We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rabat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maple Farm Bed and Breakfast Malta
Ranked #1 of 3 Rabat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Charles and Anna are lovely people and nothing is to much trouble they are happy to please what ever your request. There place is out in the Country so you will need a car if you want to explore the Island. It does come with various Country noises but nothing to keep you awake at night. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, breakfast is a realy nice assortment of food so you will never go hungry. We didnt like the very low fat milk but it was not a problem as they were happy to accomodate our tastes with a different one. if I had one tiny niggle that let it down a tiny bit it was the rusty hanging rack in the shower which spoilt the look a bit. Eve & Rob.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evebish47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
90
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Anna and Charles are wonderful hosts! They share the secrets to the region with passion and heart. One evening Charles took all of the guests on a three hour trip visiting things we would never have experienced otherwise. We finished in his vineyard where he explained the secrets of growing olives and wines. We then got to taste his beautiful wine with some other local treats. Anna and Charles are very knowledgeable, the B&B is very nice and the breakfast is beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agneta_dieden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My mum and I had a wonderful 4-night stay at Maple Farm in March 2014.

We arrived at the on a Sunday afternoon to a warm welcome and found our room to be very clean and comfortable with a large en-suite bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the room had all of the amenities you would get in a hotel (tea/coffee making, hairdryer, tv etc). The bathroom had a lovely power shower. Free bottled water was provided on each day of our stay (2 litres) which was very useful.
The B&B is located in the countryside and we found it lovely and quiet at night (so a good night's sleep!). There was plenty of parking space. We also found that the free wifi was very good. There is also a lovely looking swimming pool in the garden, along with sun loungers, tables etc, although unfortunately the weather was a little too cold for swimming when we visited.

Breakfast was served in the dining room each morning and there was a good range of food in buffet style.

Charles and Anna, who own the B&B were very friendly and helpful. They recommended a range of restaurants in the local area (in Rabat and Mdina) and we tried a different one every evening. We particularly liked Romans Den (in Rabat) and AD 1530 (Mdina).

Charles and Anna also arranged a local hire car for us which we found to be much better value than hiring from the usual suspects at the airport (and with a €0 excess). The car hire company picked us up at the airport (they were waiting when we landed) and then dropped us off at the end of the holiday. We found it really useful to have a car to get around on Malta and Gozo. However, a friendly German couple staying at the B&B at the same time were getting around by bus and told me that they had no problems getting to places.

The location of the B&B made it easy for us to get to lots of the local attractions. It took approx. 20 mins to drive to Valletta, 25 mins to the ferry port for Gozo. Rabat and Mdina were only 5 mins drive from the B&B - we found it easy to park just outside Mdina (Charles or Anna are happy to explain where to park!). If you want to go to Gozo, we found the car ferry service easy to use (and frequent) and spent a lovely day looking at the sites of Gozo.

If you're going to drive in Malta - be prepared for some 'crazy' driving by the local people. The rules are the same as in the UK, but frequently ignored. However, saying that we had no real issues and didn't find it any worse than driving in the centre of Bristol for example.

All in all - very glad we stayed here and not on the Valletta side of the island (which looked very busy and noisy!). A lovely B&B and I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing stay on Malta.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was a twin room just off the breakfast room. The size of the room was good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouiseGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Charles was a lifesaver. After arriving in town and finding out the only other hotel was now closed and under renovation (despite confirming my reservation the week before) we thought we were out of luck as I had previously told Charles not to be expecting us. Thankfully, he kept a spot open for us "just in case" and we were so relieved, especially when we found out there is no other accommodation around for miles. I've never encountered anyone in the hotel industry so thoughtful. On top of that Charles spent time with us recommending some great spots to have dinner. To top it off, a lovely breakfast in the morning. I'm sad we only got to stay one night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very, very similar. Tidy, clean and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Maple Farm was a wonderful place to stay at. Charles and Anna are so welcoming.They are full of knowledge about their island and make very good recommendations. He gave us very good tips on how to see Malta and Gozo; along with good recommendations for dinner/lunch and parking tips.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Having just spent 3 days on Gozo in quite average accommodation we were wondering what to expect in the bigger island.

What a wonderful surprise. Maple Farm feels like home abroad. The owners Charles and Anna make you feel welcome the second you meet them. They are full of knowledge about their island and make very good recommendations. One evening Charles even came to the restaurant we were having dinner in Rabat to collect us because it was raining! That really is good customer service.

Maple farm is very clean and tidy, the rooms are very good, breakfast is a great time to chat and meet new people. The food is varied with cereals, different types of bread, perfect boiled eggs, hams, cheeses and little Maltese biscuits.

It has very pleasant gardens with a couple of chickens and a cat to keep you company. The pool is 3 metres deep, but did not use as it was a tad cold, but still warm enough to wear a t-shirt.

Everywhere on the Island seems close by and we saw so many wonderful sites. Rabat and Mdina were a 15/20 minute walk, but you still felt you were in the country, so we walked to dinner every night.
Going through the gate in Mdina was like going through a time portal, loved the place.

Would recommend Maple farm and Charles and Anna's warm to anyone. Really grew to like Malta, would love to go back one day and see the restoration work
work that is being carried out on Malta and Gozo and I know where I would stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMcMrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obertraun
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were not disappointed - Maple Farm lived up to the reviews. Charles & Anna were fabulous hosts,. Spotlessly clean accommodation. Fantastic pool area. Good hearty breakfast. Will definitely recommend Maple Farm to anyone wishing to explore Malta. Thank you for a relaxing holiday. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabat
1.0 mi away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,960 reviews
2.4 mi away
De Rohan B&B
De Rohan B&B
#1 of 1 in Haz-Zebbug
37 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palazzo Violetta
Palazzo Violetta
#1 of 13 in Sliema
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Farm Bed and Breakfast Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Farm Bed and Breakfast Malta

Property: Maple Farm Bed and Breakfast Malta
Address: Buskett Road, Rabat, Island of Malta 2705, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Farm, located in a rural setting on the outskirts of the old city of Mdina, offers comfortable accomodation in a peaceful environment with a large pool and extensive gardens and is ideally situated for country walks and for exploring the agricultural, historical and archaeological heritage of the island. It offers air conditioned twin-bedded and double rooms all with en-suite shower rooms, cable TV, internet, minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. All prices include a generous breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Farm Bed And Breakfast Malta Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing