We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Rabat
Post
Inbox
Search

“Lovely lunch - great discovery”
Review of Grotto Tavern

Grotto Tavern
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $77
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in the charming village of Rabat, opposite St Paul's Church, The Grotto Tavern Restaurant boasts a typical Maltese house of character, which has been transformed into a lovely restaurant retaining original Maltese features and an interconnecting cellar featuring a 2000 year old cave. The Grotto Tavern's kitchen brigade have and continue to satisfy the palate of a multinational clientele with sublime cuisine, bringing together the finest seasonal produce with innovation, finesse and expertise to bring forth tantalising dishes. The Grotto Tavern Restaurant guarantees a discreet and an impeccably attentive service allowing patrons the time to savour and enjoy the cuisine and the company.
Reviewed November 29, 2017

Visited Rabat before Mdina. Ate downstairs. Food was lovely as was the service. Can thoroughly recommend here to eat

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Gabby51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Manager at Grotto Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted with your comments and positive feedback and greatly anticipate your return!

Best Regards,
Kathleen Pearson
Marketing and Events Manager
Grotto Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 392 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Was lucky enough to find a hidden gem here in Malta. Had some Maltese food special that included stewed rabbit over pasta and a Maltese platter of sausage, cheese, bread, olives, and vegetables. It was very tasty and the host was fantastic. She even recommended a nice beach to us. The inside of the restaurant is clean and well decorated.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank stevenbC2404XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

We went there as suggested by the owner of the related guesthouse. A really pleasant dinner, the oysters were especially good. Price adequate to the offer.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Pretentious, interpretation is far from traditional dishes but not for the better! A personal interpretation of the dishes that pull out the main idea and the enjoyment from the dishes. have a tablespoon size Rego on a bowl of pasta When the rego is so tiny mound above, it's ridiculous. Writing about an anchovy pasta but no trace of an anchovy nowhere, that's out of the question. Although the opening, the dips with home bread was enjoyable. Big disappointment

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank noadear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

Grotto Tavern has lovely ambiance and the sweetest waitresses! Unfortunately we were not there everyday customers i guess. We choose this restaurant because they claim to know their way around intolerances/allergies which i have for both gluten and lactoses. That was the case; they just left all the menu items out but offered no alternative. No glutenfree bread to start. But also no olives or other creative alternatives (please put your home made spreads on a slice of cucumber or so, it shouldn't be so hard!). Main dish was only a poor fillet of fish and seriously 1,5 carrot. No substitute for the cauliflower mash and sauce. I then ordered fries and tomato/onion/basil (without notification the basil was left out. It is gluten/lactose free guys ) to fill me up. I was fully charged for those much needed side dishes. Desert was only sorbet ice. Grotto made me feel very sad for my diet. I hope they will increase their knowledge of allergies so they can anticipate properly when guests like us appear. Good luck with that!

Date of visit: October 2017
3  Thank Desiree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Tavern also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Grotto Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing