We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Central location in the beautiful medieval walled...”
other travelers have booked this property
Mdina - the Medieval city where this property is located.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mdina - the Medieval city where this property is located.
Entrance into the dining room. The dining room, eventually leading to the kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Mdina - the Medieval city where this property is located.
Entrance into the dining room.
The dining room, eventually leading to the kitchen.
Dining room with spiral staircase.
The kitchen
The kitchen.
The W.C. and sink.
Shower and sink area.
Separate shower room plus sink.
The living room.
Living room - balcony view.
Living room, leading to the bedroom.
Living room and bedroom - inter-connected balcony.
The bedroom.
Alternate view of the bedroom.
Bedroom - balcony view.
Bedroom - balcony view.
Entrance to the property.
The property.
Villegaignon Street - location of property.
A stunning aerial photo of the Medieval city of Mdina.
Mdina skyline at sunset.
Mdina at sunset
The Main Gate of Mdina, showing the underlying public gardens.
Mdina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
danX6545A...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Central location in the beautiful medieval walled city of Mdina”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Ideal for two persons and in a central location. There is lots to look at in the historic walled city. Plenty of really good places to eat both in Mdina and nearby Rabat. The capital city of Valletta is only 30 mins bus journey away.

The house is an annex of the owners lovely Villa and looks across to the cathedral. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who made us feel very welcome.

I have already recommended this house to a work collegue!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milk2suga...
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a equally beautiful location”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I was looking to book somewhere special for my partners birthday and can honestly say I achieved it. Beautiful on the inside and stunning on the outside. The location was second to none directly opposite the cathedral in the main piazza of the quaintest most atmospheric medieval town you could visit.
Coming through the front door you enter a lovely sitting room with sofa and glass dinning table for the nights that we planned on staying in and cooking (that didn't happen too many good restaurants nearby). Next door was the kitchen which was well stocked with essentials on our arrival and well used for breakfast which we either ate on the balcony or in the courtyard garden. The garden was my partners preferred place to eat breakfast as he found it cool and very tranquil. To access the up stairs areas you use the spiral staircase which takes you to small cosy living room and bedroom with balconies looking out onto the most beautiful square .I could have spent all day on the balcony and nights were just as lovely .
My partner has been coming to Malta for 20 years and staying at different hotels in various areas of Malta and in his words " this has to be the best holiday I have ever had and now don't think anywhere else will ever be as good" . looks like we will certainly be returning.
We must make mention of Andrea's mum and dad Joanna and Joseph who were the loveliest couple. We only spoke to Joseph a few times but Joanna was there for anything we needed. Joanne would chat and made you feel more like friends ,very lovely lady .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay Beautiful location”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our stay in Mdina was an amazing experience and mostly thanks to our wonderful hosts Andrea and Joanna. The apartment is ideally located in the picturesque Cathedral square , which is central to the Silent City. It is beautifullly appointed, very comfortable and ideal for either a short or long stay. Great restaurants are just a short walk away. Andrea arranged an great local driver who picked us up from the airport and was always available during our stay at a very reasonable price .
This is highly recommended stay - you couldn't ask for better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomePhi
Pennsylvania, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great apartment!”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My husband and I stayed four nights here recently. It was a good size for two people--lots of space, including a living room upstairs, a sitting room downstairs, a large shower room and separate room with sink and toilet. Everything was in working order. As others have noted, the view from the second floor onto St. Paul's Square is really amazing. The kitchen is well-equipped, and the washing machine was a lifesaver. Although there's no dryer, clothes dry very quickly on a rack (provided in the apartment).

The only negative we experienced was that Mdina, and particularly the area right in front of the apartment, was often loud and crowded. At night, things usually calm down, except if there's a party or night tours moving through the streets of the tiny town. If you need a break from the tourist zoo, I suggest visiting Rabat, which we did several times. Lots of things to see over there, and far fewer people. It's only a 10 minute walk from the apartment.

As for food, many items can be bought at a van that pulls up most days right in St. Paul's Square. They have milk, bread, cheese, etc. There's also a larger grocery store in Rabat, which we visited several times. If you're looking for slightly cheaper food (Mdina is a little pricey), try Il-Baxa and Baba Ganoush, both in Rabat. They have vegetarian options, and excellent food.

We appreciated how helpful Andrea and Joanna were throughout the booking and check-in process. We would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pollardsg
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location in a lovely setting”
Reviewed May 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A further endorsement for this property and hospitality provided by Joanna and Andrea which is situated on the main square in Mdina.

We timed our visit to coincide with Medieval Festival which takes over Mdina annually in April/ May for one weekend. We had spectacular views of the 'action' from the balcony on the first floor (we managed to eat breakfast out there too) and the people watching was second to none. The Festival really added a different dimension to our experience in the perfect setting.

Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity...
1 review
“Mdina”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location and atmosphere were wonderful. Would recommend staying in Mdina and in this apartment. The apartment was clean and inviting and the owner was really accommodating. We arrived after 1:00 a.m. and we're greeted warm heartedly by Joanna. The only consideration for some may be the steep circular staircase. We would definitely recommend the apartment to our friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisF-Ne...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super location and outlook”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is an extremely comfortable and well appointed one bedroom house looking straight across at the Cathedral. From the upstairs sitting room and bedroom the view is breathtaking. The building is historic and the owners live next door, very obliging and helpful. All communications were exceptionally prompt and detailed. Being within the citadel means you can enjoy the different parts of the day: silent mornings and evenings and the bustle of daytime. Highly recommended. Many thanks, Joanna, for all your kindness.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing