We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mdina, Rabat & Mtarfa Tourist Sightseeing Train Tour
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Malta’s only ‘Quality Assured Visitor Attraction’ sightseeing train tour service that departs every hour from a terminus next to the Domus Romana (Roman Villa) Mdina, near public transport Bus interchange and a short walk from Mdina Main Gate whilst following signs through Howard Gardens.The train tour provides a very informative commentary in seven languages on the historical, cultural and architectural importance of the areas of Mdina, Rabat and Mtarfa. The Melita Trains tour is especially suited for those tourists who arrive to these areas on their own by public transport or by sightseeing buses which is the ideal travelling means to discover the charms and rich heritage of these areas at a guaranteed value for money service.The tour’s duration is approximately 30 minutes with an 8km route that passes adjacent to Mdina Main Gate, Old Casino Notabile, then to the heart of Rabat with its numerous archaeological places, in close proximity to St. Paul’s Cathedral and the Grotto, the catacombs of St. Paul’s and St. Agatha Complex and thereon to the suburb of Ghar Barka with picturesque views of Rabat and the surrounding countryside.The Melita Trains sightseeing tour then proceeds into the heart of the neighbouring town of Mtarfa viewing other interesting buildings such as the Ex Royal Navy Hospital and the Clock Tower.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Vince our train driver was so amusing he kept us all entertained. His knowledge of the area was very interesting. Want to do it again!
The little lassie (Tania) was so friendly without being pushy. Was an absolute pleasure

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pauline-Dodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    46
    15
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quite fun and informative”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Not the best or worst of these little trains I have been on...good fun and we learned some new things.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CandCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What a pity!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We turned up with eager granddaughter for the tour (just in time), only to be told it was past the time and we had to wait an hour. The driver's watch (which he showed us) was at least 10 minutes fast and we were the only people there. The next trip did run when there were more people, but we were not on it. Economics or a better offer in one of the cafes? We'll never know. We went on the horse drawn carriages instead. These are expensive but great fun; they go when you want!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_and_Juls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
“school outing”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Took my kindergarten class on the Train Ride as a school outing to see the surroundings of our old city--great success! They loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“After many visits to Malta in last 20 years, found this and it is GREAT!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

As title really. I think it is a fairly new tour maybe? However, we are seasoned Malta visitors, and found this tour to be relaxing (on our feet) and enlightening indeed. Price was around 4.50 euros each, I think??? Concessions start at over 61 and of course children. Recorded audio guide via cabin loudspeakers we enjoyed in English, though other languages are available, I cannot remember exact details.

We boarded the ride and VINCE the driver was most humorous and friendly indeed. He really enjoys his work! The tour (around half an hour) took us to see a lot of sites and views we had not seen before in our 20+ years visits of Malta, including Mdina & Rabat from a lower level. It certainly saves a lot of walking around the more remote surrounding parts.
It concentrates on the locations more remote from and surrounding Mdina, including streets of Rabat, the parts we have never visited in the last 20 years or so. Have your camera ready!
From what appears to be a very "modern, commercial" attraction, I am confident that most people will really enjoy it and take some memory home with them. Would we return? Yes, not next year, but probably the year after, just to see what has changed.
Thank you Vince for a great tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank g3xda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mdina, Rabat & Mtarfa Tourist Sightseeing Train Tour also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Mdina, Rabat & Mtarfa Tourist Sightseeing Train Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing