We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit rough around the edges” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ta' Klaricc

Ta' Klaricc
Ranked #30 of 54 Restaurants in Rabat
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A bit rough around the edges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went to this restaurant on a Saturday evening to try it out. It has both a large outdoor dining terrace and an equally spacious area inside. The restaurant is quite busy, with several staff members bustling about – you may need to call them to get their attention, rather than doing this on their accord.

The décor inside is rather simple. We were given a table quite quickly, but we had to wait around half an hour to get our menus, and only after asking these ourselves, despite the fact that two waiters clearly saw us waiting for them. The restrooms are also Spartan as can be.

We ordered a plate of Bruschetta to share, and Chicken Veneziana and Filet ta’ Klaricc for mains. The drinks we ordered arrived immediately within less than a minute on all 3 occasions. Whilst out having a cigarette, a waitress approached us to tell us the food was ready, a nice gesture – when we reseated ourselves she served us the food.

The bruschetta unfortunately was quite burnt, with the crust carbonized black and the topping rather bland. The mains were on a different level entirely – the fillet was very tender and juicy, and the chicken breast quite tasty, although a bit too dry for my tastes.

Finally the cappuccino ordered was very disappointing. Coffee was brimming to the very edge, with the frothy part struggling to stay on top. Needless to say, the waiter could not help but spill some on the saucer – not his fault but he didn’t apologise either.

All in all, I would recommend this place only for a family a perhaps a large group of friends who are more about talking and being boisterous rather than for the place or food itself. With some effort this could be a very good restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank meh190meh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Been to ta' Klaricc, and was satisfied, The Restaurant has a large area outside; where we had our table.
The staff is very friendly, and food is delicious, good portions and value for money.
Parking Space is no problem.
It exceeded my expectations and would not hesitate to recommend this Restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank N33l30N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Traditional Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food portion is good compared to price and there is a wide choice but wine is expensive and the tables are very close to each other.Parking space is no problem.It possible to dine outside in summer but due the fact that this restaurant is in between the fields some insects can annoy you.All in all it`s worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, all-rounder, great atmosphere, not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Having been recommended by colleagues, this place proved to exceed my expectations. Although could be difficult for those who are not familar with the area to arrive, I recommend Ta' Klaricc for casual dining experiences. Very friendly service was given, menu is very comprehensible (accessible from facebook page), food portions are very generous and for a very good price. Will definitely return to Ta' Klaricc!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank dmical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place oozes potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We visited for Sunday lunch after having booked in advance and were welcomed into a comfortable corner table reserved for us. The food was freshly cooked, indeed it tasted like home made food, but for those of us who preferred a pizza we were surprisingly informed that it was not served at lunch time on Sundays! The main snag was that service was extremely slow - to the extent that you felt forgotten. I understand that staff costs have to be controlled but not at the expense of service. A small dose of sophistication would not be amiss ...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VirgoanMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Klaricc also viewed

Rabat, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ta' Klaricc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing