We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Plan Your Day Around This Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mdina Old City

Mdina Old City
Book In Advance
More Info
$443.30*
and up
Malta Highlights in a Day
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't Plan Your Day Around This Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I suppose I've been spoiled by other fortified cities in Europe such as St. Paul DeVance and Carcassonne in France. I found this city to be barren at best and lacking in anything worth mentioning. There were tourist shops selling glass and lace items and a few restaurants. We decided to have a bite to eat at one of the restaurants that had a lovely view out over the valley but the food was overpriced and mediocre. There is not much else to do once you;ve left Mdina and you will need to get back on the bus to go to any other tourist destinations on the island. I noticed that other reviewers wrote that there is no traffic in Mdina. There certainly is and there are no sidewalks or zebra crossings for pedestrians (as is the case in most of Malta), so exercise caustion when walking with children.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HopeSoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,689
    1,716
    197
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Mdina is a beautiful old city that has been preserved as is. Its charming just to wander around the little alleys and explore the town. Dont forget to visit the tea gardens for great cake and views!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brizzy4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Historic old city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The winding streets and battlement walls of Mdina take you back to earlier times and it is easy to imaging what it was like to live there many years ago. It is very enjoyable to spend and hour or so wandering the beautiful streets looking at the wonderful architecture of the houses, churches and places.
Well worth stopping off to have a look.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank swissericsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A great couple of hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Mdina is a walled city in the middle of Malta and visible from large parts of the island.

We arrived by bus and walked to the entrance to the Mdina itself. Bad start as we were harassed (as was everyone else) by the horse and carriage drivers for a trip around Mdina and Rabat.

Once inside we had a wander around the perimeter before heading into the centre to enjoy the shops, Cathedral and the dungeons.

We finished our trip by climbing the walls to enjoy the view but had managed to find a misty day so the view was limited.

We are planning another visit to Malta as we just didn't have time to see everything and this will be on our list again next time

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spirit67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Where time stands still.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Took the bus from Valetta terminal, pleasant ride across the island to this magical haven of tranquillity nice place to catch your breath after walking the streets of Valetta, wonderful buildings in winding streets. Outside of the walled city there are pleasant areas to sit and relax and watch the world go by.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mdina Old City also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Island of Gozo, Malta
 

Been to Mdina Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing