We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stately and Cosy.”
other travelers have booked this property
Mdina - the Medieval city where this property is located.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mdina - the Medieval city where this property is located.
Entrance into the dining room. Natural light through the antiporta. The dining room, eventually leading to the kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Mdina - the Medieval city where this property is located.
Entrance into the dining room. Natural light through the antiporta.
The dining room, eventually leading to the kitchen.
Dining room with spiral staircase.
The kitchen - fully equipped for short holiday stays.
The kitchen.
The W.C. and sink.
Shower and sink area.
Separate shower room plus sink.
The living room.
Living room - enjoying one of Malta's best views - an unobstructed view of the Mdina cathedral.
Living room, leading to the bedroom, with the view speaking for itself!
Living room and bedroom with an inter-connected balcony. Seating on balcony provided!
The bedroom, enjoying the same view.
Alternate view of the bedroom.
Bedroom - balcony view.
Bedroom - balcony view. Enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony, watching the world go by.
Entrance to the property.
Bottom right balconies in this photo is the upper floor of this property - quite impressive!
The property in all its majesty.
Villegaignon Street - location of property. People watch whilst enjoying the balcony breeze.
A stunning aerial photo of the Medieval city of Mdina.
Mdina skyline at sunset.
Mdina at sunset
The Main Gate of Mdina, showing the underlying public gardens.
Mdina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Mdina, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
samcsl
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stately and Cosy.”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Returned to Mdina and I HAD to stay with the DSCs again... although the other property I stayed in before was unavailable and this wonderful residence was recommended to me by Andrea. His mother displayed exemplary hospitality during my brief but lovely stay. The location of the house was right smack in the heart of Mdina with an amazing view of the Cathedral and though there were tourists around the area, it was never an issue. You have all the amenities you could want in the house and the BEST pastizzi in Malta right outside the beautiful walled city. I would recommend this residence to anyone looking for peace and quiet, anyone seeking refuge from the hustle and bustle of life or if you want to experience the amazing hospitality from the DSCs (:

Date of stay: November 2015
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathjanul...
Ibragg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enchanting House overlooking the Cathedral!”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This house is set in a beautiful location overlooking the cathedral with other splendid views! Everything was very comfortable,and the owners were very helpful and warm! I give this place 5 stars and recommend it to anyone travelling to Malta!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpasemanS...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a magical location”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our first time visiting Malta and after this experience I must say that Andrea and his lovely family have set the bar incredibly high. We did not meet Andrea, though he was extremely helpful and responsive in the leadup to our stay. During our six-day visit we were taken care of by Andrea's mother, who could not have been more welcoming or delightful. The house itself is beautiful, honestly one of the nicest we saw in all our time in Malta, and the location is stunning, with a perfect view of St. Paul's Square and cathedral. Wine on the balcony overlooking the square was the perfect way to cap each day in this beautiful country.

We used this location as a base for a series of day trips to the rest of Malta. We used the public buses for this purpose, which was made very convenient by the proximity of the Rabat bus interchange which is steps away from the Mdina gate, a walk of only a few minutes. Additionally, the house is only a few steps from some excellent restaurants and spectacular views of Mosta and the surrounding countryside.

The bottom line is that we could not possibly have had a more enjoyable experience staying with Andrea and his family. It was truly unique and magical, and we are so grateful to have been able to do it. If you are planning to stay in the Mdina/Rabat area, you would be a fool to stay anywhere else.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, wonderful hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Highlight of Our Holiday”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This time last Summer, my family and I spent a very pleasant week on holiday in Mdina. In fact, we enjoyed our experience so much that we decided it would be well worth repeating last year's holiday. As we were travelling without our children, my wife suggested that we look into renting a smaller property rather than using the same one of last year.

For that, we consider ourselves very fortunate to have been put in contact with Andrea, who arranged our stay at this house of character. My initial impression was that the property was both beautiful and well-kept, an opinion also shared by my wife. I was also struck by the vista that the house enjoys over the Mdina square, which from my personal experience is simply unrivaled.

The owners, who met us at the entrance to the property, were both helpful and very forthcoming with advice. We were extremely appreciative of the time and effort they took to make sure that our stay in Mdina (and holiday in Malta) was as enjoyable as possible. In truth, they were more than eager to help whenever we came across any problems/issues.

My wife and I have no regrets about repeating our holiday to Malta, with our stay in Mdina being a particular highlight of this trip. Mdina offers a wonderful variety of restaurants (including those which specialise in traditional cuisine), as well as numerous architectural sights (a prime example being the cathedral - which the property actually overlooks). The streets are also quite unique, and even echo to the sound of horses giving carriage rides.

The property provides a clean, romantic setting with super helpful hosts. Many thanks!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M90WASD
Marsascala, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful, unique”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Rented this house for a couple of days this August - truly an amazing and unique location. Waking up to the view of the cathedral and the square, and the beautiful surrounding architecture made our stay even more special. Highly recommended if you want more of an authentic, local experience as opposed to a standard hotel. All standard amenities were provided for. Parking is usually available just outside the city walls, a couple of minutes walk away and it is also well connected by bus. Mdina is a beautiful and unique location to stay in. Restaurants, cafes and museums are all just a stone's thrown away. Overall, it is highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEANCLAUD...
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
"Dear Jean Claude,

Many thanks for the review. We rarely reply to reviews, but just feel the need to comment on this 'lukewarm' review, as I believe it is one of the few 4 star reviews on the property.

You are correct about the noise that some tourists might make, especially in the summer months. However this is mostly restricted to the late morning/early afternoon. After this time, I believe that the city can indeed rightfully claim to be the "Silent City" of Malta, but perhaps I am biased in this regard.

We are happy that you enjoyed the location, it is indeed unrivalled as it overlooks the main square, and the atmosphere of the home.

Wishing you all the best for future travels, Andrea and Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacopom56...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing