We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel -needs a little more attention for the 4 star rating”
Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fortina
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I enjoyed a lovely week at this hotel recently but found that there could be improvements to make the stay a more memorable one. I found some of the staff indifferent- but the chambermaid that serviced my room was superb and really looked after me well. The hotel was clean, and in a fabulous position on the front with superb views over to Valletta. There were continual problems of toilets not working and difficulty using the key card system and broken hairdryers. Breakfast was OK - I would have liked fresh juice rather than squash and a better selection of breads and rolls, but there was plenty of hot breakfast choices. Evening meals were either in the dinning room where there was plenty of choice and the meals were lovely, of you could eat in alternative restaurants within the complex. Momos was absolutely awful - food was cool and very small portions which were not well presented. The Continental Italian restaurant was great!
The indoor swimming pool was shabby and the lifts in one part of the building were rickety and I did not feel safe in these. There was one lift being replaced.
Bedrooms were of different standards - I paid for an upgrade to a superior front room which was enormous and had a balcony which had the sun on it most of the day and amazing views.
There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room and an empty fridge - which was very useful. The position of the hotel was superb for walking, shopping, or taking a local bus around to other parts of the island.

Room Tip: ask for a high room over looking the front if you want good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank parkypam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear parkypam3,

Thank you for your posting. We are continually trying to better our services to our guests and therefore, appreciate all the feedback we receive. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a couple of hiccups. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Wishing you and your loved ones a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

Best wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

My review is about the the restaurant that is part of the Hotel Fortina. We had light lunch at the The Terrace and as from the beginning it was TERRIBLE. My mistake is that we didnt just got up and left. Apart that was a rip off eg a bottle of still water is Euro 4.10 (and not only that), many more happened.
1 The chef was outside smoking when we went in and also when we went out. I hope he washed his hands before he prepared our food.
2. One of the waitresses doesnt even understand you what we were trying to say.
3. Menu is not well explained, My daughter ordered something that she ended up removing 2 out of 3 ingredients that she had.
4. Very small portions for the overpriced food.
5. Nobody, Nobody ever came up to see if everything was ok or not but a table next to us were treated with much much more attention.
6.Although we dont smoke we had to because the people outside who were smoking were in an area that the smell comes in the restaurant.

DO NOT EVEN BOTHER TO STOP LET ALONE GO IN AND EAT WHEN A COUPLE OF METRES FURTHER DOWN YOU CAN HAVE VERY GOOD FOOD AND VALUE FOR MONEY,
I TRIED IT BUT DEFINITELY WONT BE ANOTHER TIME.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have just returned from the Fortina Hotel and found it to be very good, location wise and the staff are very friendly. Although some of the rooms are dated I found my room, located on the 8th floor, garden view, very quiet, which is what I asked for. I would certainly return to this hotel again, with the added advantage of great Spa facilities, gym and 2-3 inside pools. Loved going to the different restaurants that were located in between the two hotels, Fortina Spa Hotel 5star and Hotel Fortina.

Room Tip: Room 824 on the 8th floor is very quiet, you are overlooking the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear SueR,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Wishing you and your loved ones a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

Best wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Room for 4 with garden view was a great option for us. Loved the parquet flooring, carpets can get dirty easily. Room was very spacious and great for a little get-together we had between us and a couple more friends during the one night we stayed there. 104 euros with breakfast for one night, wasnt bad either. Breakfast standard, nothing special. They didnt have any lemon to go with my morning earl grey, that's probably one of my biggest disappointments. The fridge in the room made a constant whirring/buzzy sound during the night, was kind of annoying, but not too bad seeing that there actually was a fridge provided.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttermellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear buttermellow,

Thank you for your posting. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Wishing you and your loved ones a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

Best wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

People had told us that you either love Malta or hate it, well we loved it !
The Fortina was recommended to us by friends and it was as good as they said.
The hotel is clean, friendly and in a good location.
The 'Dine Around' option ( choice of 5 restaurants ) was great and we never had a bad meal or a repeat meal whilst we were at the Fortina.
The views from the superior sea view rooms are spectacular which somewhat outweigh the slightly noisy location of the rooms at the front of the hotel.
A new hotel manager had just taken over a month or so before our stay and his input was already showing after only a short time in post.

Room Tip: When we return to the Fortina, and we will, We will choose a Garden view room - they are quiter in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BullBozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear BullBozer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on this website. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Fortina and in Malta. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you and your loved ones a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

Best wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Having returned after 2 years and important transformations at the hotel, I found the reception and other personnel very friendly and efficient. However, only 2 lifts worked perfectly and work is still ongoing on another one. The rooms are nice and clean with a breathtaking view but you could hear the neighbour's TV. The food quality is not as good as it used to be (greasy, monotonous, stale croissants, less choice than before. Evenings only leg of pork, potatoes and improperly cooked tasteless veggies). I know there is a crisis on and we had the choice of the 5 resident restaurants for free or a small supplement. I tried them all and can only recommend the Japanese Hibiki and the Indian restaurant which were always full. Don't try pizzas at the Italian restaurants, taste like chewing gum as not enough cooked. The spa services were very good, at least for fish treatment and epilations. On an unrelated subject, traffic clogs nearly the whole island, especially at rush hour and during road works. I think I'll give it a miss next year.

Room Tip: Insist on a quiet room below floor 5 with sea front view and small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helga64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Helga64,

Thank you for your posting. We are disappointed to hear of your comments and would like to assure you that all your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Wishing you and your loved ones a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

Best wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have just returned from 3 weeks at the 4 star Fortina Hotel which I booked through Mercury Direct. It was amazingly good value for money as it included flights and breakfasts and cost half the price I had paid for twelve days on a room only basis at the Palace Hotel in Sliema the previous month. I didn't particularly like the Italianate marble foyer with its ornate furnishings but the bedroom, although small, was attractively furnished and very comfortable. I had paid extra to upgrade to a sea view room which had a lovely balcony and beautiful views across the bay to Valetta. Housekeeping staff in particular were friendly and pleasant and always smiled and greeted guests. The location was excellent and the only drawback was the pressure to attend an information session at the 5 star Fortina Spa Hotel. Various guests commented on the 'unpleasant taste' this left at the very start of their holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Diane F,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Fortina and we hope to see you again very soon.

Wishing you and your loved ones a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

Best wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.0 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#11 of 28 in Sliema
1,424 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 28 in Sliema
1,270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $120 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing