We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant ”
Review of Margaret Island

Margaret Island
Ranked #11 of 226 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $28
Description: We are a Hungarian restaurant (bistro & winebar)on the Strand in Sliema, Malta having great Hungarian chefs and staff with us. We offer great selection of delicacies and world known wines like Tokaji. Come and try our cuisine and spread the word! A few from our menu: Hungarian Goulash, Beef stew, beef tartar, Sponge cake Somló style. We do take aways as well.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a Hungarian restaurant (bistro & winebar)on the Strand in Sliema, Malta having great Hungarian chefs and staff with us. We offer great selection of delicacies and world known wines like Tokaji. Come and try our cuisine and spread the word! A few from our menu: Hungarian Goulash, Beef stew, beef tartar, Sponge cake Somló style. We do take aways as well.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

We were in Valletta for a week and this was definitely the best meal we had. Large portions and very tasty. Also good value as we had a 20% off voucher from a booklet at the Hotel. I had the grill which was amazing. Only downside was no room for an apple strudel

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank RogTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 393 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

Cannot fault the Chicken paprikash with cucumber salad and sour cream. In fact went back a few days later to repeat, which, believe me is very unusual. The range of flavoured lemonades is quite sublime too.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank ProperCharlie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

We tried several dishes and they were all fantastic. Great selection of wine and service was excellent too. All in all great experience.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VikiM_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

I chose this restaurant for a dinner with the family because I visited it last year with some work mates; this time we left very upset with the service; food is not bad itself, but with the restaurant almost empty inside, we wait 40 minutes to be served, no excuses; then we realized that one huge portions of chiken hungaran style plate ordered would be enough for three kids, and we have ordered two of them for my two girls..., I asked for take away one of those, straight, and warned to the lady waiter that she should have advised about it, she recognized she would ..., good; second round of drinks standed about 10´at the bar side, waiting for someone to carry to the table, at the end neither cheap, so resume, is there. May be other clients have better luck, I´ll not try again

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Juan Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

Great location just near our hotel. Busy spot and rarely a table free outside. Just stopped for a beer on our first night in Malta, which we enjoyed so much we called back on our last night! Ended up ordering the goulash as we seen so many others ordering it! Great choice! Melt in the mouth and full of flavour. Def recommended.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank knmnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret Island also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Margaret Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing