We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Fortina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fortina
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were a bit apprehensive about staying here after reading some of the previous reviews.
The Hotel is rated 4 star with the Fortina Resort & Spa (next door) rated as 5 star and all guests are either on B & B, half-board or all inclusive basis. Both hotels share all the same facilities apart from not being able to use 1 bar and 2 restaurants in the evening on the all inclusive option as a 4 star guest. It is a bit confusing so our advice to all guests going here is to establish exactly what is included in your board/star basis as soon as you arrive, so you can make the most of your stay here.
The La Vallette is the main restaurant and serves breakfast and dinner. Breakfast had a good selection of food on offer. At dinner there was always a roasted joint, a vegetarian option and pasta amongst other main courses. I found the cheese selection a little limited, but it was OK. The only thing that we felt let the restaurant down was the service for drinks. We often found we were well into our main course before getting a drink and the beer, in particular often arrived flat. There are however, 4 other restaurants you can choose from - we liked the Can Thai (Chinese and Thai) best. Service here is excellent.
Lunch can be a bit confusing. At the pool bar they cook burgers, toasties etc but these are not part of the AI so are extra and are quite expensive. The AI option is a cheese and ham sandwich. However you can go to 3 of the a la carte restaurants for lunch, and eat from their "set menus", which are all very good.
The service at the pool bar was very good with all the staff working very hard. They served drinks in plastic cups which was fine during the day, but it would have been nice to have been served a drink in a glass during the evenings. However, we stumbled across the Garden Bar which we didn't know about initially, was open to all guests, could be used as part of the all inclusive, served drinks in glasses and was air-conditioned! This bar should be open from 9.00pm-1.00am every night but on certain days while we were there, it remained closed. If this happens, AI guests are able to use the garden bar in the centre quad. which is usually for 5 star guests.
The rooms were clean and had everything you needed. We had read comments that there was a lot of traffic noise to the rooms that faced the beach - but with the windows closed and the air-con on, this wasn't a problem for us. The corridors weren't air conditioned so could be a bit stuffy, particularly as we were there in the height of the summer.
We had also read comments about the staff being rude, but we found them very friendly and happy to chat to you.
We didn't use the Spa at all, but spoke to people that had and was told that the service was very good.
We would recommend the Selkies Dive Centre which is only a few doors away from the hotel.
Overall we had a fabulous time in Malta, the weather was perfect and the locals are very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear Wendy391,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Hotel Fortina. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to point out that all information regarding what is included in all packages and where is given to all guests upon arrival.

Your comments, especially regarding service in La Vallette have been well noted and passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Please be advised that drinks are served in plastic glasses by the pool due to Health and Safetly Regulations.

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,696)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fortina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Not really sure where to start with this review and obviously have to keep things to a minimum so will try to be concise... Arrived on the 4th August not sure which part of the hotel we were staying in so had to walk along the path to the 4* part.... Room was not ready, was told showers were "Over there" and luggage room "to the left"... Had a very early start to our day as the flight was at 6.30am... Not even offered a cold drink or anything on arrival and had to find our way round the hotel as best as possible. Reception staff were rude, unfriendly, arrogant and just plain horrible. This was our honeymoon and we were told that it may be possible to get an upgrade... no such thing it would seem, we were asked, "any photos of the wedding", that was it. After eventually finding the lido bar we tried to look through various bits of information that were virtually thrown at us on our arrival.... Myself and my husband were very tired and just wanted a light meal and some sleep... we ended up waiting around 3 hours for our room to be ready.... to cut a long story short we didnt end up relaxing properly until after our evening meal.

The hotel itself is extremely difficult to navigate and is badly signposted... We spent the majority of the holiday going up and down in the lifts and getting lost...THIS IS NOT A 4* HOTEL, IT IS BARELY A 3*... We decided not to ask any of the reception staff for any more information. On the first night when having dinner we asked for a bottle of water with our meal only to be told we would have to pay for it... We booked all inclusive!!!!!! The waiting staff in the La Valette restaurant again were rude, arrogant and just looked bored... (I would like to mention at this point that our previous holiday in April at the Atlantica Princess, Trianda, Rhodes was our only comparison of the 4* all inclusive basis and all the staff were wonderful) so with this in mind I would think that if you have a 4*/5* badge then you would live up to it.... Consequently on following evenings the staff attitude towards residents was absolutely disgusting to say the least...

I could go on and on about how awful this hotel is but it does have its good points... We had lunch at the Taste restaurant most afternoons and I would have to say that the food was absolutely superb, being a head chef myself obviously I love my food... so again with that in mind I cannot fault the service and the food itself. We also ate at both the Italian and the Indian restaurants and the food was equally palatable, my husband requested his curry to be a little hotter at the Indian and was pleasantly delighted. As for La Valette well I have already made my views about the staff quite clear, as for the food it was barely average and there was very little choice!!!! On one occasion we also had to wait almost 20 minutes to be offered a drink with our meal and ended up having an argument which was not pleasant to say the least. After this I had decided that enough was enough and went to complain, I ended up getting extremely upset and although the trainee receptionist was compassionate I did somewhat think that he lied about contacting the hotel manager. I was promised that the manager would come and speak to us at some point, I am still waiting!!!!!!

The entertainment left a lot to be desired but we had fun and made the most of the beautiful surroundings/views. In the garden bar however we were told that we had to pay for our drinks, hence we were left feeling more than a little confused at what was actually included in our 4* all inclusive basis, ( you know the all inclusive basis that we paid nearly 2000 pounds for) we did feel that we were only allowed to drink in the Lido bar/Council flat arms as we were looked down upon because we were not 5* residents.

I am actually getting rather bored with writing this review now so in summing up I would like to clarify, PLEASE DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!! apart from a few good points such as the food etc it does not make up for what I can only describe as rude, arrogant and just plain awful...!!!!!!!!!!!! When we left the reception staff did not even say goodbye!!!!!!

Room Tip: We booked a standard garden view room, it was very clean and the maids worked very hard.!! It was co...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear Beverly C,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We would firstly like to congratulate you on your marriage. We are disappointed to learn that we did not manage to reach your expectations. We would like to apologise for the inconveniences caused during your stay and would like to respond accordingly;

Complimentary upgrades are only available when there are rooms available within the Hotel.
Check-In is at 2pm. We try our best to have rooms ready before that time, however, this is not always possible.
We would like to apologise for the inconveniences caused by the attitude of our staff- please be assured that all appropriate personnel and heads of departments have been notified of your comments and immediate action shall be taken.
Kindly note that there are signs all around the Hotel so that guests may know where everything is situated.
All Dining Information is given to all guests upon arrival and a list of Bars and all information is situated in the guest rooms in the Guest Information Booklets. This information is also translated in other languages.
The Tropical Garden forms part of the five star Fortina Spa Resort and therefore, its facilities are not included in the four star Hotel Fortina All Inclusive package.

Regards,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We have recently returned from staying in the fFortina hotel, we throughly enjoyed our stay there and would definately recommend it . Our room was clean, comfortable and had an amazing sea view. The food was great with a good choiceof restaurants and excellent service. The pool overlooked the sea and had plenty of sun beds and needless to say the weather was fantastic. We'd love to go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear Marie H,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on this website. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed at the 4* Fortina Hotel in Sliema, Malta in June 2011. It is situated at the far end of the Tigne Promenade with great views over to Valletta. Our room was standard sea-view and it was very clean but also quite small. However the view from the balcony was wonderful looking out over the harbour to Valletta.

Facilites at the hotel were good. We went all-inclusive which was good value and we could also dine around in the evening to a Chinese restaurant, Italian pizzeria or La Tigne meditteranean restaurant. We found the Chinese to be the best in a lovely settingin the garden area. You have to book 2 days in advance but it was a nice change from the evening buffet restaurant. The buffet food was good with nice choices of food and pasta and salads and nice desserts.

The 2 swimming pools overlook the harbour and there is a bar serving coffee and drinks in the daytime also. This area is also used in the evening when you can sit and relax with a drink overlooking a stunning lit-up Valletta. There is also a long promenade in Sliema for evening strolls.

Sliema is good for touring the island and there is a frequent bus service near the hotel to all parts of Malta which we used and would recommend. You can also take a harbour cruise around Valletta which was free from the hotel.

During the week we were asked if we would like to upgrade to a 5* room for 20 euros a night extra. We went to see the room which was large and beautifully firnished. However from the balcony we had the view of a large crane fom a nearby building, so we decided to stay in our 4* room with a fabulous view. The 5* part of the Fortina Hotel is lovely and would suit someone as a Spa resort.

We were very pleased with the Fortina 4* and found it good value for money. We enjoyed Malta but you do have to get out and about to appreciate different parts of the island.
Would recommend the Fortina as a good base.

Mr. and Mrs E Holme

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room overlooking Valletta.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PaulineandEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear PaulineandEddie,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on this website. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Hotel Fortina

My husband and I have just returned from a Thomas Cook Late Deal break at the Fortina. We spent 1 week half board 9-16 Aug. We read the reviews here and noted the comments and decided to go ahead and book, knowing that more people are likely to place an entry when they have a complaint, and in that respect, we are no different I have to say that I agree with the comments that state that this is a 3 star and not a 4 star hotel.

Accommodation

Room 710
Plus points
 The view over Valetta was breathtaking
 Tea making facilities topped up most days
 Cleaned daily
 Free fridge
 Free safe
 No problems with lifts, quite prompt
Minus points
 Not enough storage space in the room. I am glad we weren’t staying for two weeks as we had to live out of our suitcase for part of the week.
 The bath had mould around it as stated by several guests
 Broken toilet roll holder
 Tired décor
Restaurants

Very confusing set up re what ones we could and couldn’t use and quite annoying to be told you can only choose from certain parts of the menu dependant on your booking.
We had to go round each restaurant, if opened, find out the options available to us for the next day and go back to reception to see if it was possible to book for the menu we preferred and if we could get it at the time we wanted. (Yes I know that the menus are explained at reception, but as a customer, I still find it confusing)

Suggestion: have a full list of meals for every restaurant for the next three days for each board basis.

This would allow better planning and help customers decide their preference once we managed to work it out this was our opinion on each one we visited.

La Vallete

There was a good choice of food each day both breakfast and evening meal. Generally speaking, the staffs were good

Pizzeria

The food was good the staff were rude and the service was poor.

Can Thai

The food was excellent the staff were really attentive and polite it was an absolute pleasure to dine here.

Sa Re Gama

As with the Can Thai the food was excellent the staff were really attentive and polite it was an absolute pleasure to dine here.

Reception

The majority of reception staff that we dealt with were rude, impatient and quite ignorant at times; one sighing and putting her head in her hands when she couldn’t understand us, and another continually interrupting when we were reporting a fault in our room…. Our curtain rail fell down in the bedroom. We later discovered that it wasn’t repaired so reported it again only to be informed it wasn’t recorded the first time and that the maintenance staff were no longer on duty. When pushed for assistance, one of the male members of reception staff fixed it himself and asked us not to touch the curtains until the maintenance man visited the next day.

Management, for reference it was one of the female members on reception on Sunday evening 14/08/11 who took our original report of the fault

Suggestion: Have a contractor that you can call on outside normal hours


Pool areas

There was plenty of choice to allow us to bathe in the sun or lay in the shade and plenty of pools to choose from, I particularly liked the fact that you could have free towels daily as well.

Overall

I find it admirable that someone from the hotel takes the time to respond to the comments placed on Trip Advisor, unfortunately the standard reply seems to be that you should inform the management to allow them to address the issues I would think that the hotel management of a 4 star hotel should be proactive in addressing any problems before customers complain. For example, the cleaner could easily report broken toilet roll holders and management should surely be made aware of mould in bathrooms and see to this being cleaned. Simple processes should be in place that allow for regular checks and actions put in place to fix anything found during these checks.

These reviews go back at least a year that I could see and yet the bathrooms still have mould and the staffs’ attitudes remain the same.

Thomas Cook Late deal tip: Don’t book the transport that they have available. The cost for us would have been £42. We managed to book a taxi to the hotel and back to the airport for £20

Malta itself is a beautiful place. The weather was amazing and the scenery breathtaking. We enjoyed our holiday and would perhaps return to explore some more but we would recommend comparing the Fortina with 3 star hotels in Malta before making any decision.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear Maureen Q,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your lengthy feedback regarding your recent stay with us on this website. We are disappointed to learn that we did not manage to reach your expectations. We are constantly trying to better our services to our valued customers and therefore appreciate all feedback we receive.

Please be advised that Restaurant Entitlements are stated clearly on the Dining Information Leaflet that is given to all our guests upon arrival Receptionists also explain dining packages at length during the check in process. Kindly also note that all Restaurant Menus are available for viewing the the Reception area.

We would like to apologise for the service you have received from your Il Giardino staff and Reception team. Please be assured that action has been taken accordingly.

We also inform Management of all postings on this and other websites in order to improve our services to our guests. It is important to us have both positive and negative feedback in order to know where we stand with our clients.

Please be advised that the on-going problems are always being tackled- maintenance do their best to solve the issues but sometimes, unfortunately, these problems reoccur. This is something that is beyond our control but we are always working to get rid of them. With regards to staff issues, please be assured that we are constantly trying to improve our services, however, one must also consider that many foreigners working within the Hotel are sometimes misinterpreted and their accents are sometimes understood as rudeness. This is something that is beyond our control and has to do with the individual dealing with the member of staff. We would like to apologise if there has been any misunderstanding in that way. However, we are taking the necessary action as a precaution.

We do not have anything to do with the transport offered by Thomas Cook and therefore cannot comment on the issue. We do offer a taxi service but please be informed that the average price from Sliema to Gudja (Airport area) is usually around €20 for all taxi companies.

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were a party of six. My parents,husband, my two teenage children and myself. We arrived at the hotel at 11.00 a.m and were checked in very quickly. Our rooms were not ready untill 2.00 so we put our suitcases in the luggage room by reception and was directed to the outside bar area were we could get a drink while waiting for our lunch. We stayed on an all-inclusive basis, on a dine around option which meant you could eat in any of five restaurants at the hotel. We tried the italian restaurant once, which was great if you liked pizza, but every other mealtime both at lunch and dinner we ate in the valletta restaurant because the food was so nice there. There was plenty of choice with salads, beautiful fish (I never found a bone once) very lean meat beef, lamb, peppered steak, pork loins mexican fajitas, a choice of potatoes, rice, vegetables the desserts were great lemon meringue, chocalate cake fruit tarts, fruit crumble cheesecakes ice cream, gateaux, and jelly .my parents room had a great view over to valletta and harbour my room was facing the garden which was still nice. The hotel is in a great location for those wanting to explore malta with the ferry and bus stops a short walk away. The hotel itself is very clean with helpful staff the only thing that lets this hotel down is the lack of enterainment. it is non-existent. everynight it was just music being played from a lap top. One night there was a duo singing and that was it. There was nothing for my teenage children at all. The alcoholic drinks were all mostly branded real bailys, jack daniels whisky, morgans rum, stella lager and lowenbrau. there was a great choice of cocktails and your usual choice of soft drinks tea coffee and hot chocolates all on the all inclusive. The snacks of a day were not included these had to be bought but the food in the valletta buffet restaurant was that good you never missed them. We used the bus service a lot. 2.euros 60 cent took you all round the island all day . The local buses have now been taken over by arriva and we had no problems at all finding our way around. Dont go to the sunday market in floriana its rubbish there is not much there. My dad and husband went to a lot of museums on the island and really enjoyed them. We had a great holiday and would return to malta the local people are really friendly but we were disapointed about the lack of entertainment at the hotel which was a real shame because everything else about the fortina was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucyk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear lucyk98,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday here in Malta and at the Hotel Fortina.

Please be assured that all your comments have been passed onto all those concerned. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Just returned from the Fortina in Sliema, there are two parts to the hotel a 4* and a 5*, we stayed in the 4* on a HB basis, The 4* has 7 floors and the 5* 18 floors some of which are time share, there is a buffet breakfast and dinner resturant and various themed resurants ie chinese, thai, indian, mediterranian and italian, we tried most of them but found the buffet resturant to be the best with a good selection of food and always piping hot, there are numerous different types of rooms from standard to full blown jacuzzi bath suites, with garden view or sea view, personally i recommend the sea view as the view of Valetta is unforgetable, all of the staff were falling over themselves to help out nothing was too much bother (they love the English) the only things that let the hotel down was the lack of evening entertainment and the high price of drinks in the bars and resturants, Thomas our Thomas cook rep was also excellent and always available to help.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gazza112_211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Hotel Fortina. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Please be assured that all your comments have been passed onto all those concerned.

Warm wishes,
Hotel Fortina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.0 mi away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#10 of 28 in Sliema
1,397 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 28 in Sliema
1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $144 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing