 star, at breakfast each morning there was very little fresh fruit, a fruit salad made with mainly melon and apple very sloppy. We enjoyed the dinaround scheme but beware you need to book at most of them and if you are half board you can only book 2 days in advance as they will only take 25 none paying guest at one evening. The gardens were lovely and lots of shade areas and sun umbrellas, the front patio much hotter plenty of beds and parasols but the pool is salt water which may make a difference to some people.

Room Tip: Rooms over the garden lovely, the higher you go the more likely to get sea views. Rooms 28-32 seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quizni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Quizni,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Fortina. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the dine-around scheme and that your problem with the room was sorted out by our helpful reception staff.
Regarding booking in advance for the restaurant, we do understand that this might be an inconvenience at times but we strive to do our best to accommodate everyone especially in the busy summer months - hence booking in advance is always recommended.

Kind regards
Hotel Fortina Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    599
    431
    153
    100
See reviews for
281
894
80
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Been to Malta many times and had some bad experiences with accommodation, but the Hotel Fortina surprised me.A warm welcome on reception , room not ready but it was an early flight in and departing guests had only just left, a luggage sucure area was available while you wait. The room was as booked, high level with balcony and sea view. Able to sit out in the evening and enjoy the fantastic view.Bedding and towels changed on a regular basis daily the only negative was that the room was not serviced some days until late afternoon 1600h a time when you was just returning to freshen up.The air con worked very efficient and kept the room comfortable.The bathroom shower room although small was perfect with bath and shower I only wanted to keep clean not hold a dance in there.The food in the main restaurant was very good with multiple choices at each meal and an excellent clearing service.Found drinks in the hotel bar a little expensive, but there is a local bar 30 meters away with realalistic prices.The location is excellent for the ferry to Valletta or the bus 12 euro for a bus pass for the week very good value, bus stops are 5 mins walk from front door.The only drawback to the holiday was the trip touts on the Selima waterfront selling trips if I had been given 1 euro for each time I was approached I could have paid for my holiday.Overall a very nice hotel in a good location but when booking make sure you book a room with the specification you require not all rooms have balconys or sea views.yes I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book high room with sea view and balcony to avoid disapointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAILORMAN6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sailorman6,

Thank you for your fantastic and informative review. We are excited to hear that you had a fantastic time at the hotel and we are hoping to have you back with us soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Fortina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from a great two week stay at the Fortina 4 star hotel. This hotel is well situated in Sliema. We had a standard room with a sea view which was great but the room and bathroom were very small, talking to people I believe the back rooms overlooking the gardens are a little larger. We booked half board and were able to eat in 5 of the 7 restaurants the food was very good in all of the restaurants, however service in main restaurant was not quick i.e. clearing of tables and resetting them. I would go back to this hotel. 4 star hotel 5 star facilities

Room Tip: the bathroom was very small so you might get a larger one if you go for higher grade room, we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5859johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have never been to a 5*hotel with such poor customer service, there attitude is quite literally "not my problem" this was said by a bartender to a resident when complaining! From reception with there uninterested attitude to bartenders hardly acknowledging you, receiving dirty cups and glasses. You have to book 3days in advance for the restaurants, consdering your on holiday it's hardly relaxing having to clock watch for your dinner reservation! Having said that, the surroundings are great, the food is restaurant quality, if only they gave you a map to show where they were all located! A few workers like Rita are welcoming! It feels like the fontina thinks it has reached the top of there game and stop trying. Having spoken to residents that have been going for years along with the "time share" owners, the general consensus is the place is going down hill fast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Karen J.,

Thank you for your review and feedback. First of all we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the great food at the restaurants and that you were well served by excellent staff like Rita. On the other hand we are saddened to hear that you have encountered a few problems. We have taken note of your feedback accordingly.

Kind regards
Hotel Fortina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is in a good location with the "sea view" rooms offering wonderful views over the bay to Valletta (rooms to the rear have views of the pool and garden area). Our 5th floor room, although not overly spacious, had a balcony, allowing us to sit out in the sun and enjoy the views with a glass or two of the local wine. There is a good selection of restaurants within the complex (Chinese, Japanese, Italian and Indian) ). The breakfast buffet was good with a choice of cooked or continental. Despite the hotel being almost full there always seemed to be sun-loungers available at the seafront pool or the garden area.
As many other reviewers mentioned watch out for the time share touts (within the hotel) the bait is offering to get cheaper holidays in future by booking directly with the hotel, the reality is timeshare sales people wasting precious hours of your holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenno5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I just cant believe how negative some reviewers have on this hotel top marks for everything food, room reception staff cleaners lovely location the view from a seaview stunning, one of the best hotels I have been to, a very big thanks to everybody

Room Tip: any seaview room has stunning scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taylor1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Taylor1414,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so happy to hear you had a great time and that your experience at the hotel was a truly positive one. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Fortina.

Kind regards
Hotel Fortina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

we stayed in this hotel whilst on business for two weeks. It is impossible to merge a four star and five star hotel. Service was poor except in can Thai restaurant. Hygiene ind noise were totally unacceptable. This hotel is in dire need of a complete overhaul -duty manager in garden area was unable to manage volume of traffic effectively. We could never return-the Corinthian in st julians light years ahead. Beware aldo and Mary timeshare vultures

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbuzz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortinaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Travelbuzz3,

We are saddened to hear about your negative impression and experience during your stay with us. I have duly forwarded your remarks to the relevant management staff. Should you wish, we would be glad if you would get in touch with us through the website's contact us page and give us more feedback and information about your stay.

Kind regards
Hotel Fortina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#7 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Property: Hotel Fortina
Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing