We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff”

The Wignacourt Cafe & Wine Garden
Ranked #35 of 73 Restaurants in Rabat
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe & Wine Garden serving a selection of Breakfasts, Wraps, Sandwiches, Baguettes, Platters, Pizza tal - Hobz and Maltese food.Cafe Wignacourt is located within a spectacular Baroque building dating back to the seventeenth century. The tranquil garden offers patrons a unique dining experience as the sense of a bygone era is intertwined with a more modern decor. Inside one truly experiences a warm and welcoming atmosphere, in what was once the residence of the Chaplains of the Order of St John. Even with the passing of time, this building has retained its distinctive charm, which patrons can now enjoy over an exquisite meal or a bottle of wine.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Owner is really rude. We left because in other words she had enough clients for the day and even got like angry because I didn't understood immidiatley her italian (and I speak it fluently) and she was in a hurry and stressed (like always) It was better if she said they were full even if there were free tables.
Not visiting anymore for sure.
5 minutes away at 'triq San Pawl' there are a lot of good options were to lunch or dine.

I have to say that I hate being and see others being looked at as inferior by foreigner business owners in my country like this arrogant Italian lady. She must show gratitude that as she didn't speak understandable English and maltese, I communicated in her language and she must be polite to a client.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2020

The atmosphere was very welcoming and above all the food was very good. We were a group of five, four of us had pizza and one had calamari. We really enjoyed the evening. I will definitely go again.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaeltH4703EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2019

We ended up having to leave because no one would take our order. It was a shame because the restaurant has a nice location and the garden is pretty outside.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daviddJ3376XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

Sweet place however completely disorganised and food just a mess.
Chef who’s also the owner also the waiter also everything else he could be kept on running around stressing out Himself and the stuff.
We wanted to grab a bite with our wine and ordered calamari which were told they Don’t have by one waitress, then second person attending the table they do and the manager finally told us it’s last portion.
Calamari in question comes out after a good while soggy, strangely looking and probably chewier than chewing gum.
Shame to have such a nice place and not looking after it with love.

Good for drinks.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Yoana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

Excellent place to visit. I was told that the pizza was the best on the island and ITS TRUE , amazing ingredients, great taste and fantastic dough, no BS it was GOOD. Also had pork fillet and again the balance of tastes made the dish simply sublime.

I will surely visit again and again. Besides the food the ambience is obviously amazing as well.

Thank you for the experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MaxG980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wignacourt Cafe & Wine Garden also viewed

Rabat, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Wignacourt Cafe & Wine Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing