We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Mdina!.....as always!”
Review of Vinum Wine Bar

Vinum Wine Bar
Ranked #13 of 25 Restaurants in Mdina
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Adjacent to the Fontanella Tea Rooms and forming part of the complex
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best in Mdina!.....as always!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are regular clients of Vinum. All we suggest is to just reserve a table outside in summer, indoors in winter, and order the "Vinum Special" platter (for two to share or more) with lots of wine!! It's the best. Lots of typical Maltese ingredients, prices are very reasonable......then end the night with some delicious Italian grappa or any one if the bar's long range of digestive liqueurs. We can't get enough of this place! Staff are very friendly and know their menu and wines well. In summers make sure you book a place on the upper terrace, its views are unbeatable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zabbar, null, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my husband visited Vinum Winebar since we wished to drink a bottle of wine and nibble onsome Platter. We ordered the Vinum special which was fabulous. Very good cheese and coldcuts accompanied by veg and fruit chicken and calamari rings. It is quite a large portion that we did not manage to eat it all. Wished had the rest as breakfast this morning. Very good value for money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“The view is the attraction here not the food or service”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a dinner here in a group of four and managed to get a table at the top with terrific views over much of Malta – this is a busy place and the wait staff don’t have a lot of time to chat and be friendly – relatively efficient I would say
We had pasta it was ok but not the best we had in Malta- huge serves and reasonable prices
It’s a get them in and get them out kind of place- victims of their own popularity

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Book a table and expect not to get one!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a very poor experience recently. I booked a table for two (which was confirmed). when we arrived the table was not available and was left to wait, after some time I was asked to follow a server to a corner where they had scraped out some space where it was difficult to seat one person let alone two! This was unacceptable and i opted to leave without further ado.
when one accept a booking it is the responsibility of the persons in charge to see that said tables are ready and waiting for guests and not the other way round!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food and service is very good, and they have a good selection of wines. The location is beautiful, however I recommend making a reservation in advance, preferably on the terrace as there is a lovely view of the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinum Wine Bar also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Mdina, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
 

Been to Vinum Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing