We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, and so much history”
Review of Mdina Old City

Mdina Old City
Book In Advance
More Info
$533.50*
and up
Malta Highlights in a Day
More Info
$23.71*
and up
City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$23.71*
and up
Malta by Night Open Top Bus Tour
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Mdina
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, and so much history”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

A gorgeous little town, with so many interesting little things to see. Well worth spending a few hours in!

Helpful?
Thank princess_bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,161
    1,832
    209
    21
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very quirky”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Mdina it's indeed 'the silent city'! It's narrow streets and the general aspect of the buildings seem to be very well preserved, so you can feel the history breathing through their walls...It's a 'must see', if you go to Malta!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dorina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take the Horse Drawn Tour!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We took a friend to Mdina....so hot & so many tiny streets....therefore, feeling lazy we took one of the horse drawn carriage trips around the old city. All the horses & carts are in immaculate condition, unlike some of the poor animals one sees elsewhere. The driver was very informative re all the extraordinary history of the place & very amusing! I think we learned more about Mdina in that half an hour than ever before. Well worth the money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SpookLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely, charming, great views and lots of history”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to Mdina old city. Very easy to walk around, full of history and you could easily spend an hour or full day there depending on what your looking to do. Lots of places to eat and worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwimumfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seixal, Setubal, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely city”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A lovely and picturesque city, full of charming corners.
"Mdina" means "the city" and used to be the capital...
I had lunch there, in a restaurant on the wall, with a beautiful view all over the island, but i don't remember the name...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sofia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mdina Old City also viewed

 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Kalkara, Island of Malta
 

Been to Mdina Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing