We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant mother's day meal.”

Bottegin Palazzo Xara
Ranked #14 of 69 Restaurants in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bottegin Palazzo Xara is a friendly casual local Band Club in a mixed business, local neighborhood members and non-members . On its exterior, a 300 year old magnificent baroque Palazzo in a medieval area . On the inside, the relaxed Club atmosphere has 3 large cozy rooms, a full size snooker table, free wifi and artistic decorations. Il-“Bottegin" serve an appetizing varied food menu Monday to Sunday lunch and dinner.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

Eating in a very relaxed and quiet atmosphere was most pleasant. Food on the set menu was very interestingly and artistically served. Starters were great and the main most appetizing. Dessert was splendid. The waiters/waitresses who were attending to us all served with a smile.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marlenedebono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Manager at Bottegin Palazzo Xara, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Many Thanks for your review. We are delighted with your comments and positive feedback and greatly anticipate your return!

Best Regards,
Bottegin Palazzo Xara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 516 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2019

Where do I start? We ordered soft drinks and all of them were flat. Informed the waiter about it and he brought new drinks which were also flat. We also ordered wine and it arrived after we ate the starter (we had to remind the waiter twice for the wine). Starters were delicious but all the mother's day main courses were horrible. Two of us ordered the Hake & Salmon En Croute which is fish wrapped in a sort of pastry. A great deal of the pastry was raw especially the areas on the sides which had huge chunks of raw dough. Another person ordered the roast beef which tasted more like chewing gum than meat with how tough it was. I ordered the slow roast chicken and was presented with two pieces of chicken thighs with the skin on. Skin was very very rubbery which indicated to myself that they had cooked them from way before as if it were fresh the skin would be crispy. The meat was also very fatty and the potato wedges were cold. Dessert was not bad. Also stay aware of what they charge you for as we noticed that there were around 12 euros of drinks in our bill which we didn't order.

What can I say I definitely wont ever go to this place again. It seemed like that none of the main courses were fresh and that they had pre-cooked them at least hours before in order to serve as much customers as they can on mother's day, quantity over quality I guess..

P.S. waiting for the response from the manager who seemingly writes the same exact response to anyone leaving a negative review assuring us that they take complaints very seriously and that our feedback will assist them in becoming better at what they do! You don't even dedicate some time to write a genuine response to your customers, how are we to believe you that you take complaints seriously?

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darryl481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Manager at Bottegin Palazzo Xara, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Darryl,

As per my telephone conversation with Mr Formosa who explained the situation, we are sorry to receive such a review when on the day non of the food issues were mentioned when asked twice by two members of our staff. If the issues were mentioned on the day we would have tried our best to arrange the situation.

With regards to the €12.00 extra drinks this was a genuine mistake and once this was brought to our attention the money were immediately refunded.

We do take complaints very seriously and when possible we get in touch with the client to understand better the situation, hence my call to Mr Formosa.

Kindly do not hesitate to contact me for further queries.

Best Regards,

Kathleen Pearson
Sales and Marketing Manager
Bottegin Palazzo Xara
Mobile No: (+356) 79091690

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

We have visited for lunch and food was overall okay. However, cakes were not fresh and they were pretty hard. I wouldn’t recommend eating a dessert here.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Poseidon1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Manager at Bottegin Palazzo Xara, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had at Bottegin Palazzo Xara. We truly strive our best to keep a good name for our restaurant and take complaints very seriously. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

Best Regards,
Bottegin Palazzo Xara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

We were there early since it is busy on Saturday night. We ordered the bbq ribs to share. The presentation was visually pleasing:the full rack of ribs in the center,served with chips, onion rings, peanut sauce & coleslaw.However, the thick layer of bbq sauce over the ribs spoilt its taste.The ribs were only warm;not hot from the oven!Halfway through,we found a piece of cling film in the meat(see photo).Unbelievable!!The waiter was alerted.He apologized for the chef's mistake & said the cost of that dish would be removed from the bill.No apology from the restaurant manager, if there is one.Finding plastic cling film in the dish is unacceptable and I shudder to think of the consequences if it hadn't been detected & even swallowed!OMG!!We are definitely not going back and wouldn't recommend it.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Manager at Bottegin Palazzo Xara, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear Jeannie C,

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had at Bottegin Palazzo Xara. We truly strive our best to keep a good name for our restaurant and take complaints very seriously. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

Best Regards,
Bottegin Palazzo Xara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019

Outdoor covered area in Mdina. Good for lunch. Options for larger or smaller meals. Friendly service and done well.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank A_Hotel_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan P, Manager at Bottegin Palazzo Xara, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Many Thanks for your review. We are delighted with your comments and positive feedback and greatly anticipate your return!

Best Regards,
Bottegin Palazzo Xara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottegin Palazzo Xara also viewed

Rabat, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Bottegin Palazzo Xara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing